Old 21st October 2010, 18:00   #1
olegos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 17
Unable to change genre for my station in DL

Hi, no matter how I change "genre" in my encoder, the DL lists my station as DANCE

How to change this?

Thanks!
olegos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2010, 19:17   #2
dotme
Moderator
 
dotme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
Make sure when you change genre info that you KICK the encoder and reconnect it.

The kick forces a YP removal and resubmission, which usually takes care of it. Allow an hour or so after making the change for it to appear on the YP.
dotme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2010, 18:56   #3
olegos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 17
Done this and it took just a few seconds to re-appear again.

Is this correct or it means that it did not "kick" properly?

Thanks!
olegos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2010, 20:03   #4
olegos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 17
Waited for 1 hour. Unfortunately nothing has changed. Same as it was - "Dance"
olegos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2010, 22:22   #5
dotme
Moderator
 
dotme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
Hmmm. Well, first make sure the new genre appears on the DNAS status page (your IP : Port)

Next, be sure you are using approved Genres (Look on the www.shoutcast.com website for the genre listings)

Other than that, I'm not sure why it wouldn't be working for you - but it's possible that things are slow to update today as well...
dotme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2010, 22:40   #6
olegos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by dotme View Post
Hmmm. Well, first make sure the new genre appears on the DNAS status page (your IP : Port)

Next, be sure you are using approved Genres (Look on the www.shoutcast.com website for the genre listings)

Other than that, I'm not sure why it wouldn't be working for you - but it's possible that things are slow to update today as well...
Yes DNAS page displays my genres correctly.

Should I be able to use multiple genres tags or ONLY ONE genre from the approved list? (presently I have 3+ genres specified because I match all of them)

Thank You!

Last edited by olegos; 26th October 2010 at 00:14.
olegos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2010, 18:45   #7
olegos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 17
Am I allowed to use multiple genres into my encoder?

For example if I enter:
Top 40, Dance, HOUSE, European, POP, TRANCE, ELECTRO, LOUNGE, R&B, 80s,

Will it work or there is a limit?
olegos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2010, 19:30   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it should take what you put in the string though if it's not a supported value from what is listed in http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=303241 if you're connecting to the YP then you will probably run into issues (plus i'm not sure if it's even meant to take multiple genres - seems a bit conflicting to do support something like that so i've a feeling it probably won't work).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2010, 19:38   #9
olegos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
it should take what you put in the string though if it's not a supported value from what is listed in http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=303241 if you're connecting to the YP then you will probably run into issues (plus i'm not sure if it's even meant to take multiple genres - seems a bit conflicting to do support something like that so i've a feeling it probably won't work).

-daz
Thanks Daz, I wrote email to dev team requesting to provide some details on the proper functionality...

"1. WHAT IS THE PROPER WAY OF ENTERING GENRES INTO THE ENCODER?
(with spaces or without, with comas or without, could you give an example please...)

2. Are we allowed to input multiple genres into encoder?
If yes, what would be considered as primary by YP?"
olegos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2010, 18:30   #10
olegos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 17
Anyone please?
olegos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2010, 22:39   #11
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
will reply with an answer tomorrow once i've checked things out for you (had slipped my long todo list, sorry).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2010, 22:51   #12
olegos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 17
Thanks Daz!
olegos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2010, 16:42   #13
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i've just tried it using a v2 DNAS setup and v2.1.1 of the Source DSP and the setting in the DSP is ignored when using a v2 style connection and what was setup for the stream via http://www.shoutcast.com/my-stations is used instead which basically means a main and secondary genre and that's it with no control from the source.

everything else seems to point to spaces or commas working for multiple genres with older v1 setups which shows in the 'tags' when you mouse over an entry in the SHOUTcast listing though my connection to the YP is acting a bit funky today (not connecting or just holding onto the cached version) so i cannot test things out much more at the moment. did seem that the middle of three tags was used as the genre (haven't been able to get a connection to update with only 2 genres at the moment).

[edit] - just managed to get a two field v1 connection working and that used the first part as the indicated genre though i'm not sure if that is reliable.

so really depends on what DNAS version you're using it seems as to how many genres you can specify though seems like only one many category will be used even if multiple are specified.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2010, 17:35   #14
olegos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 17
Thanks Daz.
olegos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Tags
genre change dl directory

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump