Old 12th August 2004, 14:14   #681
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
After a little testing I've noticed that INITDIALOG seems to be called three or four times...that's kinda strange...
That's a Winamp issue

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 14:35   #682
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
Does winamp ever request anything else from the plugin? Maybe when winamp cant get a response (i.e plugin is busy) it tries to InitDialog again.

if this isnt the case, it doesnt explain why it flickers when another root is selected
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 14:36   #683
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Now I think I am onto something...

This version: 0.9.1.7!

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 14:39   #684
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
Joonas does it again

flicky bug fixed

any chance to have it so it doesnt read all ID3 tags, old-skool style?
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 14:43   #685
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Kebabrov
Joonas does it again

flicky bug fixed

any chance to have it so it doesnt read all ID3 tags, old-skool style?
Yes!

Yes, it will be possible to have it read just as you scroll...I want it like that myself for example...good thing if we can get DL fairly stable since I am off to Greece for a one week vacation tomorrow night

Expect a new release in a little while!

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 14:51   #686
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
Nice

Any chance you could add these:
The ML has a sunken-coloured line where the splitter is. Could you put that in? Also, the splitter only works on the left two pixels of the splitter... any chance it could be changed to the middle 2 pixels, or all of it?

When the treeview is invisible, you can still see its sunken lines

It still doesnt read the rest of the top's tags when you scroll towards the bottom.

..and then theres the similar-named-subfolder bug


oh, and i just did something stupid. I added c:\ as a root, and it took ages to index the whole of it (had to ctrl+alt+del). Maybe add a warning saying its a stupid idea to add roots of drives?

I'd say DL is pretty stable now

have a good time in greece if i dont post before you go
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 14:52   #687
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Okay...most (all?) features has been restored.
Does it crash? Does it flicker?

Test it! As I said...tomorrow night I'll be gone for a week..let's make the most of it!

This version: 0.9.1.7b

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 14:56   #688
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
No flicker, no crash.

'Read all tags' menu doesnt do anything anymore (i can live without it, but the menu item should be removed if it does nothing).

It seems to fail to read the final item's ID3 all the time... either by it being made visible in the listview, or by it automatically reading all tags.
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 15:05   #689
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
uh oh, when DL is open, winamp uses 100% CPU Usage. This is with 'auto read all tags' turned on or off, and when it has finished reading all the tags anyway.

Its still responsive, but some other thead must be stuck in a loop somewhere.
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 15:05   #690
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Okay...think I've fixed similar name bug + last tag not being read...

This version: 0.9.1.7c

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 15:09   #691
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
yup, both confirmed fixed, but now a new bug:

it says 'no files of selected type' when you choose a folder that doesnt contain subfolders, but does contain MP3s

see above post too

edit: small update for the 100% problem. If you choose a folder where there are 'no files of selected type', then the CPU usage remains at 0% (where it should be)
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 15:13   #692
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Yes well...the 100% bug is because it's in a loop...it doesn't do anything...and yields for another application...but yeah it doesn't look good...*starts coding*

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 15:26   #693
AsHopeDies
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally posted by Kebabrov
yup, both confirmed fixed, but now a new bug:
it says 'no files of selected type' when you choose a folder that doesnt contain subfolders, but does contain MP3s
Yap...a major bug that was not there before
AsHopeDies is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 21:06   #694
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
* Fixed that bug (see above)
* Improved the reading of tags - now it reads from where you've scrolled and then start over from the beginning - although, if all has been read it hopefully will break and not use 100% of CPU - test this!

This version: Dynamic Library v0.9.1.8

[edit]
v.0.9.1.8b is up now...some problems if you turned off automatic reading has been resolved
[/edit]

/Joonas

Last edited by Joonas; 12th August 2004 at 21:23.
Joonas is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 21:38   #695
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
yup, 'that bug' is fixed

No longer uses 100%, but it still uses 3-5%, as opposed to winamp's usual 0% while idle. This value is obtained even after all tags have been read.
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 22:00   #696
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Yes...2 % occasionally on my computer...well the best I can do right now is remove the thing that makes it read in front of the visible...that is never start over at 0.

This is pretty much the version you'll have to test for the next week...have to pack my stuff and so on tomorrow...might be able to fix minor issues tomorrow if something critically needs to be fixed.

This version: 0.9.1.8c

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 22:54   #697
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally posted by Jome

4. Making DL ignore folders without media files in them, "temp" folders and "trashcan" and such.. (Proved difficult)
+1


Quote:
Originally posted by Jome
6. Make the currently playing song bold or in another color.
+1

Quote:
Originally posted by Jome
7. Option to make the button(s) in Winamp control DL.
Would make playing albums/big playlists much easier.
(Dismissed for now)
OK. All the people wanting the DL to act as a PL replacement. Maybe this would be an easy middle ground? Have it work like the ML so that if i am looking at a view/search result/playlist and double click an item, it will clear the playlist then enqueue the whole view/list/whatever and play the item I doubleclicked on. If you couple this with DL showing the currently playing song in bold/color or something, this would make it appear to work just like the playlist!

Or, post DL 1.0 have Dr.O and Joonas hook up and make PlEx together!

Anyway, thanks for your work Joonas. I've never seen a plugin updated so fast! Latest versions are great.

Enjoy your trip!
D&B is offline  
Old 12th August 2004, 23:41   #698
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
Looking good so far. Seems to have gone down to 1%-2%. have a good time in greece
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 01:26   #699
jojo 544
Major Dude
 
jojo 544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Nowhere near the apeland
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally posted by Joonas
best I can do right now is remove the thing that makes it read in front of the visible...
Please no, i love it like that. Maybe make it an option?
I don't care about the cpu working 2%, that's what it's there for not?

Last version seems super

I think you deserved a good vacation after all this wonderfull work...Maybe it'll inspire you
Dont let them greecs get you drunk too much
jojo 544 is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 02:40   #700
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
enjoy your trip!
billyvnilly is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 07:02   #701
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Okay...this version reads from the start when it's done with those below...and it doesn't use any more CPU than necessary...at least on my computer the CPU occasionally make use of 2% even without DL so it's not DL-related if it has a peak.

Happy testing!

This version: Dynamic Library v0.9.1.8d

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 09:50   #702
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
Weird, it seems to have gone back up to 5ish%. When i close DL, it goes down to 0%. Not to worry, i can cope for the moment.

Thats enough coding for now, have a good trip, and see you in a week
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 10:38   #703
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
That's weird...since when it has read all tags the thread doesn't do anything...nothing that it didn't do before at least...it still checks the roots if they're still there and such...but it has for the past 30+ releases ;D

But still...that's (as you say) something that doesn't stop anyone from testing for other bugs and crashes this coming week. Take it as a chance to test DL for more than 30 minutes before the next release is released

Have a nice week!

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 11:20   #704
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
there we go. Once all tags in the selected root have been read, it settles at 0%. if 'automatically read tags' is not selected and there are still tags to be read, it hovers around 3-5%
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 11:25   #705
hniu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally posted by badrad
OK. All the people wanting the DL to act as a PL replacement. Maybe this would be an easy middle ground? Have it work like the ML so that if i am looking at a view/search result/playlist and double click an item, it will clear the playlist then enqueue the whole view/list/whatever and play the item I doubleclicked on. If you couple this with DL showing the currently playing song in bold/color or something, this would make it appear to work just like the playlist!
Like the idea.
But it could be an option to send the files to PL one by one.


Have a nice holiday, Joonas!
hniu is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 11:47   #706
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Think I've fixed kebabrovs CPU-hogging bug

This version: 0.9.1.8e

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 11:50   #707
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
yup, fixed, but it seems to have killed ID3 reading when you scroll. It reads the first few correctly when you change folder, but gives up when you scroll
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 11:54   #708
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
v0.9.1.8f

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 11:56   #709
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
yep, that fixed it

Thanks
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 13th August 2004, 13:00   #710
d3x7r0
Senior Member
 
d3x7r0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 380
Send a message via Skype™ to d3x7r0
LOL you don't give joonas a break

th DL has come out really great, nice work

I still think it would be better as a ML plugin but that's just me.

Keep up the good work AFTER your well earned vacations

NOTE: I am Dextro!
d3x7r0 is offline  
Old 15th August 2004, 11:59   #711
David_Aames
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
joonas: would it be possible to have the folder contents as playlist, i have my albums in maps, so when i play one song of the album, it plays the next one after, until the full album is played (or repeat the album) do you understand what i mean, and is it possible?
David_Aames is offline  
Old 15th August 2004, 15:19   #712
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
[edit]joonas is on vacation right now. are you talking about a playlist for every album, and you want to enqueue multiple playlists? im not sure if you can load multiple playlists, but[/edit]


try album list 2 plugin, sounds like this is what you want.
http://www.winamp.com/plugins/details.php?id=139186
billyvnilly is offline  
Old 15th August 2004, 15:22   #713
Kebabrov
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally posted by David_Aames
joonas: would it be possible to have the folder contents as playlist, i have my albums in maps, so when i play one song of the album, it plays the next one after, until the full album is played (or repeat the album) do you understand what i mean, and is it possible?
if you double click on a folder, it will enqueue/play it, depending on your preferences.
Kebabrov is offline  
Old 15th August 2004, 17:19   #714
David_Aames
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly
[edit]joonas is on vacation right now. are you talking about a playlist for every album, and you want to enqueue multiple playlists? im not sure if you can load multiple playlists, but[/edit]


try album list 2 plugin, sounds like this is what you want.
http://www.winamp.com/plugins/details.php?id=139186
i dont have playlists, just folders

Quote:
Originally posted by Kebabrov
if you double click on a folder, it will enqueue/play it, depending on your preferences.
yes i know that, but now, if i press a song, it wil play the songs that were left in the playlist when i pressed it, what i would like if the playlist gets cleared and only the songs in the same folder will be played after it.
David_Aames is offline  
Old 15th August 2004, 23:05   #715
beaverpants
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 13
thats if you have enqueue. if you have just play.. it clears the list and then add's it

Last edited by beaverpants; 16th August 2004 at 02:04.
beaverpants is offline  
Old 16th August 2004, 02:01   #716
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
yeah my last post was confusing, album list recognizes folders and NOT playlists. and you can set enqueue options
billyvnilly is offline  
Old 22nd August 2004, 12:21   #717
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Okay...I'm back so let's finish this plugin!

I don't quite get this last thing...is it something about playing playlists straight from DL again?

/Joonas - back from Hellas
Joonas is offline  
Old 22nd August 2004, 12:33   #718
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Hey Joonas, welcome back!
Been a nice week?

Have been collecting some issues last weeks, so you're warned!
It's a bit fragmentary: if anything is not understandable, please ask.

---------------

- no plus shown at total time display while some time lengths are N/A

- when sorting on length, not all items are joined in sort
N/A breaks sorting?
the sort looks like this:
0:40
1:12
2:34
N/A
1:26
3:11
N/A
0:34
2:53
4:05
etc.

- when clicking a column to sort, on first click it's always sorted Z-A (instead of A-Z)

- prefs: box for default enqueue action misses part of bottom line

- right sunken border of list view is missing
maybe make listview one pixel smaller? (or maybe a few pixels, like in ML: looks nice, imho)

- would be great if there'd be a cancel button for the auto-reading tags (since it's slowing down computer a bit...)
-------------------

no crashes so far!

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 22nd August 2004, 12:40   #719
Joonas
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,263
Thank you

Ah this is the kind of bugs I like All of this can be fixed fairly easy...will look at it when g/f release me from washing duty

And no crashes? Brilliant!

/Joonas
Joonas is offline  
Old 22nd August 2004, 14:08   #720
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by Joonas
will look at it when g/f release me from washing duty
they have such a horrible way of doing that i've noticed (hope the holiday was good)

-daz
DrO is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > Winamp Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump