Old 29th November 2010, 23:34   #1
port66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
spamety spam!

Spam Removed,
port66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 06:59   #2
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
Please do not spam the forums and keep it in your sig.
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 08:21   #3
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
damb I miss you and your spam hammer Nick@ss.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 08:24   #4
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
Always lurking and waiting!!

Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 08:37   #5
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Like a spam ninja...

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 08:46   #6
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
pfft - it was reported - not so much lurking or waiting

Is it just me or are shoutcast users getting dumber?
jaromanda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 08:58   #7
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
jaromanda you really are a constant party pooper these days

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 09:23   #8
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jkey View Post
jaromanda you really are a constant party pooper these days
see my signature

vvvvvvvvvvv

Is it just me or are shoutcast users getting dumber?
jaromanda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 09:39   #9
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaromanda View Post
pfft - it was reported - not so much lurking or waiting
Lurking and waiting for jarro to report stuff
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 09:46   #10
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
I'm a snitch

Is it just me or are shoutcast users getting dumber?
jaromanda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 13:37   #11
port66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
its not spam, £120 for a 100mbs dedicated box to run your shoutcast on with unlimited bandwidth, is far greater then $600 for 400 client connections at 96bit stream with 40gb bandwidth you will get from most shoutcast hosters

theres many game server hosters, and many that sell dedicated boxes, just have to ask them if you can run other apps, and not 12 busy game servers, like UT3, just run a single shoutcast instead

if you wanting to build up a 24/7 station, then a game server hoster is the only place you should be getting a dedicated box from, they will charge for the bandwidth and some running cost, without making corporate profit, they make profit through more sells
port66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 14:57   #12
bored_womble
Winamp's Womble
 
bored_womble's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wimbledon Common
Posts: 1,100
i like jam with spam,
i like ham with spam,
spam and cheese makes me very pleased,
but just spam, makes me go damn.

BW

ps. read the posting rules, no bandwidth selling, begging or advertising.

Without open minds the world will die. Open yours and correct the mistakes you are making right now.
bored_womble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 16:09   #13
port66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
im not selling, im nothing todo with inx or anyone else, just prooved a point.. so if nullsoft does whats i say shoutcast v2.0 should be like :

1>run sc_serv on a dedicated box, with inbuilt virtual dsp player for when no live source stream is connect, playing a playlist using contentDir mp3

2>make a all in 1 sc_serv.. then you can run multiple sc_serv servers on a dedicated box, with the 1 main server the live source conencts to, which pushes the stream off to other shoutcast sc_serv running on your dedicated box which act as a relay, with the transcoder built it, so you can run the same live stream, in different bitrates, on the same dedicated box for listeners to listen too

3>assign dsp plugin passwords to show schdule slots, so remote DJs can connect and do their show

everything would be all good and 90% automated, while being able to embed stats and schdule xml into your site
port66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 19:05   #14
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Quote:
just prooved a point.. so if nullsoft does whats i say shoutcast v2.0 should be like :
I see, so you spammed to make nullsoft listen to you.

I like you.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 21:10   #15
port66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
damn right, alot of beer and script kiddie hours cutting up and organizing already existing classes and code from sc_trans and putting them in sc_serv, then alot more recoding and bug testing. all would be worth it

and if you run a proper station using shoutcast, you can charge someone £200 to put a advert on your site or a jingle inbetween shows, which would pay for your dedicated server, so a pro version of shoutcast isnt hell on earth
port66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 22:12   #16
bored_womble
Winamp's Womble
 
bored_womble's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wimbledon Common
Posts: 1,100
ok let's break this down in something that resembles reality.

There are/were 2 teams doing 2 products. One is sc_serv2 and one is sc_trans2

Sc_serv2 supports mp3, aac and NSV ( the later needing another tool to work correctly ). This is fundamentally a unicast exploder, one source in and allowing multiple connections to receive the stream. It is *fairly* basic as a concept but has a few nice tweaks. It is compact, simple to use and needs very little CPU to work correctly.

Sc_trans2 supports mp3 and aac transcoding. This has licensing issues for mp3 along with some significant features for playlisting, multiple dj connections and support for sc_serv1 and 2.

Now, considering sc_trans2 has some licensing issues, ie. to use it you need pay $5 for a mp3 key ( which I am sure you blissfully ignored) and you need more than a moderate understanding of ips, port, xml and scheduling concepts, perhaps keeing them separate is not a bad idea.

Of course if you can not get sc_trans2 working with a web host account (and I have seen people try and fail) that just means you are cheap and need to go to a better hosting facility.

BW

Without open minds the world will die. Open yours and correct the mistakes you are making right now.
bored_womble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 22:27   #17
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by port66 View Post
script kiddie hours
fail

Is it just me or are shoutcast users getting dumber?
jaromanda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2010, 23:31   #18
port66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
the transcoder is probaly just a class, so it becomes a child class to the main stream class, and a bit of recoding so the input stream source can be stream->transcode( &stream ) or whatever
port66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 02:00   #19
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by port66 View Post
the transcoder is probaly just a class
ahhh, I see ... you have absolutely no idea, you are wildly speculating

Is it just me or are shoutcast users getting dumber?
jaromanda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 05:02   #20
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
This thread reminds me of a group of fish in a lake,they are happily swimming around when what appears to be an insect in trouble (which they decide to help) turns out to be bait,then before they know it,they are getting reeled in by a drunk fisherman.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 06:40   #21
port66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
most of the code already exists in sc_serv, you just need a child class with the main transcoder code, that calls lame, hence just intercepting the input stream, before it actually get processed
port66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 07:19   #22
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by port66 View Post
most of the code already exists in sc_serv, you just need a child class with the main transcoder code, that calls lame, hence just intercepting the input stream, before it actually get processed
you're still ASSuming OO programming ...

Is it just me or are shoutcast users getting dumber?
jaromanda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 09:56   #23
bored_womble
Winamp's Womble
 
bored_womble's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wimbledon Common
Posts: 1,100
I bought this circle, I knew it was a circle when I bought it.
I get up every day and start walking at the beginning.
I am surprised when I get to the end, it is really the beginning, and I have gone nowhere.

BW

Without open minds the world will die. Open yours and correct the mistakes you are making right now.
bored_womble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 11:07   #24
port66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
theres no need to assume, if sc_serv already knows what format the incoming stream is

1>incoming stream and checks the format
2>if transcoder=1->transcode( &stream )
3> pushtoServer( $stream )/clients

everything else is already in sc_serv to relay etc etc, you would probaly just hae a recode a few parts of the main transcoder class to use functions already in sc_serv
port66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 11:52   #25
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
this is going nowhere. how things are is how things will be . and you make it sound like it's so simple to bascially merge sc_trans into sc_serv when it isn't (have you got the code...?) and what's the point in it when sc_serv is just to serve the sources it accepts be it from sc_trans, Winamp + DSP, or any other valid source (assuming there was a nice library to be plugged into other players / programs). the server shouldn't be messing around with things, it should just serve and just do that imho.

this 'pro' stuff would cause more issues than it's worth and really would annoy the community i think (hence the comments / complaints about the $5 fee for the mp3 encoding support in sc_trans).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 12:18   #26
port66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
i know its not going anywhere, but the point is, 99% of community problems and questions are todo with playlists and live sources. adding a virtual dsp player plugin solves 8 years of those topics all over the world

the transcoder should only be a transcoder, and not be used to setup schdules,

schdules should be setup in the main server th elive source connects to.

then whats left with sc_trans, is kind of a worthless app, just being used as a transcoder, with the stream having another hop, its catch 22, running sc_serv with a higher cpu priority is better then netlag

with the transcoder built it, you can force bitrates on servers..

put a few extra hours in and make shoutcast easier to use, and $35 or something is nothing to pay for schdules and a transcoder

nullsoft could make a all 1 in sc_serv app and get nothing back if they want to, who gonna moan, while stations are earning some money with a more conveinient server setup

having a virtual dsp player that plays the contentdir playlist, that automatically stops when a live source connects, and starts backup automatically, when the live source is disconnected for set amount of seconds, in a free version would solve most of the communities problems, and then would just carry on using shoutcast like they have done for years without worries

then if theres a pro version, attempt crossfade for the built in dsp player option
port66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 12:39   #27
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
@bw

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 13:19   #28
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by bored_womble View Post
I bought this circle, I knew it was a circle when I bought it.
I get up every day and start walking at the beginning.
I am surprised when I get to the end, it is really the beginning, and I have gone nowhere.

BW
Welcome to my world!!
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 13:33   #29
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Welcome to my universe.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-11837869

/edit:
Ass,deep,snow = boredom.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 14:45   #30
port66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
if the transcoder is built in, you can just use the sc_serv like a normal transcoding relay, your not forced to have a raw setup, as well as the main host output server,

the choice would be yours

or just burn the cpu because your ghetto and not a pro and run them both, with the single instance of sc_serv, and force remote DJ bitrates
port66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 15:05   #31
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
The only problem with that is that "pro's" tend to have more than one machine,one or more for encoding and scheduling and one or more dedicated to serving listeners.
People who are "ghetto" use one machine because they cant afford to be pro.

I know, I used to be "ghetto",now I am just old bald and done with this thread.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2010, 16:52   #32
port66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
most 24/7 stations with fancy sites use icecast, there are more plugins on sourceforge to automate the stream, people who run "dance" station tend to go clubing every other night

a dedicated box for game servers, can run upto 12 busy servers at once with the cpu on realtime priority and your website running at the same time

so having 1 main sc_serv the live source conencts to, which pushes the stream out to 3 transcoding sc_serv which then lets clients connect and listen at different bit rates, with the main sc_serv schdule embeded into your site

is what a station with shoutcast 2 could be like if you have a dedicated box
port66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > SHOUTcast > SHOUTcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump