Old 17th October 2003, 01:43   #81
Scrod
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
BUG: Winamp ignores ID3v2 tags when streaming

BUG: Winamp ignores ID3v2 tags when streaming
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....threadid=66866

This has been a confirmed bug for years. Is anyone still working on the I/O plugins, or is it all eye candy?
If fact, the only MP3 player I've found that DOES support streaming ID3v2 tags is MP9. I don't really want to use MP9.
Scrod is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 01:45   #82
justin
Moderator Alumni
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally posted by shins

[BUG?] Resize in normal and winshade modes are not independant. One resizes the other and vice versa.
The word in that case would be "independent" not "independant".
This is not a bug, it's a feature. If you don't like it, switch the mode in Options->Winamp Modern->Main Windowshade Mode

-Justin
justin is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 01:51   #83
sgamer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
bug/annoyance

whenever a tv station changes files/programs, if it has an associated webpage, the media library/minibrowser combo will pop up again with their webpage. Now, i don't quite mind it popping up when it starts the first time, but every time the station changes files? i'd like to just keep it closed and watch the tv. i'm not sure if there's an option to change this or not, so call me stupid, but i figured i'd write about it anyway.
sgamer is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 02:03   #84
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
well damn all these great comments! I'm going to try it.
dlinkwit27 is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 02:04   #85
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Re: bug/annoyance

Quote:
Originally posted by sgamer
whenever a tv station changes files/programs, if it has an associated webpage, the media library/minibrowser combo will pop up again with their webpage. Now, i don't quite mind it popping up when it starts the first time, but every time the station changes files? i'd like to just keep it closed and watch the tv. i'm not sure if there's an option to change this or not, so call me stupid, but i figured i'd write about it anyway.
Go to the Preferences(press Ctrl+P) -> go to 'General Preferences/Library' -> enable 'Do not allow media to automatically switch to "Now Playing"' -> click 'Close'.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 02:08   #86
Renigal
Junior Member
 
Renigal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 49
Is Sawg's page working for anyone?
Renigal is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 02:09   #87
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,612
Sawg's page is down right now...don't know why
papadoc is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 02:12   #88
Renigal
Junior Member
 
Renigal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 49
I been trying to get it all day :/
Renigal is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 02:12   #89
sgamer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks Reaper...now back to watching tv on the awesome winamp5!
sgamer is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 02:16   #90
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by Renigal
Is Sawg's page working for anyone?
Here's a mirror hosted by s1138:
http://members.cox.net/s1138/wa5.html
[edit]
Second mirror, hosted by me: http://timmy.p44.org/winamp/wa5.html

Slightly modified to point to this thread since the download link on Sawg's webspace is down.
[/edit]

The link to the download doesn't work though since it leads to Sawg's webspace but there's other download links in this thread if needed.

sgamer: You're welcome

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 02:20   #91
Renigal
Junior Member
 
Renigal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 49
Thanks reaper. You just helped me win a couple arguements
Renigal is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 02:42   #92
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
@mightymidget

Re: wa3 style enqueue (play next)
Not implemented yet, but maybe in a future release, if it's at all possible (remember wa5 is based on the wa2 engine, not wa3, so currently it would break the entire classic skin database if this feature was added to the base skin . . . or something like that).

What you can do is right click any entry/entries in the ML and select:
Send To -> Winamp playlist (or Send To -> New Playlist / any playlist listed under ML -> Playlists section)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:01   #93
ctkatz8086
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: louisville, ky home of the CARDINALS
Posts: 401
i have a question about the registry. i still want to use wa 2.9x for some thing whilst i test this designation. what can i edit in the reg to make sure this version doesn't take over anything?

ctkatz8086 is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:10   #94
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by ctkatz8086
i have a question about the registry. i still want to use wa 2.9x for some thing whilst i test this designation. what can i edit in the reg to make sure this version doesn't take over anything?
In Winamp5, open the Preferences(Press Ctrl+P) -> go to 'General Preferences/File Types' -> deselect any format in the list that you don't want Winamp5 associated as the default player for. You can also uncheck 'Restore file associations at Winamp start-up' and 'Launch Winamp for Audio CDs' if you'd like. No Windows Registry editing needed.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:16   #95
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
My advice is to leave the registry well alone.
Just install wa5beta in a different dir to 2.9,
and make sure you uncheck everything in the final setup screen (create icons, associate with audio/video/cd, maintain associations, etc).
Then manually create a new shortcut to wa5.
You should also go into wa5 prefs and uncheck a few things (eg. check for new versions, report anon statistics, register files on winamp start -> you should checkmark this one in 2.9x prefs to keep wsz and other file associations), and you'll probably need to checkmark "allow multiple instances" in both prefs for both winamp.exe's to open simultaneously.

You can always keep 2.9x, or you can install wa5 in the default dir, and reinstall 2.9x in a new dir, or you can use the UninstWA.exe file in the relevant main WA dir to uninstall any version at a later date . . .

[edit] Too late. Reaper beat me to it, lol [/edit]

__________________________________________________________


btw, I'm surprised no-one's commented yet on the awesome new "auto dir scan/refresh" feature (Prefs -> Library -> Media Importing tab).
w00t

Also, multiple playlist support c/o Playlist window -> Manage Playlist button -> Open playlist from library (which is as near as we can get to wa3-style multi-playlists in wa3 pl sidecar).
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:21   #96
dougieha
Senior Member
 
dougieha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 236
Is anyone else having the problem that WA5 isn't remembering the window positions when you exit and restart it?

If not...what is wrong? Is there anything I can do to fix it?

Thanks,

Dougieha

My skins: Sony MPFX3-WA5 (Just for WA 5.x!!) and Sony MPFX3.
dougieha is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:28   #97
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by dougieha
Is anyone else having the problem that WA5 isn't remembering the window positions when you exit and restart it?

If not...what is wrong? Is there anything I can do to fix it?

Thanks,

Dougieha
Go to the folder you installed Winamp5 to (most likely \Program Files\Winamp\) and make sure both 'winamp.ini' and 'studio.xnf' are not set to Read Only.


DJ Egg: lol. Yours is more informative though.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:31   #98
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tn
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via AIM to ryan
I'll also host a mirror for a few days, http://idiot.ath.cx/wa5/
ryan is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:32   #99
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
It remembers all freeform skin window positions/sizes, but not classic skins (specifically, the width & height of the playlist window, and sometimes the width & height of ml & video windows).

As to whether YOU can fix it . . . No. Nullsoft will fix it in time for the official Winamp5 v1.0 final release (remember, it's currently a beta . . . beta means incomplete with bugs, warts 'n all).
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:32   #100
dougieha
Senior Member
 
dougieha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 236
No...neither one is read-only...

Any other ideas?

If no one else is having this problem, I'm really confused.

Also, if I open the media library, resize and move it, then close it, and then open it again, the position is not remembered.

This is all with the modern skin.

My skins: Sony MPFX3-WA5 (Just for WA 5.x!!) and Sony MPFX3.
dougieha is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:36   #101
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tn
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via AIM to ryan
DJegg, I won't get warts from using winamp5 will I?
ryan is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:39   #102
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
lol

Depends on how you use it, I suppose
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:45   #103
dougieha
Senior Member
 
dougieha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 236
Hmmm...DJ Egg: it seems that WA5 is doing exactly the opposite of what you described. It's remembering the position of the classic skins, but not the freeform skins.

After doing some detective work, it seems that WA5 is writing the correct information to studio.xnf when it exits, but for some reason, is not reading and implementing the information when it starts up.


Dougieha

My skins: Sony MPFX3-WA5 (Just for WA 5.x!!) and Sony MPFX3.
dougieha is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:49   #104
Mike H.
Forum Esperantist
(Major Dude)
 
Mike H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,135
Send a message via AIM to Mike H.
What happened to the opacity control? I thought that was the purpose of alpha blending! WA5 is great, but PLEASE bring back the opacity control!

[edit]Never mind, I found it. It's in the window settings.[/edit]

Last edited by Mike H.; 17th October 2003 at 04:07.
Mike H. is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:50   #105
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally posted by dougieha
Hmmm...DJ Egg: it seems that WA5 is doing exactly the opposite of what you described. It's remembering the position of the classic skins, but not the freeform skins.

After doing some detective work, it seems that WA5 is writing the correct information to studio.xnf when it exits, but for some reason, is not reading and implementing the information when it starts up.


Dougieha
Hmm, this seems to work fine on most machines, what OS are you on ?

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 03:53   #106
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Weird!

Shouldn't be happening in Winamp 5.0Beta (Beta 1 - build 5 - 10/14/03)

What's your Windows OS?

With WA5 closed, you could try deleting studio.xnf and let WA5 recreate it when reopened (backup studio.xnf first, just in case)...

[edit] Doh! I'm slow today . . . must be this damn flu [/edit]
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 04:01   #107
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by mike_aitch
What happened to the opacity control? I thought that was the purpose of alpha blending! WA5 is great, but PLEASE bring back the opacity control!
Opacity/Scaling is definitely there.
Any freeform skin -> Any window -> Main menu -> Window settings -> Opacity.

If you're referring to Opacity being grayed out in main window with Winamp Modern skin, then you need to click the "video/avs" button (top right corner) to close video/avs . . .
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 04:05   #108
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
[Quite a] Few pages ago, Phily Baby said the modern skin is a wee bit too large, Justin replied and said the you can scale the skin down. Phily scaled the skin to 75% and liked it, however, I don't.

At 75% the skin is too small, at 100% it's too big. I can't see the title at all when at 75%.
Is there any way for me to maybe choose 80% rather than the fixed "sizes"? (or am I missing an option here?).


Last edited by YtseJam; 17th October 2003 at 04:45.
YtseJam is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 04:07   #109
ctkatz8086
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: louisville, ky home of the CARDINALS
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
My advice is to leave the registry well alone.
Just install wa5beta in a different dir to 2.9,
and make sure you uncheck everything in the final setup screen (create icons, associate with audio/video/cd, maintain associations, etc).
Then manually create a new shortcut to wa5.
You should also go into wa5 prefs and uncheck a few things (eg. check for new versions, report anon statistics, register files on winamp start -> you should checkmark this one in 2.9x prefs to keep wsz and other file associations), and you'll probably need to checkmark "allow multiple instances" in both prefs for both winamp.exe's to open simultaneously.

You can always keep 2.9x, or you can install wa5 in the default dir, and reinstall 2.9x in a new dir, or you can use the UninstWA.exe file in the relevant main WA dir to uninstall any version at a later date . . .
maybe i need to be more clear.

when i installed the alpha, it took the default directory of every wa 2.x plugin i installed. while this may not be much of a hassle, there are some installers that won't even ask you where you want to put the plugin. so from this point on, any plugin i install automatically points to winampx (where i put this version) instead of winamp. how do i edit the reg so that it points to winamp 2.x again?

ctkatz8086 is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 04:16   #110
Raas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: nowhere
Posts: 341
I love it.
One thing,I can't scroll with the mouse in the playlist editor which I like.
Raas is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 04:17   #111
dirkdeftly
Forum King
 
dirkdeftly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cydonia, Mars
Posts: 2,651
Send a message via AIM to dirkdeftly
whoo boy, this is nice, but some of the new hotbuttons'n'such are annoying as hell...

avs is doing that same irritating buggyass thing that 2.6 used to do...that is, crashing randomly and for no apparent reason. also, KILL the doubleclick -> fullscreen, and change it back to opening the editor, then add in the doubleclick on teh tinyvis -> avs back in; makinn AVS go into it's own window by default (and then changing the "reattach vis" to "attach") wouldn't be a bad thing either.

i can't say i like the new playlist buttons (opening a standard windows menu). i liked being able to double-click the button and get the default action, and i also liked the customizeabilityerness of the menus (skinning wise...not that i skin anyhow). and the playlist needs that total time thing...it was 1337. 'nuff said.
another thing about the playlist that i've been wishing for for aeons is that you change the onload IDV3 read so that it does the same thing as ondisplay; in other words, you load normally, but it continuously reads the idv3 tags instead of lagging everything when you load a big directory while it tries to read everything at once. it should also prioritize currently displayed files (read things at the top of the currently displayed list before anything else).

i'd say more but i gotta have my avs, and i'm fucking tired of it crashing :\
/me turns on 2.91 again...

"guilt is the cause of more disauders
than history's most obscene marorders" --E. E. Cummings
dirkdeftly is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 04:21   #112
dougieha
Senior Member
 
dougieha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally posted by Francis
Hmm, this seems to work fine on most machines, what OS are you on ?

Francis.
I'm using WinXP SP1...

I've tried deleting studio.xnf, and letting WA5 recreate it, but it doesn't seem to make any difference.

My WA5 has a date of 10/14/2003 in the About Winamp box.

Dougieha

My skins: Sony MPFX3-WA5 (Just for WA 5.x!!) and Sony MPFX3.
dougieha is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 04:22   #113
Shiften
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 3
Winamp 5 Database Format?

I have an idea for extensions to the Winamp Media Library. They would either require replacing the existing database interface or extending the database.

So, my question is what is the SDK to the database? Is there a public database driver? Otherwise, I can write a library extension, but how do I disable the existing database interface?

If you have an answer, please private message me.
Shiften is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 04:44   #114
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
@ctkatz8086

Key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Winamp
String: (Default) = C:\Program Files\Winamp

Or just reinstall 2.9x

@Raas
There's a scrollbar button thingy on the right of the playlist editor.
Works fine here (click & drag) . . . as does mouse scrollwheel (as long as playlist is active window)

@atero
Modern playlist buttons/menus are the same as wa3 freeform standard.
Naturally, classic skins are the same as before (including total playlist time).

@dougieha
Sorry, can't help at the mo. It all works fine for me (WinXP). Francis? Any ideas?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 04:53   #115
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Hey, DJ Egg, what about my question?

YtseJam is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:00   #116
ohhjebus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 252
O-FACE

Dag yo, i was just about to give up winamp for a while and give iTunes a try. Like that is gonna happen anytime soon now...

Well done guys, must be nice to finally have an (official) public release out.
ohhjebus is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:01   #117
Raas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: nowhere
Posts: 341
It's working to click and drag the button but not to scroll with my mouse even if the windows is active,it's the volume I control.
Not a big deal but I thought I should mention it.
Raas is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:01   #118
Bob the Tomato
Senior Member
 
Bob the Tomato's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 258
Send a message via ICQ to Bob the Tomato
Ok, how do I enqueue items in the playlist from the jump to file window? Can I even do that?
Bob the Tomato is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:06   #119
wakingrufus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 41
wow i love winamp 5. the only thing i think itunes has over it is hte "play count" feature. see what you guys can do about that. i just kinda think its really fun. also the smart playlist feature theyve got is pretty good. other than that you guys are better. if you can top those two features you will own them
wakingrufus is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:10   #120
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by nant
Hey, DJ Egg, what about my question?
Good point nant. I honestly don't have an answer, which is why I didn't post anything.

Main observation with regards to scaling is:

In WA3, scaling options are: 50, 75, 100, 125, 150, 200, 400%

In WA5, scaling options are: 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 250, 300, 350%

But, afaik, there's never been an 80%. Whether there can be or not is for someone more in the know to answer.
DJ Egg is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump