Old 31st March 2003, 20:38   #281
EAK125
Senior Member
 
EAK125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: State of Denial
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to EAK125 Send a message via Yahoo to EAK125
Yo the_Flames sounds like you got a bad install cause i have no probs here. Did you install 2.9b2 over a previous version cause that may cause problems.

(EAK)

...Do not forget to mention, when the time and
Place are appropriate, that I am an Ass.
---Much Ado About Nothing - Act 5 Scene 1
EAK125 is offline  
Old 31st March 2003, 21:24   #282
InSAnE NiNjA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to InSAnE NiNjA
i cant read 8 pages, so i'll just put my input in

bug report
1. in the HTML file generator, it doesnt convert < into the html compatable version, so if its in a word, the page conciders it an html tag,
that character needs to be converted, among whatever else, i probably cant even type them in here for them to show up

2. the "get more skins" link in the rightclick menu and the skins section both go to the winamp3 skins section -- http://www.winamp.com/skins/
it should go to -- http://classic.winamp.com/skins/

-----------
feature requests

1. right now you can play (losing the list),
or enqueue (add a file to the end of the list)
..how about a single button, a rightclick explorer option, and an optional default double click be added...
"enqueue & play now"
adds it to the list, and starts playing it without killing playlist

2. have it show volume percentage for a second when you press up and down on keyboard (or mouse roller wheel), same as it would if you did it with mouse clicking the button, cuz i like to keep it at 80% unless i wanna hear other programs
this is just a quick reference thing
-----
comment
the idea of a winshade for the video or library, is wierd/lame
they are utterly useless as a winshade (suddenly i wonder if i'm using the correct word)

oh and i LOVE that you have to manually create playlists with this, instead of auto creation of PLs like in wa3,
that annoyed the hell out of me, i'd start clicking off files in explorer, and i would soon have 50-60 single file playlists that i had to delete one at a time
-----

since this is a new post i keep editing it to add new parts

Last edited by InSAnE NiNjA; 31st March 2003 at 23:55.
InSAnE NiNjA is offline  
Old 31st March 2003, 21:24   #283
Flynnz
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: mostly not here anymore
Posts: 855
Send a message via ICQ to Flynnz Send a message via AIM to Flynnz Send a message via Yahoo to Flynnz
@DJEgg tambien

Quote:
Originally posted by the_Flames
Ive noticed when right clicking within winamp 2.9b2 and going to the skin menu I dont see any of the avalible skins , but if I select the skins section within the pref's there all there...
As I mentioned earlier, a piece of the puzzle seems to be in_dshow.dll--while I'm too lazy to do much more testing, if I remove (delete/rename) it from my [full] installation, the same thing occurs. So.. uhh.. assuming there isn't something weird with my setup, anyone who doesn't install video support should be having this same problem. (In addition to the messed-up-menu-pop-up-on-right-click-of-the-visbox issue.)
Flynnz is offline  
Old 31st March 2003, 23:59   #284
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
this has probably been posted... but to tell you the truth, I skimmed the thread and might have missed it, but can anyone else reproduce:

scroll in the media library by clicking on the sliders, its fine at first, but then everything freaks out:

Monitr32 freezes
Wa2 then spazzes
All other programs that are open spazz (buttons disappear, icons on the desktop disappear, but a simply log off (winME) does the trick and everything is fixed)

However, if i click on the scroll bar to scroll it's fine... just grabbing the slider kills it. Otherwise, it's a suprurb player.
lunarboy1 is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 00:04   #285
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
Oh my gosh, forgot about this, but for the winshade of the EQ, instead of having it be balance and volume, could it be a small volume slider (to replace the balance) and a progress bar(to replace the volume slider)?

Sorry if it's been suggeted before, I wasn't sure.
lunarboy1 is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 00:25   #286
Captain_Z
Junior Member
 
Captain_Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Andromeda
Posts: 18
MIDI problems finally fixed, after changing to Windows XP. Thanks to everybody who wanted to help me. I really mean it.
Captain_Z is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 00:27   #287
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
There's already a progress bar in the main winshade.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 00:57   #288
EAK125
Senior Member
 
EAK125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: State of Denial
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to EAK125 Send a message via Yahoo to EAK125
Cool that your midi probs are gone but what OS were you runnin B4?? Odd that XP would actually fix anything!

(EAK)

...Do not forget to mention, when the time and
Place are appropriate, that I am an Ass.
---Much Ado About Nothing - Act 5 Scene 1
EAK125 is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 01:07   #289
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
Quote:
Originally posted by wildrose-wally
There's already a progress bar in the main winshade.
that tiny thing!? it's useless, impossible to use to search through a song!

I agree with lunarboy about this..
But I doubt the 2.X series will ever adapt the Wa3 method (EQ shade).
Hopefully the hybrid will though..

-Plague
Plague is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 01:08   #290
the_Flames
Junior Member
 
the_Flames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 21
Re: @DJEgg tambien

Quote:
Originally posted by Flynnz
As I mentioned earlier, a piece of the puzzle seems to be in_dshow.dll--while I'm too lazy to do much more testing, if I remove (delete/rename) it from my [full] installation, the same thing occurs. So.. uhh.. assuming there isn't something weird with my setup, anyone who doesn't install video support should be having this same problem. (In addition to the messed-up-menu-pop-up-on-right-click-of-the-visbox issue.)

I have not chosen to install any of the video components of winamp the "NSV Decoder" isnt in the input plugin list and in_dshow.dll isnt in the winamp directory

the only problem I'm having with winamp is the lack of swapping skins without going into propities.

And I did install over a old winamp instalation with 0 plugins from outside the winamp installer
the_Flames is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 02:32   #291
Captain_Z
Junior Member
 
Captain_Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Andromeda
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally posted by EAK125
Cool that your midi probs are gone but what OS were you runnin B4?? Odd that XP would actually fix anything!
(EAK)
I find it VERY ODD too but it's over. It seems that the controllers' reinstall was the fix. Anyway now I know it was my computer's fault and not Winamp's.

What else can I say; Winamp 2.9 is just great. Just a little slower than WMP9 when playing videos, but it's okay. The ML is lot of progress.

Thank you for your concern, EAK.
Captain_Z is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 02:34   #292
Captain_Z
Junior Member
 
Captain_Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Andromeda
Posts: 18
Oh I forgot to tell you; We were upgrading from Windows 2000 Pro to XP Pro.
Captain_Z is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 05:30   #293
Germ
rules all things
 
Germ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,149
All of your woes will soon end.
Germ is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 05:47   #294
crlorentzen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to crlorentzen Send a message via AIM to crlorentzen
Winamp is my mp3 player, nothing else will do.

2.9 will probably not take me away from Zoom Player, for video playback, however I do have some suggestions.

1. I would like filter properties like in Zoom Player/Media Player Classic/WMP6.4.

2. As well a stay on top function.

3. Plus I would like to vote for the option stated earlier to have a few different ways that doubleclick will act, a few I recommend a)plays single file creating new playlist with that one file b) keeps current playlist enqueuing file at the top of playlist and starting play, or if in current playlist jump to selected file. c)enqueue at end

4. Nullsoft kicksass...wonderful new features, great work at trying to make all ppl happy. I Thank You as well everyone should.

Last edited by crlorentzen; 1st April 2003 at 06:12.
crlorentzen is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 06:05   #295
kevin041487
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In front of my computer.
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to kevin041487
Quote:
Originally posted by DJEgg
[@kevin041487
Have you tried playing with the settings?
Prefs -> Plugins -> Input -> NSV Decoder -> config
Synch tweak: Offset video from audio by:

I needed to bump this value up to 600ms to get mine in synch.
[/B]
This worked perfectly, I never thought to look at the decoder. Thanks so much.
kevin041487 is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 06:08   #296
InSAnE NiNjA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to InSAnE NiNjA
Quote:
Originally posted by InSAnE NiNjA
1. right now you can play (losing the list),
or enqueue (add a file to the end of the list)
..how about a single button, a rightclick explorer option, and an optional default double click be added...
"enqueue & play now"
adds it to the list, and starts playing it without killing playlist
Quote:
Originally posted by crlorentzen
3. Plus I would like to vote for the option stated earlier to have a few different was that doubleclick will act, a few I recommend a)plays single file creating new playlist with that one file b) keeps current playlist enqueuing file at the top of playlist and starting play, or if in current playlist jump to selected file. c)enqueue at end
this topic is going on a little long
cant wait to see 2.9 final, and then 2.91

oh, and i woulda said "if it exists play it" but that wastes too many resources to scan the list, i was being realistic
InSAnE NiNjA is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 10:49   #297
Markieman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 27
File types

Just something for the wishlist:

I wish:

To see a difference between audio and video files.
Currently in explorer, both audio en video files are
of type 'Winamp media file'.

Couldn't you make 2 file types, ie:
- 'Winamp audio file'
- 'Winamp video file'

Also, in the playlist when adding files, like
recursivly, i'd like an option to select that i
only want video, or only audio files, or ofcourse both.

And so on...
Markieman is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 14:17   #298
the_Flames
Junior Member
 
the_Flames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 21
Quote:
Couldn't you make 2 file types, ie:
- 'Winamp audio file'
- 'Winamp video file'
now that is a good idea
the_Flames is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 15:40   #299
j0ck3
Senior Member
 
j0ck3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 308
Send a message via ICQ to j0ck3 Send a message via AIM to j0ck3
Yes it is! Markieman, I couldn't agree more about that.

"What you know you can't explain, but you feel it. You've felt it your entire life, that there's something wrong with the world. You don't know what it is, but it's there, like a splinter in your mind, driving you mad." I have choosen the red pil.
j0ck3 is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 15:56   #300
PJay Tycy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 252
About the library:

In WA3 it automaticly keeps track of all files you ever played in Winamp.
In WA2 I have to manually add the directories with my songs in it. Everytime I have new mp3's on my harddisk, I listen to them at least once, but they don't get listed in the library automatically.

I'd really like an option to automaticly add played files to the library.
PJay Tycy is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 17:17   #301
EAK125
Senior Member
 
EAK125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: State of Denial
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to EAK125 Send a message via Yahoo to EAK125
I remember seeing that option - play song and it's added to library - somewhere in beta 1 but couldn't find it in b2... Was it removed or just hidden???

(EAK)

...Do not forget to mention, when the time and
Place are appropriate, that I am an Ass.
---Much Ado About Nothing - Act 5 Scene 1
EAK125 is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 19:34   #302
PJay Tycy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 252
In the media library the word "The" is ignored when sorting:

1) In the playlist, "The" is not ignored, it would be good when it's ignored too when sorting the playlist by filename
2) Let us configure the list of ignored words please.

=> Out to hunt more annoyances/bugs/feature request about the media library...
PJay Tycy is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 19:37   #303
killswitch1968
Senior Member
 
killswitch1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sverige
Posts: 434
[/Quote]1. right now you can play (losing the list),
or enqueue (add a file to the end of the list)
..how about a single button, a rightclick explorer option, and an optional default double click be added...
"enqueue & play now"
adds it to the list, and starts playing it without killing playlist
[/QUOTE]

This has been suggested so many time I honestly hope this is put in soon. For me I can't think of anything else more important. It's been seconded 16 seperate times in the WInamp3 We're Counting thread.

PLease please please please, put this wonderful feature in!

They say if you play a Microsoft CD backwards you hear satanic messages. That's nothing, if you play it forwards it installs Windows.
killswitch1968 is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 21:41   #304
Xake
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Where the booze is (ie Sweden).
Posts: 16
I have to agree about that an "Enqueue and play" option would be great!

Now to a problem I encounter sometimes with Winamp.
Sometimes when I load a preset in the EQ all the values (exept the "Preamp") dumps to the lowest value. I load another and the values turns up where they should be. Then I try to load the first one again, and now all sliders turns up where they should be.
Sometimes I have to "browse around" among the presets before the one I want to use works - while the most others works just like they should.
It has also applied after restarts of Winamp - the values were set before the shutdown, but not after the startup...
This problem has survived on my computer while windows has been completly reinstalled, I have had my soundcard and windows changed and I have had it with Winamp 2.8x too.

A second problem I found:
I took a hike into the "Featured Videos" place, and found the following: When I click a link it enqueus in the playlist just as my defaults tells it to do but with the same name as the current playing song. The real name appear first when I'm try to play the video.

When will "the new plan" be official released (You know on that place called www.winamp.com) and not just in the forums?

Sorry bout my bad English.....

Last edited by Xake; 1st April 2003 at 22:23.
Xake is offline  
Old 1st April 2003, 23:11   #305
PeterM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 43
File Association

Hi
Reading thris thread I noticed the issue with icon identification between a video file and audio.

I use Mp3 info extension http://odin.mutschler.de/mp3ext/ it will show mp3 audio files with an icon relating to it's bitrate and more.

Regards
Peter
PeterM is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 00:06   #306
Dracil
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 14
Sweet program!
Dracil is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 11:48   #307
rubrik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia (But Melbourne will always be Home)
Posts: 1
First of all version 2.x is undoubtedly better than version 3.x I was at one point quite concerned when it appeared that development of version 2.x may have ceased, needles to say that I am glad to see that development of version 2.x has been revitalised. I want to know if/when the next beta of version 2.x is released where can I look to find out about this and where can I download it. I only have the current beta because I stumbled across a news post about it on deviantArt. Is there some page specifically for version 2.x beta news and/or downloads, and if there isnt why is this the case ?
rubrik is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 11:52   #308
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Next release should be WA2.90, and you should be able to grab it from the main download page on Thursday/Friday depending on where you live.

Any updates to betas etc etc should have been posted in this forum, but as there hasn't been any public betas since 2.9b2, then there are no updates

WA2.9RC01 was released internaly
WA2.90 should be public and available later this week, as I've alredy said
Mr Jones is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 12:19   #309
Wish
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 702
Here's something for all to see.
Attached Images
File Type: png winamp.png (42.7 KB, 268 views)
Wish is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 13:14   #310
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
am i missing something wish?
binary hero is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 13:52   #311
EAK125
Senior Member
 
EAK125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: State of Denial
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to EAK125 Send a message via Yahoo to EAK125
Umm Wish... Ya, so that's winamp. So what?

(EAK)

...Do not forget to mention, when the time and
Place are appropriate, that I am an Ass.
---Much Ado About Nothing - Act 5 Scene 1
EAK125 is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 14:43   #312
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
it's the Winamp2 default skin, redesigned by Steve.
Notice: 32 bit colors, changed button colors and some labels, changed vol/bal/eq sliders, new logo at bottom right, etc...

ie: it's been updated to look more up to date.

-Plague
Plague is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 14:52   #313
Xake
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Where the booze is (ie Sweden).
Posts: 16
Ohh...
Well I thought it was SOMETHINGS that looked diffrent...
Pretty nice...
Xake is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 16:20   #314
Xake
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Where the booze is (ie Sweden).
Posts: 16
On my playlist I usually have the titles displayed like:
Artist - Album - Tracknumber Title
Except for CD becouse the CD/Line in plugin does not support it.
I think that would be a nice thing to implent.

What do I need to use the digital audio extraction supported in the plugin?

Last edited by Xake; 2nd April 2003 at 17:07.
Xake is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 16:44   #315
Phat-Cow-
Senior Member
 
Phat-Cow-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 245
you can run 2.81 skins on it right?
Phat-Cow- is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 17:04   #316
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally posted by Phat-Cow-
you can run 2.81 skins on it right?
Yes, but if they have not been properly updated then some windows will remain unskinned.
D&B is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 17:24   #317
Xake
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Where the booze is (ie Sweden).
Posts: 16
@Phat-Cow-

Yepp.
No problems for me.

-edit-

@badrad
sorry, I started to write before I saw your reply.
Xake is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 21:59   #318
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
A couple of things:

1. WA2.9b2 has just started rnadomly chopping off bits from the ends of mp3 files (haven't been playing anything else). I switched from waveOut to directSound to no avail. It's not every song - it's random, and sometimes it happens like 4 seconds into a song.

2. Is it possible to create a view for the ML which tests for NULL or NOT SET (i.e. genre == NULL) to display media where certain tags are zero-length or not set (if no ID3 tag at all).

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 22:10   #319
PJay Tycy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 252
@skinme! perhaps you have cut-off silence turned on?
PJay Tycy is offline  
Old 2nd April 2003, 23:43   #320
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
Nope... that's not it.

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump