Old 25th October 2003, 14:31   #441
Germ
rules all things
 
Germ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,149
Soon. Chill.
Germ is offline  
Old 25th October 2003, 14:33   #442
Russ
Mostly Harmless
(Alumni)
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,319
As soon as the AOL beta team get their hands on it, no doubt.

For long you live and high you fly, but only if you ride the tide, and balanced on the biggest wave you race towards an early grave.
|Musicbrainz|Audioscrobbler|last.fm|
Russ is offline  
Old 25th October 2003, 15:37   #443
THEMIXTURE
Senior Member
 
THEMIXTURE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 209
"[annoying question asked by many many people]
Any idea if and when Beta 2 is going to be publically released?
[/annoying question asked by many many people]"

Hey sorry for asking I was just wondering.

Dj Clash
THEMIXTURE is offline  
Old 25th October 2003, 15:39   #444
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
lol, blame Canada
apollos is offline  
Old 25th October 2003, 15:45   #445
rijswijk
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally posted by Germ
Soon. Chill.
ROCKS

running xp sp1+sp2 hot fixes with 1.4 ath

works great except for Minor bugs (cosmetic)

used since day one beta
rijswijk is offline  
Old 26th October 2003, 03:12   #446
auhsor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 159
Cool. Is there any way to like make different windows to be 'Always on top' Cos if i've got the media library open, and want to switch to other windows, I can't. And I don't think anyone said anything about the scrolling of the song title- making it continuous in one direction.
auhsor is offline  
Old 26th October 2003, 10:08   #447
lwells
Member
 
lwells's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sydney.Au
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally posted by prodangle
Are you sure you can afford several days of a good software developer's time? I'm afraid it might cost you a bit more than just a few beers
Would anyone at Nullsoft tell us what the going rate for consultancy is right now? I'd guess at least $1000 per day - and $5k for Justin
I didn't say I would pay them for their time -- that's what AOL is for

What I said was, I would happy to give them a gift as a show of appreciation if they would add a feature that I want.

LW.
lwells is offline  
Old 26th October 2003, 13:43   #448
bakerstreet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7
Rear Speakers

Hi,

I love the new player, but for some reason my rear speakers aren't working. I am using an onboard Realtek AC97 audio card, and the rear channel is working with every other app, including Winamp 3.

Any ideas? I switched to 5 because 3 crashed for me about every 4th song, but I kinda like the rear speakers. I hope it is just a tweak I am missing. Thanks for any help.
bakerstreet is offline  
Old 26th October 2003, 16:17   #449
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
TSGH -> Multiple Speaker Output
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 26th October 2003, 17:53   #450
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
that would be my winamp 5 wish for the forums mods:
NEW DEFAULT settings.

- DAE ON by default
- Direct sound plugin CHOSEN by default
- some milliseconds buffer-ahead on track change ON for gapless playing in out_ds
- Fast Layer 3 EQ OFF in in_mp3 (that all sound formats use the same new and good 4Front eq)

to avoid all the again and again repeating questions in these forums and making winamp set up to be quality orientated (cause speed and compatibility with old hardware isn't an issue anymore with nowadays computers - winamp is 5 years old).

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 26th October 2003, 19:37   #451
rijswijk
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 63
actually I would like to have the beat vis as an option just like you can click between bar/wave vis 3rd is blank why not a 4th mode which would be the beat vis (alone not only in stretched mode
rijswijk is offline  
Old 26th October 2003, 21:40   #452
mwisby
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 72
looks bloody cool!!
mwisby is offline  
Old 26th October 2003, 21:46   #453
deathazre
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: behind the wheel of a Cat service truck
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via ICQ to deathazre Send a message via AIM to deathazre
mwisby, shrink your sig. PLEASE. it's larger than most of the posts on this thread.
deathazre is offline  
Old 26th October 2003, 21:50   #454
Nimelennar
Major Dude
 
Nimelennar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 841
Send a message via ICQ to Nimelennar
Quote:
From the Forum Rules
Signature Size
- To keep the page loading time and visual annoyance factor down to a minimum, ensure your graphical signatures do not exceed a maximum of 12,500 pixels or 15 kilobytes file size, whichever is reached first. Alternatively, three lines of text can be used as a signature. Do not pad out your text lines with blanks lines. A line of text is defined such that it does not wrap when viewed at a resolution of 640x480.

If these limits are exceeded then you may be contacted by a moderator requesting an amendmant to your signature. If none is made within a reasonable period of time, then a moderator may remove your signature from your profile.

The world is made of conflicts: good and evil, order and chaos, light and dark, hot and cold. All are essential to life. None can prevail for any length of time, or life will fail. In the end, the best any can hope for is balance.
Nimelennar is offline  
Old 27th October 2003, 00:18   #455
AtiUser
Member
 
AtiUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Send a message via ICQ to AtiUser
Quote:
Originally posted by amano
NEW DEFAULT settings.
- Direct sound plugin CHOSEN by default
- some milliseconds buffer-ahead on track change ON for gapless playing in out_ds
- Fast Layer 3 EQ OFF in in_mp3 (that all sound formats use the same new and good 4Front eq)
I agree with these new default settings.

Advanced users can switch back to Fast Layer 3 Equalizer, if they want.

I hope the developer think about it
AtiUser is offline  
Old 27th October 2003, 15:50   #456
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
what's wrong with DAE on by default, because that's the one you skipped.

I think it was on by default in WA3 too and you would get gapless cd playing and all sound effects (EQ, VIS) with it.
Who has problems with this settings has to turn it off.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 27th October 2003, 16:21   #457
SarCaSM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 289
i'm probably mistaken, but I thought once I read on the forums that DirectSound is chosen by default if you're using Windows 2000 or XP, any other then its WaveOut by default. Again, prolly mistaken.
SarCaSM is offline  
Old 27th October 2003, 16:42   #458
Oni-Dracula
Registered User
 
Oni-Dracula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally posted by SarCaSM
i'm probably mistaken, but I thought once I read on the forums that DirectSound is chosen by default if you're using Windows 2000 or XP, any other then its WaveOut by default. Again, prolly mistaken.
You are correct sir!
Oni-Dracula is offline  
Old 27th October 2003, 16:46   #459
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
well, might be and should be that way!

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 27th October 2003, 17:15   #460
logoguy
Senior Member
 
logoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Vermont, U.S.A.
Posts: 163
Send a message via AIM to logoguy
Is there idea about the scroll arrows on the playlist window. the scroll arrows in winamp5 for me appear to not be there =\ Other than that i cant see any other problems except It seems to have a large memory foot print for a 2x based player (10 - 20 megs) =\. Winamp3 on my machine (build 499) runs about the same speed and mem foot print.

I mean i really like the new skin so i have been using winamp5 lately but my as most know i am really into the multiple playlists in 3. I am waffling right now on which to use. There both so good. 5+3=8 hahahha!

When the fine young men at nullsoft complete winamp5 to a self sataifactory example then maybe you could start up some massive winamp3 dev. I am suprised that you created such a good product in one summer.

I know you guys have it. Now if you could use it to advance some kick ass tech and not please all the forum flamers (what i mean is dont listen when people complain that winamp3 "sux" and stuff, they dont understand that its not about speed right now its about new shit and if they shut there mouths they would get some kick ass tech out of the deal) Flamers, n00bs, and lamers, have no patience any more. Its just like Aol they want you guys to make stuff that pleases everyone really fast, and it does not work like that with programing. there are three things you can have two (fast, cheap, good) I would like to see a fast god program out of the nullsoft labs. (in this case cheap means less money spent on time) Fast and good like you were doing with 3. Not cheap and fast like winamp5 (although its good its just winamp3 with out the behind the scenes benifits. Give them what they want then give us what we need and will want! Just as you were with 3. 5 will shut them up and give you time to accel on 3 or what ever you will call it.
logoguy is offline  
Old 27th October 2003, 18:52   #461
Browser [ICE]
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3
How can I change the pause time between songs in winamp 5 ?

After it ended playing a song and the reamining time is 0:00, it just waits for 2-3 seconds before going on to play next song.

I can't find any options for this.
Browser [ICE] is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 00:02   #462
insomniac
Major Dude
 
insomniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL Posts: 58,409,042
Posts: 1,614
Send a message via AIM to insomniac
Is there any way I can make my mouse scroll button control the scrolling of the playlist instead of controlling the volume? It was this way in Winamp 2 and it would be greatly appreciated if someone can tell me a way I can change it.
insomniac is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 00:28   #463
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
@ Browser [ICE]
Gapless playback is there, but you need to configure/enable it.
Prefs -> Plugins -> Output -> DirectSound -> config
Buffer tab: Increase "buffer ahead on track change" slider
Other tab: Checkmark "remove silence"

Now, if amano's "new defaults" suggestion was implemented, I wouldn't have needed to post this. But then again, I guess some people don't want gapless playback, and prefer a couple of seconds gap between trax.

@ insomniac

If clicking first in the library or playlist (ie. hi-lighting an entry) doesn't fix it, then you could be experiencing a beta 1 bug there.

ps. I know the feeling (re: your username)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 00:47   #464
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
@djegg:
the gap with mp3s is actually a bug in the mp3 specification (that means: a bug in the Fraunhoffer mp3 design, not a nullsoft bug), not a winamp feature and it doesn't appear eg. on ogg vorbis files. Buffering ahead is just a workaround from PP for that.
I can't imagine anyone who would call this bug desireable, but anyway, you can turn "Buffering ahead on track change" off.

"My way" (with "gapless" turned ON) you would have the same behaviour with mp3s and oggs.

EDIT: real/wanted silence will stay unless you check "Remove Silence" in out_ds, only unwanted silence, caused by the mp3 frame inconsisties gets affected by using buffering ahead.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8

Last edited by amano; 28th October 2003 at 01:17.
amano is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 01:10   #465
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
One remark to the waveout/dsound discussion above.

A snippet from PP, I grabbed some time ago from these forums:

Quote:
DirectSound is the new "modern" sound playback API, built into all recent versions of 32bit Windows OS's, available as redistributable for older ones (though nt4 directsound is badly broken from my experience). DirectSound natively supports mixing multiple streams, independent volume control, hardware acceleration layer & hardware emulation layer (features which aren't supported by hardware are emulated by software, so the programmer doesn't have to worry if his new l33t code will work right on old sb16). DirectSound should be generally fine to use everywhere except for nt4, as long as you have latest DirectX version for your OS and proper soundcard drivers installed. DirectSound is preferred over waveOut on win2k/xp, because their DirectSound implementation is relatively good (eats less CPU than waveOut and is free of win2k/xp waveOut implementation glitches). DirectSound was originally designed to let games utilize hardware acceleration available on your system without having to touch low-level hardware functions directly (like any other component of DirectX).
So unless you are on NT, Dsound should be a good choice. Maybe some performance issues remain with Win9x, but the advantages seem clear.

I can't tell for sure, whether DSound is already the Default setting (I don't have a clean system to test), but for XP/2K it should and for Win9x it could.
Not many people are still dealing with NT4 and winamp though.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 01:26   #466
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
As long as Win9x users have DX8 or higher installed, then there shouldn't be any problems. Win95 comes with DX5 (and can only support DX8.0), and 98 with DX6. Many users don't even know what DirectX is, let alone how to update it, or even run dxdiag.

(whether they've got correct/latest sound drivers is a different issue, which affects all OS)

If out_ds was on by default for Win9x/NT4, I reckon we'd get even more related posts than we do already...

Come the day when virtually no-one uses those old OS'es any more,
then, as far as I can see, that'll be a good day

ps. btw, out_wave also has a "buffer-ahead" slider, so for consistency's sake, this would also need setting to some default value.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 09:37   #467
whiteflip
Post Master General
(Forum King)
 
whiteflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Seattle, Now Las Vegas
Posts: 6,032
Where can one find skins that are being created for the up and comming Winamp5? Will "Thinger" be a part of Winamp5? Its not apart of winamp5's default skin but skins for winamp3 that work in winamp5 have the thinger.

I'm Back?
whiteflip is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 12:10   #468
Germ
rules all things
 
Germ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,149
It's highly unlikely that the thinger will be implemented. In my opinion it was totally useless.
Germ is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 12:19   #469
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Thinger is implemented...just not in the default skin. I agree it was pretty useless, and I rather doubt any more icons will show up in it in 5(esp. since it isn't in the default skin). But it's there for legacy compatibility, I reckon.

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 12:22   #470
Germ
rules all things
 
Germ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,149
What in god's name have you done to your avatar and custom title? Come to the channel so I can berate you.
Germ is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 15:31   #471
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
@DJEgg:
just wanted to add some technical details to the discussion.

DSOUND for XP/2k/2003/and up
and WAVEOUT for 9x/NT is quite ok
if it can be done (or is it already done? I cannot check)

I second your thought about the buffer-ahead default in waveout.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 15:42   #472
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yes, afaik, it defaults to waveout on nt/9x/me and DS on 2k/xp/2003
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 20:10   #473
MntnDew
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Is there going to be a crossfader on the final version? Or am i missing it?
MntnDew is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 20:45   #474
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
unstuck, new shit on the way

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 20:45   #475
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
If Winamp 5 Beta 2 was done on 23rd of this month, how come we haven't seen it yet? ¬_¬

I wonder if it's a government conspiracy... Windude?
apollos is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 20:51   #476
Germ
rules all things
 
Germ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,149
Oh you'll be probably seeing it sometime today.
Germ is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 20:53   #477
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
if so, why were the mods in such a scurry to delete a thread with changes in the current version?
apollos is offline  
Old 28th October 2003, 20:55   #478
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=154385
*locked*

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump