Old 9th June 2014, 09:13   #1
arisutan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10
Adding album; album shows up as empty


https://www.dropbox.com/s/12qc6xaauz...2010.07.32.png

as you can see, when the album is selected, it's empty, but the files are not broken. if i open them with winamp via windows explorer, they're fine. i've been listening to the album as normal. i've noticed that lastfm is failing to scrobble this album, however. it has no problem scrobbling other tracks! how do i fix this?
arisutan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2014, 20:41   #2
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,207
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
in your tracks pane, add the columns "file path" and "filename"

anything show up in them?

do you have metadata guessing "on"?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2014, 22:56   #3
arisutan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
in your tracks pane, add the columns "file path" and "filename"

anything show up in them?

do you have metadata guessing "on"?
those columns show up empty too https://www.dropbox.com/s/d4p14oang3...2023.53.37.png
where would that setting show up?
arisutan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2014, 23:01   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
please post a screenshot of one of the files from that album when looked at in the alt+3 view as nothing is going to show up in the bottom tracks pane for that album if what i suspect is missing from the file tags is the case (which the alt+3 screenshot of one of the files from that album will hopefully show). so you'd need to add one of the files to the main playlist editor to be able to do that.

also you need to ensure that you're using v5.666 build 3516 (http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....74929#download) and plug-in patches (http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....373755#updates) as currently you've not provided any of the required system information from http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins which could mean you're seeing a bug which has been fixed). since as noted below me, the screenshots indicate you're using an unsupported version of Winamp as there has been no version (which will officially run) with 'Cloud Sources' nodes in the library since August 2013!
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2014, 23:07   #5
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by arisutan View Post
those columns show up empty too https://www.dropbox.com/s/d4p14oang3...2023.53.37.png
where would that setting show up?
I can see Winamp Cloud on your screenshot, are you using 5.7 Beta?

[Edit] too late
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2014, 10:12   #6
arisutan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
please post a screenshot of one of the files from that album when looked at in the alt+3 view as nothing is going to show up in the bottom tracks pane for that album if what i suspect is missing from the file tags is the case (which the alt+3 screenshot of one of the files from that album will hopefully show). so you'd need to add one of the files to the main playlist editor to be able to do that.

also you need to ensure that you're using v5.666 build 3516 (http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....74929#download) and plug-in patches (http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....373755#updates) as currently you've not provided any of the required system information from http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins which could mean you're seeing a bug which has been fixed). since as noted below me, the screenshots indicate you're using an unsupported version of Winamp as there has been no version (which will officially run) with 'Cloud Sources' nodes in the library since August 2013!
hi, i don't know what you mean by "alt 3"! i installed the winamp download from that page and all those plugins and tried to re-add the album, it's still like this
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7dipde1qec...2011.09.55.png
Winamp_Info_Report_06-10-2014.zip
here is a report from that info tool
arisutan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2014, 10:16   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
alt+3 is the file information viewer which shows what is in the file tag. which for the issue you're having, you need to add the files into the main playlist editor and use the alt+3 keyboard shortcut or use the right-click menu to get the same menu action.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2014, 10:16   #8
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,207
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
is it just that one album?

can u upload the first 3 songs from it so I can try to reproduce?

in addition, you should do the other things requested. also, its alt+3, meaning press the alt key and the 3 key at the same time when the highlighted track is playing. (get it playing in winamp from double click in windows explorer, or drag n drop)

*you can also doubleclick the winamp song ticker after the file is playing, since alt+3 via kybd only works on highlighted files.

EDIT: sorry DrO, I didn't see ur post.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 11:44   #9
arisutan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
alt+3 is the file information viewer which shows what is in the file tag. which for the issue you're having, you need to add the files into the main playlist editor and use the alt+3 keyboard shortcut or use the right-click menu to get the same menu action.
hi, i still don't quite see what you mean? there's no response from winamp when i press alt and 3 in playlist menus or on my main audio page..i added them to a playlist like you said, and they show up, however https://www.dropbox.com/s/q2sir3h0go...2012.41.36.png
i'm really sorry for being thick, i just find winamp pretty hard to use, i don't know it that well despite using it for around a year now
arisutan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 11:46   #10
arisutan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
is it just that one album?

can u upload the first 3 songs from it so I can try to reproduce?

in addition, you should do the other things requested. also, its alt+3, meaning press the alt key and the 3 key at the same time when the highlighted track is playing. (get it playing in winamp from double click in windows explorer, or drag n drop)

*you can also doubleclick the winamp song ticker after the file is playing, since alt+3 via kybd only works on highlighted files.

EDIT: sorry DrO, I didn't see ur post.
oh!! so that it brings up file info? this happened when i did it on a selected file
https://www.dropbox.com/s/r96zji0r1k...2012.42.48.png
arisutan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 11:57   #11
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that confirms what i expected. for the bottom to populate with valid tracks, how the library handling is currently done, it needs to have a bit more information in the file than just 'album' and 'disc' as that file only has.

as such, what you're seeing is correct for how things have been coded and the most i can do is log this and see if something can be done to work around the issue. (and yes MrSinatra [as i'm pre-empting your reply ], you've probably reported this before and it should not be like this i.e. it should be able to match things, but that's just how it was originally coded and for most people it's never been an issue and is now on the never ending todo list of issues to fix).

for you, the best suggestion is to sort out the tagging of the files and then re-scan them and that should then allow for it to work as expected (since you really need at least the title and artist fields filled in along with the album aspect).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 12:28   #12
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,535
Isn't this the bug I reported on the betas when selecting albums with no artist tag? (which strangely did showed up if I select more than 1 album)

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 12:30   #13
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
probably, i can't remember who has reported what at times. if it is, then it's one of the ones i ran out of time to even attempt to fix with the last 5.66x release. though am sure MrSinatra or someone else like that has reported it previously.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 12:34   #14
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,535
You did tried (or that's what you told me ), but was tricky to solve so it went on.
Since you don't remember I refresh your memory; you also promised to fix the right gap in the ML along this

PS: my first post had a double intention, I also wanted to highlight the "work around" (selecting at least 2 albums to make the tracks appear)

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 12:47   #15
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,620
Winamp relies on metadata, so some seem to think Winamp should automatically look up and provide the metadata it needs. Even if Winamp did this, the user would still need to check that the metadata is correct (there is no perfect auto-tagger). How is Winamp supposed to handle this so called 'bug'?

@Victhor,
How does selecting 2 albums help? Are the albums by the same artist? I don't understand how Winamp can get the correct artist and title if they are not in the tags, or in the library records, or in the filenames with guessing turned on.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 13:20   #16
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
...How does selecting 2 albums help? Are the albums by the same artist? I don't understand how Winamp can get the correct artist and title if they are not in the tags, or in the library records, or in the filenames with guessing turned on.
Mmmm... I can't replicate the bug right now, I'm at work and this Winamp is not configured like my Winamp at home, when I get there I'll try again and have a more precise answer for you!

PS / EDIT: This is the thread I was talking about, can't say if it's the same issue but it's quite similar..

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 13:22   #17
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
as the view is grouping things by album (and that information is seemingly present in the affected files), then it should be able to provide (poor tagged) items in the tracks list when the album is selected (and it's how the handling of the lack of metadata which leads to this 'bug').

obviously, the less information in the files, the more likely things will not work as expected. though in this case, the library really should be able to provide the actual files in that album even if that's the only thing in the file tag (am not dealing with auto-guessing from the filepath since that's clearly not worked in this case anyway and remote lookup is not an option currently and i'm not sure trying to guess on import would be a good idea either if trying to fill in the blanks - due to speed and causing more possible issues).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 13:49   #18
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
... though in this case, the library really should be able to provide the actual files in that album even if that's the only thing in the file tag ...
So, you're saying (looking at the screenshot in post #1) the tracks pane should have listed x number of lines with just the album column populated. Ok, I can understand that; just show whatever is available in the selected columns, instead of not showing anything if certain metadata is not available.

I guess Victhor is saying that happens if more than 1 album is selected.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 14:01   #19
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
yeah, the album column and a few other ones (bitrate, filesize, filepath, etc) would also be populated.

the thing with Victhor's suggestion is that in the case where there's not all of the required fields is a bit of a fluke as some other files can effectively get things to validate the checks and then allows the 'missing' ones to also show. basically it's a bit of a mess and wasn't a clear cut thing to just fix (not without risking messing up existing expected behaviour).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 14:43   #20
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,535
@Aminifu (and DrO if you want to refresh your memory):

Uuuffss... Was trying to replicate the bug with new files and finally dig it.. (seems like today is a day for doing some exercise in futility )

Necessary items:
2 mp3 files with no artist field present
Audio / smart view with 3 filters showing (artist/album art/tracks -like seen on my screencaps from the original thread-). I think this is the default config of Audio ML..

Now, when selecting No-artist in the first pane (this is the key), at right will appear both album arts. Selecting each album will show nothing, selecting both at the same time will show all songs.

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 18:13   #21
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,207
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
better late than never...

first, I agree that proper tagging is the best solution. obviously these files are poorly tagged.

however, what I suggested before when similar issues arose, was for winamp to use the filename to populate artist, album, or title, should any of the 3 be missing, and guessing either doesn't work or is disabled, to prevent these kinds of issues.

now, I personally would also want a pref to turn that off, but it is probably the right thing to do by default to serve the masses.

Victhor, I have also reported the album art bug u are reporting, as well as the missing metadata issues.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=317144

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=376720

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=334581

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=341938

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=342113

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=362893

etc...

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 19:23   #22
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,535
Like I said.. An exercise in futility.. I hope to see your report next year!

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2014, 11:16   #23
arisutan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10
so..does that mean there is no way to fix it? i'm a bit confused by all your posts aha
arisutan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2014, 11:23   #24
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the simple summary of things is that you really need to fix the tags in the files.

something can be done in Winamp to help improve the experience with badly tagged files (as the ones causing you issue are). however, the best 'fix' is sorting out the tags on the files as it's going to be months before a new Winamp release is available with the potential for it to handle things differently (as this is something that has been possible to happen for years).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2014, 11:25   #25
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,620
Sorry arisutan,

For now you need to add at least the artist, album artist, song title and album name to the files which do not have them listed in each file's info data. Winamp's auto-tagging feature is not working, so you will have to type in the info manually or use another app (like "Mp3Tag") to add the info to each file for you.

EDIT:
DrO beat me to a response again.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2014, 12:31   #26
ChiggyChiggy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 243
Your music files seem to only have details about the album, but they have no info about the artist or song name, just the album name. This is why that lower pane isnt displaying anything, because there is nothing to show.

If this is not the case and your songs actually have the track name and artist name, then upload one of the files with this issue to your dropbox and post a link to it here, then it can be investigated to see if the issue is really from Winamp or from your files.
ChiggyChiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2014, 16:48   #27
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,207
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiggyChiggy View Post
Your music files seem to only have details about the album, but they have no info about the artist or song name, just the album name. This is why that lower pane isnt displaying anything, because there is nothing to show.

If this is not the case and your songs actually have the track name and artist name, then upload one of the files with this issue to your dropbox and post a link to it here, then it can be investigated to see if the issue is really from Winamp or from your files.
Chiggy, that's wrong. the problem is with winamps handling. the album name, filepath, and filename columns all should show something whether or not the artwork is selected, and indeed DO show something when the artwork is NOT selected.

the problem here is that when the art IS selected, nothing shows even though it should.

the best solution tho, is to properly fill in all the basic tag fields.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2014, 07:25   #28
ChiggyChiggy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
Chiggy, that's wrong. the problem is with winamps handling. the album name, filepath, and filename columns all should show something whether or not the artwork is selected, and indeed DO show something when the artwork is NOT selected.

the problem here is that when the art IS selected, nothing shows even though it should.

the best solution tho, is to properly fill in all the basic tag fields.
Ah true, i didnt notice that the filename and time arent showing either.


Perhaps because theyre using 5.7 beta?
ChiggyChiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2014, 20:28   #29
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the OP isn't using the deprecated beta anymore.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2014, 22:26   #30
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,207
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiggyChiggy View Post
Ah true, i didnt notice that the filename and time arent showing either.

Perhaps because theyre using 5.7 beta?
afaik, the bug exists in all versions.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2014, 09:49   #31
arisutan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
the simple summary of things is that you really need to fix the tags in the files.

something can be done in Winamp to help improve the experience with badly tagged files (as the ones causing you issue are). however, the best 'fix' is sorting out the tags on the files as it's going to be months before a new Winamp release is available with the potential for it to handle things differently (as this is something that has been possible to happen for years).
thanks for your help, I manually tagged it and it shows up fine now. is this a problem with my download, or with winamp? this album has a few discs...haha guess i gotta tag em all @_@
arisutan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
add, album, empty, last fm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump