Old 30th May 2009, 14:20   #1
rabbrogan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Broadcasting over 3G

Hi there
I have recently started broadcasting and my friend is frantically trying to connect with his Iphone as he does not have broadband, but when he tries to connect, it says "gateway timed out" it can be received on wifi through the i phone but not 3g, is there something I need to do at my end to enable 3g listeners to tune in?

Thanks for your help
rabbrogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2009, 21:44   #2
Greg_E
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,687
What bit rate are you sending? Every iphone app that I've read about says that you need to enable high bit rate streams in the player app to get streams above 64k.

Your mileage may vary!
Greg_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2009, 22:11   #3
rabbrogan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Its cool mate, it seems to be working now, thanks for your reply though, I have another wee problem but I think I better put it in the appropiate string, its to do with metadata, if you could have a look?

Thanks v much

Rab
rabbrogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 21:29   #4
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
The timed out bit is a known issue with the app. You need to launch another app that uses the 3g access, close it and launch the shoutcast app.

As far as I know the dev team is working on resolving this issue in a future release.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 15:18   #5
AceOfSpades
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 52
I have read about this issue, and i often get it while i am listening over 3G....i normally open up either Facebook or Safari first.

I am hoping this will be addressed in the next version update?
AceOfSpades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2009, 15:52   #6
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
As of the latest version (1.1.0.6, I believe) this issue appears to be resolved.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Site Design

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump