Old 29th June 2000, 20:07   #1
thermal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 1
I am having problems connecting to the servers for CDDB. I am behind a firewall, but shouldn't it just go through an http port? I configured it the same way my browser is set up. It almost seems as though it wants to use it's own special port (8880), the default http port is 8080 isn't it? I also tried configuring it the same way that real player is configured(which works fine), and still no luck. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
thermal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2000, 04:32   #2
mothball01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: bonney lake washington
Posts: 2
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by thermal:
I am having problems connecting to the servers for CDDB. I am behind a firewall, but shouldn't it just go through an http port? I configured it the same way my browser is set up. It almost seems as though it wants to use it's own special port (8880), the default http port is 8080 isn't it? I also tried configuring it the same way that real player is configured(which works fine), and still no luck. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

it looks like the CDDB routine is a self contained routine that may not call for the HTTP proxy info from winamp or the internet setting of windows. if this is the case it would appear to be a programming oversight - did you try "no network" choice under options - this appearred to work for me. By the way real jukebox works behind a firewall really well - does not exhibit this problem.

good luck
mothball01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2000, 04:35   #3
mothball01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: bonney lake washington
Posts: 2
it looks like the CDDB routine is a self contained routine that may not call for the HTTP proxy info from winamp or the internet setting of windows. if this is the case it would appear to be a programming oversight - did you try "no network" choice under options - this appearred to work for me. By the way real jukebox works behind a firewall really well - does not exhibit this problem.

good luck
mothball01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump