Old 22nd November 2007, 17:25   #1
seamus_quigley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Error

Whenever I try to run winamp 5.5 it crashes. Sometimes immediately, sometimes after half a song, sometimes even after a couple songs. Though lately it's progressed to crashing immediately most of the time

I have no idea what's going wrong. My computer should be able to handle the program without too much trouble. The only plugins I can think of that I have installed are:
Foxytunes
Audioscrobbler
Winamp Remote
and one that I can't remember the name of but it allows msn messenger to display "what I'm listening to"

I've tried the in_mp3 update patch, but that made no difference.

The error message I get when it crashes reads as follows:

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library

Runtime Error!

Program: C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe

R6025
- Pure virtual function call

Any help greatly appreciated
seamus_quigley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2007, 10:20   #2
fletch44
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
I don't know how to help with this one, but I wanted to add that I get this error too, but only when I attempt to scan my music folders from the Winamp library.

It happens whether I'm building the library for the first time, or rescanning watch folders in the background.
fletch44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2007, 10:45   #3
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Try this...

in_mp3 patch for Winamp 5.5 | Mirror
This update fixes/addresses the following issues:
-Crashing/lockups on some mp3's with corrupt id3v2 tags (info)
-ID3v2 tag not showing when ID3v1 tag reading is disabled in config
-Reading of metadata where more than one ID3v2 tag exists
-Deleting Lyrics3 tag in Alt+3 Editor also deletes ID3v1 tag
-Handling of ID3v2 with bad version/revision #'s
-MPEG Info not showing in Alt+3 for files with large ID3v2 tags
-Support for reading ALBUM ARTIST field if TPE2 not present
-Other misc. issues, mainly embedded album art related...
-Plus: Better optimization for older Pentium Pro/2/3 cpu's.

Note, if the Format Converter (Transcoder) no longer works after applying the above patch,
then you can use the slightly older first update patch instead [download],
which only includes some fixes for crashes with corrupt id3v2 tags,
but has none of the other fixes from the newer patch above.

__________________________________________

* Above quoted from HERE.

btw... Winamp 5.51 (when released - but don't ask when) will no longer need the in_mp3 update patch.

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2007, 17:12   #4
seamus_quigley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
It appears to be working so far. Thanks
seamus_quigley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2007, 22:53   #5
fletch44
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Same for me. No errors since installing the patch.
fletch44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2007, 23:01   #6
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
OK. Very good, guys.
Happy Winamping!
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2007, 22:24   #7
Lyrael
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
I'm having the exact same problems, but it happens within 2 seconds of opening Winamp, every single time. I've done a clean install about 3 times now, have no other plugins running, have downloaded and installed the above patch, all to no avail. I just now tried reverting to an old version and still no joy.

Also, sorry for reviving a dead thread.
Lyrael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2007, 01:59   #8
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Lyrael...

Do you see where I stated a few posts above that when Winamp 5.51 is released you will no longer need the in_mp3 update patch?

Well, it's here now ...

Winamp 5.51 Beta Preview (Build 1741)

And as of now, many bugs that exist in 5.5 have been addressed/fixed in the publicly available 5.51 beta release. I've installed it straight over my 5.5 build and it's working great!

Give it a whirl!
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2007, 02:17   #9
Lyrael
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
tried that, with a clean install, too

sorry, I suppose I should have made that clear in my first post :P

so far I've tried: 5.5, 5.51 and my old 5.35

I had the 5.5 working on this computer fine for a good few weeks, it suddenly decided to stop working today for no apparent reason. The only thing I did to the computer was uninstall and reinstall some bad graphics drivers that were causing BSODs when trying to run graphic-intensive games. I honestly don't see how that should affect Winamp. :\
Lyrael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2007, 02:20   #10
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
OK. I know you said it was a clean install, but was it a truly clean install of 5.51 following these directions to the letter?

And if it was a clean install, with absolutely no 3rd-party authored plugins, and the problem persists, then please attach a List Of Plugins (using DrO's One for Nunz plugin as outlined there) to your very next reply here. That way, DJ Egg or another Winamp guru can confirm that your problem isn't being caused by either some 3rd-party plugin or by some old Winamp component, perhaps left in the mix.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2007, 02:28   #11
Lyrael
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
absolutely clean, absolutely no 3rd party plugins.

EDIT: oh, I forgot to mention, running 5.51 I get an 'error: unable to run reporter' before the usual RT error I get on the other versions, not sure if that's helpful at all but thought I should mention it.
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list_ext.txt (2.4 KB, 636 views)
Lyrael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2007, 17:58   #12
kareshi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4
I have the exact same problem as Lyrael. I tried to rollback to older version (uninstalling old winamp, rebooted, C:\Program Files\Winamp was gone, reinstall old winamp), but now winamp will give runtime error on some memory thing...
kareshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2007, 17:59   #13
kareshi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4
just to add that.. i tried to rollback to older version because i hv the exact same problems as Lyrael with winamp 5.5. I tried the 5.51 beta also and things are the same. winamp works ok on its first load right after install. however if i close and relaunch it again, error will pop up again
kareshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2007, 18:01   #14
kareshi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4
i hv a samsung mp3 player and their software is installed.. not sure if they're in conflict..? but this error just happens to me lately...
kareshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2007, 19:47   #15
fille1000
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
I have the same problem. I Installed 5.51 and it worked perfecly for 2 days, but suddenly now, it doesnt..
fille1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2007, 20:21   #16
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,874
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=161361#specs
List Of Plugins & HijackThis logs are both required!

Also tell us the exact make & model of any attached portable player.

If the problem persists with 5.51 beta...

Then this problem can occur if you've got a portable mp3 player attached, and there's more than one application running that manages it.

Does the crash still occur after disabling Winamp's PMP Support?

With Winamp closed, move the following/relevant file(s) out of the Winamp\Plugins folder to some backup folder elsewhere:

ml_pmp.dll <- The actual pmp_*.dll loader (disabling this will disable support for managing all portables)

These will only load if ml_pmp.dll is present:
pmp_p4s.dll <- Plays4Sure Device support (I think Samsung players are P4S)
pmp_activesync.dll (ActiveSync / WindowsMobile / smartphone support)
pmp_ipod.dll (iPod support)
pmp_njb.dll (Creative Nomad/Zen support, for non P4S models/firmware)
pmp_usb.dll (generic usb drive/player support)

If the problem persists after disabling PMP Support, then it must be some other plugin to blame... usual likely suspects are ml_plg.dll (Playlist Generator) or in_wm.dll (Windows Media Audio/Video Support).
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2007, 04:50   #17
kareshi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4
now i realize that i had my mp3 player connected to pc when it crashed. i had it disconnected and reopened winamp many times, it didn't crash. my mp3 player is Samsung P2.

I didn't move any PMP plugins away but i think this might be something winamp team can look into.. for those having the same problem, please see if your mp3 player is connected.
kareshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2007, 01:56   #18
chgoguy7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois (USA)
Posts: 15
I'm a latecomer to this discussion but I am experiencing the same difficulties with Winamp crashing with "Error: Unable to run reporting". (If I knew where the "reporter" stores the dump file, I would be able to examine it and/or send it in). This has happened intermittently since upgrading to Winamp 5.5 and I have been unable to determine any commonalities to the crashes. However, this thread has inspired me to do some testing.

I am running Winamp 5.51 Beta Preview (Build 1741) and it is a clean install. The one and only third-party plug-in I have installed is ml_ipod, which of course disables ml_pmp.dll. I have no other third-party plug-ins installed.

In my testing, I have been able to consistently exit Winamp with no crashes when my iPod is not connected. However, Winamp consistently crashes when my iPod is connected. This situation is a bit different than kareshi's since I am using the ml_ipod plug-in. This would seem to implicate the ml_ipod plug-in as the source of the crashes. Any additional thoughts?

I'd be happy to perform any additional testing.
chgoguy7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2007, 03:26   #19
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,874
ml_ipod doesn't disable ml_pmp

ml_pmp is the Nullsoft Portable Media Player plugin loader

ie. ml_pmp loads the pmp_*.dll plugins (pmp_ipod, pmp_p4s, pmp_usb, etc)

ml_ipod will conflict with pmp_ipod, if both exist.

The Error Reporter only comes with the beta versions of Winamp.
The dump files will be in wherever is specified in Winamp -> Prefs > Error Feedback.
The default path is the C:\ root folder,
which should probably be changed to something like My Documents, especially if you're using Windows Vista (alas, you didn't provide any system specs whatsoever, which makes it even harder for us to help you).

All that said and done, we don't support 3rd-party plugins here, but more than likely the crash is occurring due to a conflict with pmp_ipod and ml_ipod both trying to read the ipod at the same time....?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 06:42   #20
chgoguy7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois (USA)
Posts: 15
Sorry...the specs:
-PC or Motherboard make/model: Dell Dimension 8300 Pentium 4
-CPU & RAM: dual-processor 3GB, 1GB RAM
-Windows OS: WinXP SP2
-DirectX version: 9.0c
Winamp 5.51 Beta Preview (Build 1741) Pro
List of Plugins: ml_ipod only
No video problems

My bad, the ml_ipod plug-in disables (deletes) only the pmp_ipod.dll file at installation. In fact, it requires it to avoid such conflicts. (See attached screenshot.)

And I do understand that you do not support third-party plug-ins here. I'll submit the crash dump (now that I know where it is) to the ml_ipod authors.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ml_ipod.jpg (62.2 KB, 529 views)
chgoguy7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2007, 19:38   #21
Burkazoid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
I too am having this problem consistently and its really annoying me

Any time I scan my media library, Winamp will crash with a C++ error at some point during the scan. This roughly started happening around the time I started to use my 300gb USB Maxtor External HDD. Unfortunately my entire music library is on that drive now so I can't really do without it. I've tried the in_mp3 update patch, the latest beta, and removing the ml_pmp.dll file, none of which solve the problem. Oh and I do a full clean uninstall each time, as per the instructions in the other thread.

My stats:
- Toshiba Satellite laptop A100-920
- Intel Core2 CPU (T5500 @ 1.66GHz), 1gb RAM
- Realtek High Definition Audio
- ATI Mobility Radeon X1400
- Windows XP SP2
- DirectX 9.0c
- Winamp 5.5

My HijackThis, list of plugins, and crash log from when the beta crashed doing the same thing, are all attached. I've used Winamp for years and wouldn't dream of using another player, so its been pretty agonising these last few days!
Attached Files
File Type: zip logfiles.zip (65.7 KB, 544 views)
Burkazoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2008, 01:53   #22
thatwaynerkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
I am having the same problem. Like above, the only plug in I'm using is ml_ipod. I have installed and reinstalled 5.52 several times, everytime re-encountering this problem. I am now trying the in_mp3 fix (although apparently it's not required after 5.51), and I hope this will fix the annoying R6025 runtime error problem.
thatwaynerkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2008, 09:29   #23
Burkazoid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
I've resorted back to 5.32 for now as it doesn't cause this problem. I'm not sure if it'll ever get fixed :/
Burkazoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2008, 20:50   #24
garfield87
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manipal, India
Posts: 18
Thanks a ton....

Came back to winamp forums after a long time... I was sure that i will get a perfect reply and so i did.... Thanks a lot guys... You're great!!
garfield87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump