Old 6th November 2007, 12:11   #1
mean_jaguar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Major issue with winamp 5.5

I have been using a previous version of winamp up through today, but the pop up for the new 5.5 got me to do an overinstall. When I tried running winamp after that, I could load a file into the playlist, but as soon as I told it to play, it wouldn't. The visualization bar would go back and forth (or do a steady wave with the other one) as if thinknig, but it would never go past this point, no matter what mp3 I used.

After that, I tried to uninstall winamp, but it said it was still running so it couldn't, and I had to go into the windows task manager to manually stop the process. After that, I did get it uninstalled so I could try a fresh install. However, once I started it up again, I ran into the exact same problem.

any ideas what seems to be the problem...?
i am not using any third party plugins. i never faced this problem in earlier versions of winamp.

kindly help.


System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 11/6/2007, 07:06:37
Machine name: COMPUTER2007
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_qfe.061030-0020)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: HCL Infosystems Limited
System Model: WINDSTAR-LD
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.93GHz
Memory: 758MB RAM
Page File: 470MB used, 2082MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
Attached Files
File Type: txt dxdiag.txt (48.0 KB, 365 views)
mean_jaguar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2007, 13:14   #2
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
have you tried a clean reinstall?

do you have a plugin list?

have you checked your PC for spyware/malware/virii?
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2007, 18:09   #3
mean_jaguar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Yes tried the clean reinstallation too...
i have panda updated n it detects to virus n all...
n as for the plugins like i said bedore..i have no thrid party pulgins installed....
i however have 2 skins installed, vanhalsing n batman official skin..both downloaded from winamp.com.
i have reverted back to version 5.3..its working okay for the time being.
mean_jaguar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump