Old 27th January 2006, 21:12   #1
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
Nullsoft Media Player 10 - SUI

I created the skin, Nullsoft media player 10, and planning to release a update. If you have any questions or suggestions please let me know.
Ok, my questions:

1: Is it possible to have button to open a nonWinamp pluginn like 'Dynamic Library'. I have change the guid to DL's guid but the onLookForComponent() register that DL has triggerd but no window open. If you select it from the menu it open but not from my own button. This was tested with Default Modern Skin but same result.

2: Is it posible to fix the compoment focus bug in winamp? Will this get any attention in future releases because this is the only downside to Single-User-Interface (SUI)skins.
3: Is it possible to disable antialias in text objects? antialias="0" doesn't work.

Thanks

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2006, 07:24   #2
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
Hey Pieter, I wanted to say thanks for this skin. It is the most usable SUI skin I have ever used.

I have some comments on things I like, would like, and don't like, but I need to find time to properly write it up, so that will come in a bit. Just wanted to say thanks for now.
D&B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2006, 15:48   #3
Artist 3D
Junior Member
 
Artist 3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 38
Wow, your skin is amazing, practically mostly. I don't like the media player look so much, and rather prefer it to look like a winamp, yet, if comparing to Single UI it much more comfortable and with less bugs, as much as i found, still I'd do some things other way...

I AM the conscience, though I'm not sure if i'm zero or infinity...
Artist 3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2006, 14:44   #4
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
No Equalizer?

I've downloaded the Media Player 10 skin, and I love it. The only issue is that I can't find the damn equalizer. Is it even there? Or is it cleverly hidden from users' eyes (like the color themes option). If it's not there, then could I at least get some other way of turning it on than switching to a classic skin and back?
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2006, 15:30   #5
reedermw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to reedermw
Awesome job Pieter

Wow, WinAmp really can support a single window UI. I've been following the SingleGUI skin for the last year or so and just happened across yours. Would you be willing to help out on the SingleGUI skin? I think work on it has all but stopped. I think the next default skin for WinAmp5 should be a single window. Multiple windows can confuse some users. Great job and thanks for the skin !!!
reedermw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2006, 15:37   #6
QuadHeliX
Major Dude
 
QuadHeliX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,133
this is what i did to get the EQ
under video tab up on top is a little button that
you left click on

first choose enhancements>>show enhancements>and then you choose the EQ
and it comes up.
QuadHeliX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2006, 15:55   #7
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,048
Merging this thread with the other NMP10 thread.

Quad, does the EQ actually show for you?, I get the enhancement options to show like you said, but no EQ shows up anywhere......

/never mind, had to drag the window divider bar up for it to show.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2006, 19:35   #8
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
yes a few more tooltips and pointers when hovering over bars would be a good idea, altho users of wmp10 would kno that already
in the case of cursors on this skin, i reckon the arrow cursors that are part of wmp10 would seem to integrate nicely on the sliding bar parts and not be too intrusive on the skin, that would also help to show where movement is possible
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2006, 19:49   #9
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
yeah i also agree about using different cursors for dragging... i think someone posted in WA TS about this skin, and this ended up being the problem.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2006, 00:19   #10
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
I don't use WMP10 because I find it to be inadequate for my needs. And I like WinAmp better. I guess the inaccessibility of the options in a near-perfect emulation would illustrate why some people are so frustrated with WMP.

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2006, 06:15   #11
Paparazzi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 358
Boy, am I glad I thought of checking up updates for the SingleGUI. I'd have never found this beauty without that. As of now, this goes into my bookmarks and the SingleGUI goes out.

A couple of requests:
1) Yes, the Dynamic Library and yes, I do understand that a solution to "have button to open a nonWinamp pluginn like 'Dynamic Library'" is sought

2) Would be nice if the skin settings had an option to change or scroll through the colour themes.

3) An option to hide or choose the number of visible extra tabs like those "Local Music Videos", "Google Search", etc.

4) A shortcut or a little button to bring up the "Shell Enhancements"

5) Would it be possible to put those Llamas - beat detectors (as in the default skin) in the status bar ... minature ones and also have a couple of extra ones such as VUmeters or beat detectors like in the MMD skin.

6) A lil note: When I choose "Blues" or some other setting under the custom equalizer, the "Custom" changes to "Blues" and stays that way until I exit. Would it not be better if it could be remembered and stays at "Blues" or whatever the last setting is so the user knows what it is set at instead of reverting back to "Custom"

Thanks for the wonderful skin

Cheers
Paparazzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2006, 12:04   #12
mikejbrand
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to mikejbrand
Album covers

I posted my review of this skin and I must reiterate that I love it. Unfortunetly I am unable to ge the album to covers to show. Someone on the review page tried to help but I still can't figure it out. I use Musicmatch to attach the tags if that helps anyone. Thanks Mike
mikejbrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2006, 17:16   #13
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,767
Alas, I don't think it looks for embedded images (eg. in the ID3v2 tag).
All I could find was: Enhancements > Skin Settings > Album Art filename
where you can specify the name of the album art image inside the containing folder, eg. folder.jpg

I tried inputting multiple possible names into the list, eg.
folder.jpg,cover.jpg,*.jpg
but that didn't work either (just displayed nothing).

So I guess you're currently limited to having all your album covers being named the same, eg. one of folder.jpg or cover.jpg, which is no good if you've got a combination of the two or even different names such as albumname.jpg etc.


Note, there's another sui skin available called Kameleon, which gives the option of using either amazon.com database or local cover art (folder.jpg,cover.jpg,coverart.jpg,front.jpg,etc) for displaying covers.


btw, another issue I found with this skin is that the spacebar doesn't work for bringing the currently playing entry in the playlist into view.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2006, 17:21   #14
mikejbrand
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to mikejbrand
About a quarter of the album covers come up. I've used Musicmatch to tag them all so I reckon it should all be the same. Any suggestions? Anyone know of a program better or lighter than musicmatch to tag files and automatically add album art?
mikejbrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2006, 19:21   #15
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
If you press any key or move the mousewheel it will control the last opened component. Ex: If you have the playlist open and you open the video window, pressing space will be processed by the video component - this mean if you press space it will pause. But if you close the playlist and open it again pressing pause will go to the selected file in the playlist.

Fix it? Well this is not skin related but a bug in Winamp. I hope this will be fixed some day soon.

Okay, cover art. The cover art will only be displayed if it is a picture (jpg,png,bmp) file in the folder of the song that is beeing played. If will add a option for the filename to be that of the playing artist, but in my devence this extra function was added a year back and back then I think it was the only skin with cover art display(so displaying it was already a big wow for me and i didn't worry about other settings.


Are there anyone that can help me with the following?

1: Is it possible to have button to open a nonWinamp pluginn like 'Dynamic Library'. I have change the guid to DL's guid but the onLookForComponent() register that DL has triggerd but no window open. If you select it from the menu it open but not from my own button. This was tested with Default Modern Skin but same result.

2: Is it posible to fix the compoment focus bug in winamp? Will this get any attention in future releases because this is the only downside to Single-User-Interface (SUI)skins.

3: Is it possible to disable antialias in text objects? antialias="0" doesn't work.

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2006, 20:46   #16
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,767
Quote:
Originally posted by pjn123
If you press any key or move the mousewheel it will control the last opened component. Ex: If you have the playlist open and you open the video window, pressing space will be processed by the video component - this mean if you press space it will pause. But if you close the playlist and open it again pressing pause will go to the selected file in the playlist.
Hmm, I don't have to open and close the playlist with other single ui skins, eg. Kameleon (as linked in my previous post), ie. the spacebar always works just by clicking in the playlist section to make it the active component. But yeah, you're right, it does actually work in your skin if I close & reopen the playlist, heh.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2006, 08:14   #17
Logy
Senior Member
 
Logy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Terengganu, Malaysia, Asia, Earth
Posts: 302
do you have a planning to make new version Nullsoft Media Player using the new look of Windows Media Player version 11, (Windows Vista)! it is look very nice skin... compare it from early version and thanks if you want to do it...

The English suffix -logy denotes a field of study or academic discipline.
Logy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2006, 08:37   #18
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
The Kameleon skin uses separate windows to display its components altough it looks like its a single window. (Drag the cover art window to see my point[click on the picture and drag it). This make the skin very slow and I don't want the NMP to be like WMP...

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2006, 08:39   #19
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
If i can find a version of WMP11 that works on XP i will...

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2006, 12:48   #20
Logy
Senior Member
 
Logy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Terengganu, Malaysia, Asia, Earth
Posts: 302
i can only give skin made for windows media player 11 on windows media player 10... it looks great, but it's not a full skin.
i know you can do it... you specialist about it... just check it out... http://thevista*****files/mutogens/wm...heVista.ru.rar

The English suffix -logy denotes a field of study or academic discipline.
Logy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2006, 12:50   #21
Logy
Senior Member
 
Logy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Terengganu, Malaysia, Asia, Earth
Posts: 302
this is sample image of real wmp 11 http://img414.imageshack.us/my.php?image=25fm.jpg

The English suffix -logy denotes a field of study or academic discipline.
Logy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2006, 15:25   #22
leechbite
Major Dude
 
leechbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 635
Send a message via Yahoo to leechbite
Quote:
Originally posted by pjn123
The Kameleon skin uses separate windows to display its components altough it looks like its a single window. (Drag the cover art window to see my point[click on the picture and drag it). This make the skin very slow and I don't want the NMP to be like WMP...
thanks for pointing that out. i didnt notice you can drag the cd cover window in local mode.
leechbite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2006, 14:58   #23
mrym
Senior Member
 
mrym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: tokyo
Posts: 438
thank you for making awesome functional skin.
i have a question.
how can i change the font of the song title of the minimode?
i have replaced arial into japanese font to see japanese character using font mapper, but the minimode's song title cannot be changed.
mrym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 03:49   #24
chowmien
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
it still has that component focus problem?
chowmien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 13:24   #25
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
NEW: NMP10 v3(beta) + Winamp2006(codename)

Here is the new beta version of NMP10.
Menu >>> Options >>> Preferences >>> Skins >>> Modern skins >>> Current Skin.... Read "What new"

Another skin project in the pipeline...
Codename: Winamp2006
Description: A SUI skin. This will be the base of NMP11 and will be a skin on its own. Far from complete but you can play with it...

File part 1 attached
Attached Files
File Type: rar skins.part1.rar (99.9 KB, 583 views)
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 13:26   #26
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
part2
Attached Files
File Type: rar skins.part2.rar (99.9 KB, 591 views)

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 13:28   #27
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
part3

Please use WinRAR
Attached Files
File Type: rar skins.part3.rar (40.5 KB, 602 views)

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 13:32   #28
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
2 part ...include twice include "Nullsoft Media Player 10 (v3beta).wal"

which one i have to use/take ?
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 13:36   #29
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
ok all is fine....

i always love your skin pieter

one idea for later : customize the tabs : if ever i don't want to see local videos...remove and ornaize them
Another idea :
Minimize to top...
and Minimise to bottom

for the winamp2006skin...mmm too much alpha version for me but really REALLY very promising....you are always a talented man !
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 17:59   #30
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
NMP is very much improved with the latest version...

and winamp 2006 is very cool, having the tag info & such in bottom right corner is a GREAT addition. (I'll assume timer and appearance have yet to be done because there is nothing there.)

I have a question. is cover.jpg more common then folder.jpg, I always assumed that folder.jpg was because thats how windows does it.

would it be possible to allow us to view the info of the highlighted song vs. the currently playing song?
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 20:23   #31
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly

I have a question. is cover.jpg more common then folder.jpg, I always assumed that folder.jpg was because thats how windows does it.
would it be possible to allow us to view the info of the highlighted song vs. the currently playing song?
1: No I think folder.jpg is but I use cover.jpg

2: Sorry, this can't be done in a skin(maybe a pluginn?)

Hi there glop
You can disable the LocalVideo... buttons in the settings control.(NMPv3+)

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 22:26   #32
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
hi again
about configuration it should be cool to see in the main menu a configuration (panel) more user friendly..
what about a Minimise to bottom possibility ?
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 22:43   #33
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
Pieter: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....81#post1863581

spelled your name wrong but hopefully, this will get you what you need!

about the folder.jpg, and i guess any other renaming...can you add refresh after you save. currently if a change cover.jpg to folder.jpg, the current song's album art is not updated.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 23:08   #34
Balayop
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 27
Hey there, beautiful job
I'd just like to get the cover a little larger to fit with my screen, would be nice
Keep up
Balayop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2006, 04:29   #35
mrym
Senior Member
 
mrym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: tokyo
Posts: 438
Quote:
Fixed support for font mapper
thanks! working fine
mrym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2006, 04:39   #36
Paparazzi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 358
Pieter, those updates are really nice

Those beats on the Winamp2006 skin and those "Cover / Tag/ Info / CD / Video" box at the bottom right is a good idea too! However, I think it would be a lot better if the "Video" is taken out from there and put as in the NMP10 v3(beta) skin!

Alternatively, or rather personally, I'd love to stick to "NMP10 v3(beta)" if only you could add those beats and the "Cover / Tag/ Info / CD / Video" box to the right corner.

Another thing I'd like to ask if those beat colours could be made configurable ... I mean not just change from green to blue or red, but to have the colours reach a red colour at its peak, and maybe green at its lower end.

Billyvnilly has asked Joonas about putting the DL into your skin and Benski has suggested that he'd pass on sample code to get it to work, so, I guess thats something positive

Thanks for allowing to remove unwanted tabs!

Above all, thanks for giving us updates!

Cheers
Paparazzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2006, 09:28   #37
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
Quote:
Originally posted by glop
Minimise to bottom possibility ?
When the skin was made the first time there were only a min to bottom.

But if you clicked on the taskbar and winamp was over it, winamp would disapear(even with always on top enabled)...
So if anyone know how to fix this..

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2006, 14:14   #38
osmosis
Major Dude
 
osmosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cananada
Posts: 837
oh wow, you do good work! please make winamp2006 use the default skin color themes and if possible look like a single UI version of the default.

edit: for clarity.

Request: A little SmartView Query Language love.
osmosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2006, 09:26   #39
johrie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 20
As said in the pm i would love to beta test your version of wmp11, i had to stop cos i had somebugs in wmp10 what couldnt be restored even redownloading it :S
johrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2006, 09:53   #40
mikejbrand
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to mikejbrand
Where can I get this Winamp2006???
mikejbrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump