Old 18th October 2003, 06:33   #241
SadEye
Junior Member
 
SadEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Shangri-La
Posts: 45
STILL loveing WA2.81!

Don't part with your illusions,
When they are gone you may still exist,
But you have ceased to live.
SadEye is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 06:42   #242
Paparazzi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally posted by DELTA75329
2 - The opacity freaking ROCKS, but I was wondering... is there any way to make the transparent windows solid when they have focus, then go back to the previous opacity setting when they do not have focus?
This was the same thing I had asked for a couple of pages ahead! I mean, its pointless staying transparent even when in focus! If the idea was to get a full view of the background alone, might as well have WA minimised. Transparency should let one see things when out of focus.... well... atleast thats what I think!

Cheerios
Paparazzi is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 07:57   #243
EfaustuS9
Major Dude
 
EfaustuS9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 1,895
Send a message via ICQ to EfaustuS9 Send a message via AIM to EfaustuS9 Send a message via Yahoo to EfaustuS9
not bad, not bad at all, still a bit buggy though. Taking into account its a beta I cant find fault. It is a vast improvement over Winamp3 yet is still not stable enough to cause me to swich from 2.91. Ultimatly this new offering shows CONCIDERABLE promise.

Question: during installation it suggests using the old skin type if using an slow computer, "what constitutes a slow computer?"

Im running:504Mhz PIII, 128 PC100 SDRAM, 32MB TNT2 Ultra, Win98.

EfaustuS9 is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 09:34   #244
kingo'mountain
in need of banned aid
 
kingo'mountain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: over the rainb... uh... nevermind
Posts: 2,714
Quote:
Originally posted by EfaustuS9
Im running:504Mhz PIII, 128 PC100 SDRAM, 32MB TNT2 Ultra, Win98.
get XP and an extra 64MB ram stick, should solve most of yer problems

[edit] most, not all, so dont catch me on that [/edit]
kingo'mountain is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 11:10   #245
lwells
Member
 
lwells's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sydney.Au
Posts: 62
Just wanted to add my thanks to the list. What a nice suprise. I am loving Winamp 5. New modern skin is a joy, integrated vis's is so sweet, I just love it.

I also see that in_mp3 now reads some 2.x tag elements. While I asked this in wishlist, I may as well ask it here: is in_mp3 able to access all 2.4 tag elements, or just the ones listed? If all, is there some documentation on how to access the various attributes, and if no, are there any plans to expand in_mp3's 2.x tag reading abilities (pretty please )?

Anyway.. thanks, this just rocks

LW.
lwells is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 11:38   #246
J_Bloggs
Major Dude
 
J_Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,778
EfaustuS9: I have it running on 500Mhz, 56MB SDRAM, win98, intergrated graphics & sound quite fine with the modern skin. (15% to 20% processor used over all of the system, with a song playing - playlist open and main in winsade mode). However, this is without running much else, only zonealarm and Folding@home (which I paused for the check).

¯¯¯¯Joe Bloggs____
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
J_Bloggs is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 12:36   #247
DELTA75329
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NoVA - Sterling.VA
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to DELTA75329
Quote:
Originally posted by Russ
Some would argue that it doesn't bloody matter any more .
umm... yes. Good point.
DELTA75329 is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 13:00   #248
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
@Hawk
Can't reproduce.
With Alpha Blending "on", cpu usage rockets when light mode is on "pulse" (~60%), goes down a bit if I switch to "level" (~30%) and down to single figures if off. The vis area in the middle doesn't use much cpu at all for me (<10%) and goes down to 2% when off (all windows visible/maximized).
Oh well, maybe it's something the Invicta skin author needs to look at?

@SadEye
2.81 is full of bugs which have been fixed since. IMHO, you should upgrade to 2.91 / 2.92beta / 2.95 (leaked+unofficial, but highly recommended) / WA5 (when final)
During installation, if you uncheck:
support for: video / media library / cd ripping+burning (wa5) / modern skin support (wa5) / and any other unrequired features (eg. support for other audio formats etc), then the end product will look exactly the same as 2.81 - but with loads of bugfixes.
Of course, at the end of the day, it's entirely up to you.
Though, if you're running on some old p1/p2 under win9x, then maybe you should stick to 2.81 after all, lol.

@EfaustuS9
Should be ok, but you'll struggle to run some 3rd-party freeform skins, mainly due to Win98 limitations (but default "modern" skin should run ok under those specs). Of course, more RAM always helps, eg. another stick of 128mb SDRAM (you can usually find some going very cheap on ebay).

@Chev
awww... shucks!
Cheers
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 13:38   #249
QuietBritishJim
Member
 
QuietBritishJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: London
Posts: 65
Send a message via Yahoo to QuietBritishJim
This truely is the dog's b*****ks! Well done nullsoft!

About resources: in classic mode, wa5 seems to take up more memory than 2.9x but seeks a bit faster and uses less CPU. Since I've got 1.5GB of memory this is a fine comprimise for me
QuietBritishJim is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 13:44   #250
SpaceLion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to SpaceLion
Slow, Slow, Slow.

Just removed the beta from my system. I've got a 500 Mhz PC with 256 MB RAM, WinXP runs fine, but Winamp 5 takes up to 70% CPU-Usage with Modern Skin. That way, Winamp 5 is even worse than Winamp3. I hope you guys fix that until it's final, 'cause I really like the new look.

By the way, I reckon nobody will pay for mp3-encoding as long as you can have that for free! Just look at Apple's iTunes or Musicmatch Jukebox. I'd rather spend money on mp3pro-encoding.
SpaceLion is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 14:23   #251
Germ
rules all things
 
Germ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,149
Then you go spend your money on mp3pro-encoding.
Germ is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 14:46   #252
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
@Space Lion
Take a look at all other posts. You are the only person experiencing this problem.
You give-up too easily.
Try disabling "alpha blending" and increasing "timers resolution" slider
(prefs -> modern skins)

btw, you weren't running avs at the time, were you?

@Germ
lol
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 15:01   #253
kiilu
Major Dude
 
kiilu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Houghton
Posts: 667
i really wanna hug those people who made it possible... look even the sonique kids are liking it(some)
http://forum.sonique.com/showthread....&threadid=6760
kiilu is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 15:13   #254
SpaceLion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to SpaceLion
@DJ EGG
Alpha blinding and avs were disabled. It wasn't only the cpu-usage. It also takes some time (too long) until the windows are completely visible (e.g.: the dialogue to load a file.)
SpaceLion is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 15:33   #255
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
weird
Sorry to hear that my friend.
Hopefully you won't experience this problem with the final release . . .

btw, did you try some classic skins? Any similar problems with these?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 16:24   #256
SpaceLion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to SpaceLion
I reinstalled Winamp 5 to take a closer look. Winamp 2.91 has around 10% CPU-usage on my machine to play a lame-encoded mp3. With classic-skin Winamp 5 still uses 15 to 20%.

But what's really weird is that when I open and close windows like "Open Files" or "Preferences" their contents is visible quite some time in the borders of the Winamp 5 main window. That's what makes the whole thing appear so slow.
SpaceLion is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 16:52   #257
ZaInT
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 16
When I choose any other skin than Winamp Classic I get "The skin you are trying to load doesn't seem to be supported".

I have the "Modern skin"-thingy component installed.
ZaInT is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 16:57   #258
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
Quote:
Originally posted by kiilu
i really wanna hug those people who made it possible... look even the sonique kids are liking it(some)
http://forum.sonique.com/showthread....&threadid=6760
im more interested in the worring going on over there, this beta has them spooked!
mark is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 17:47   #259
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
from the sonique forums:
Quote:
Winamp has always had a bigger team, more resources at their disposal and a HUGE fan base....Wa5 will be a good player because of those things. Soniqque @ will be a good player because of different reasons...
huge fan base compliments of a kick ass player
dlinkwit27 is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 17:57   #260
Guest_Winamp5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Hi,

Winamp5 is cool and on the developer from Winamp: "I miss the "Crossfader" option from Winamp3! Can you implement this option in Winamp5, please!!?

cya
Guest from Germany

(I hope you can understand me! )
Guest_Winamp5 is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 18:09   #261
EfaustuS9
Major Dude
 
EfaustuS9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 1,895
Send a message via ICQ to EfaustuS9 Send a message via AIM to EfaustuS9 Send a message via Yahoo to EfaustuS9
your analysis is accurate egg for my computer does bog down a bit when running the free-form skins yet winamp 5 is just as proficient as Winamp 2.x when running the classic skins.

New Question's: So is there a way for me to migrate my video plugings to Winamp5 with out, having to redownload and install them. Also where oh where could I get my hands on Winamp 2.95 .


Last edited by EfaustuS9; 18th October 2003 at 18:29.
EfaustuS9 is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 18:11   #262
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by EfaustuS9
so where oh where could I get my hands on Winamp 2.95.
Winampheaven

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 18:45   #263
acentermedia
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Problems with WMA Plug-in!!!!

If I play wma audio files with orginal WMA plug-in, winamp change my windows sound volume.

But If I replace this plug-in with old (version 1.0), it works fine.
Change only internal sound volume and don't change windows sound volome.
acentermedia is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 18:47   #264
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by EfaustuS9
So is there a way for me to migrate my video plugins to Winamp5 with out, having to redownload and install them.
Umm, Winamp 5 is the direct upgrade from Winamp 2.x, built on the same engine (unlike Winamp3), so therefore all 2.x plugins are supported. If you've still got them, just place the relevant DLL files in the Winamp\Plugins dir.

Note: I've never uninstalled Winamp, I just install the new version straight over the old one (1.x to 2.x to 5.x) and all plugins, settings, etc are maintained
(note: Winamp3 is a separate app, so it needed to be installed in a separate dir).
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 18:53   #265
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by acentermedia
Problems with WMA Plug-in!!!!

If I play wma audio files with orginal WMA plug-in, winamp change my windows sound volume.

But If I replace this plug-in with old (version 1.0), it works fine.
Change only internal sound volume and don't change windows sound volome.
Yes. It's been like that ever since Winamp 2.61 (see "About box -> version history" for details).
That's why we always recommend the older version on these forums.
Though, if you want WMA in Winamp 5 to be handled in the same way as it was in Winamp3, then remove in_wm.dll and add WMA to the extension list in DirectShow Decoder config.

[edit] oh shite, just noticed that they've removed all pre 2.9x version history from the "About Winamp" box, doh! Oh well . . . see here instead. [/edit]

[edit2] damn, that's not the same whatsnew.txt that comes with all 2.x versions.
Could someone who's still got 2.x installed please attach their whatsnew.txt
(I didn't backup mine)
In the 2.x version, for the 2.61 entry, it definitely says something about not being able to use alt output & dsp plugins with WMA due to licensing restrictions . . . yes . . . doesn't it?
Please someone tell me I'm not going insane . . . waahhhhhhhhh! [/edit2]
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 19:01   #266
acentermedia
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
I add ;WMA to DirectShow decoder and it works now!

Thanks!!!!!!
acentermedia is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 19:05   #267
liquidmotion
Smokes Two Joints
Beta Team
 
liquidmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SFBA
Posts: 3,680
Send a message via ICQ to liquidmotion
Quote:
Originally posted by Germ
Then you go spend your money on mp3pro-encoding.
i totally agree. lame.

For a good time: shup | stashbox | my homepage
liquidmotion is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 19:05   #268
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by acentermedia
I add ;WMA to DirectShow decoder and it works now!
cool
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 20:06   #269
dan1el
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 95
My wishes for final:

Mass ID3-tagging.. so i can edit many ID3-tags at a time. The registered version of MusicMatch Jukebox has this AND MUSIC MATCH SUX. Yeah. *flippin' a coin*
dan1el is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 20:09   #270
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,581
Quote:
Originally posted by Guest_Winamp5
"I miss the "Crossfader" option from Winamp3! Can you implement this option in Winamp5, please!!?
Winamp5 (along with 2.x) already have a crossfader option in them

In Winamp:
Ctrl+P > Output > DirectSound output v2.x.x [OUT_DS.DLL] > Fading

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 20:59   #271
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by dan1el
My wishes for final:

Mass ID3-tagging.. so i can edit many ID3-tags at a time.
Library -> (local media view) -> select entries -> right click -> edit item(s) information (checkmark "update file tags").
Naturally works best if at least one of the artist/album fields are the same.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 18th October 2003, 21:48   #272
dougieha
Senior Member
 
dougieha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 236
Hmmm...A question for you, DJ Egg...is there anyway to sort in the media library by date added? I'd like to be able to do this because sometimes I forget I've added new files, and sorting this way would enable me to keep them at the top.


Dougieha

My skins: Sony MPFX3-WA5 (Just for WA 5.x!!) and Sony MPFX3.
dougieha is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 00:51   #273
Gege2B
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: somewhere in the world :)
Posts: 9
Niiiiiiiice !
Really ! great job guys !

but .... Where's the minibrowser ??
Gege2B is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 01:20   #274
SSF2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
Hi,

Congratulations to the Winamp Dev team on a great release. I have been running this for many hours without problems and all I can say is wow

Looking forward to the Final rls and good luck with it. Winamp has and always will be my MP3 player of choice.
SSF2 is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 02:17   #275
EfaustuS9
Major Dude
 
EfaustuS9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 1,895
Send a message via ICQ to EfaustuS9 Send a message via AIM to EfaustuS9 Send a message via Yahoo to EfaustuS9
thanks egg, I dont tend to install over a previous version as a precaution (in the event that I dont like the newer vers). I have fiddled with winamp 5 a bit and its size and function almost seems as though its a dual boot winamp2.x/3.x. for in the classic skin mode thinger doesn't exist and the software is fast and stable, yet in modern skin mode it behaves as though I was running winamp3 (which I will leave @ that). which causes me to ask, did nullsoft just integrate the two independent winamps instead of optimizing the tested and true 2.x to include 3.x's features. The name in its self suggests this and I am inclined to believe it. Never the less I do like this latest offering , and I am defiantly switching to either 2.95 or 5 yet more fiddling will decide this.

EfaustuS9 is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 04:41   #276
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by Gege2B
Niiiiiiiice !
Really ! great job guys !

but .... Where's the minibrowser ??
It's now in the Media Library under 'Now Playing'.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 04:42   #277
PearlJamRicky
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to PearlJamRicky
nice to see the good old winamp 2 styling...i hate winamp3
PearlJamRicky is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 05:56   #278
GURT
Junior Member
 
GURT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 22
winamp 5 beta is great.
it'd be cool if there was a screen capture [snapshot] function for videos/vis/iTV

BUG::
using the middle mouse wheel scroller adjusts the vol. in the Now Playing part of the media library while trying to scroll.

Last edited by GURT; 19th October 2003 at 06:52.
GURT is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 06:55   #279
GURT
Junior Member
 
GURT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 22
BUG::
Media Library.
Local Media.
play a song
bottom window.. clicking on TUID link opens in IE and not Default Web Browser
GURT is offline  
Old 19th October 2003, 07:37   #280
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
WA2 Bug Reports forum
Sticky: Put ALL Winamp 5.0 Bugs in Here!
Sticky: Known Winamp 5.0 Beta Bugs

Bug 1 is known.
Bug 2: ummmm, don't understand what you mean. Bottom window? TUID link?
What? Where?
DJ Egg is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump