Old 23rd August 2012, 10:43   #1
-Px-
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Confusing tracks play order

Winamp 5.63 (build 3235)
Clean install, no 3rd-party skins or plugins
Language Pack: English
Skin: Bug occurs with all of Bento, Winamp Modern and Classic skins

OS: Windows XP SP3
Locale: Russian
CPU: Intel Pentium E2180
Memory: 1GB RAM
Graphics: Radeon 3850
Sound: Onboard
DirectX 9

Problem:
Confusing tracks play order
If I delete first track in playlist while it's playing, after it's finished the next played track would be not the next one, but "after next" one.

Method of Reproduction:
1. Add three tracks to empty playlist
2. Start playing the first one.
3. Delete the first one from playlist
4. Wait, until it finish playing, the next one would be not second, but third one (because it's now on second place in playlist?)
-Px- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 10:51   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
alas that's how it's always worked going back to the 1.x versions (and probably earlier).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 10:54   #3
-Px-
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
But that doesn't mean that it's the right way
-Px- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 10:57   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
true but changing something which has always been that way has the potential to cause other issues if not done properly.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 11:04   #5
-Px-
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Possibly, but I don't think that adding handler for one special case could break something "outside"
-Px- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 11:06   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
well my prior attempt to fix it did cause issues so i know what i'm talking about

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 11:24   #7
-Px-
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Hm, it is very unexpected result. Is it possible to see the code for that? Via PM and with non-disclosure, of course.
-Px- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 11:34   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
nope. as i say, this is how it's been all of the time i've been using Winamp and is just one of its "quirky charms".

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 11:36   #9
-Px-
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Ok, I understand your opinion. Does other developers think the same?
-Px- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 11:46   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i agree with you that it shouldn't work like it does, but as my prior attempts to fix it caused more issues than it gained and no one else (on any iteration of the dev team) has shown an interest in trying to change this behaviour (which is correct for how things are coded), i think this is just one of those things which will probably stay like it (however frustrating that seems).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump