Old 14th October 2004, 20:42   #1
Seaweed

Shuffle Play Bug

Ok i have been using winamp for several years now and today i've finally cracked.

There is a bug with the shuffle play IT IS NOT RANDOM.

I have 2500 mp3's and winamp is constantly choosing the same ones, i know it is easy to say im imaginging this but I'm convinced this is a bug with winamp.

I did played through around 200 or so songs in winamp and about 30 were played twice and a few 3 times now when you have 2500 songs the odds of this happening are considerably high.

I used shuffle play in itunes (worst program ever) to listen to my mp3's and i noticed a refreshing change in the music i was hearing.

I am growing increasinly annoyed with hearing the same songs over and over and after speaking to some makes they experience the same thing.
Seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2004, 21:15   #2
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
NOT a bug. Correct behavior.
Shuffle=shuffle (can play same song more than once)
Random=random (no one song ever repeated)

Shuffle does not "remember" what has been played. If you want a truly randomized playlist, in the Playlist Editor click Misc button > Sort List > Randomize list

You can repeat the above procedure as many times as you like, for a different randomization.

If you want to stick with "Shuffle", then you can increase the shuffle morph rate...

CTRL+P for Winamp Preferences > General Preferences > Playlist > Shuffle Morph Rate > Slide slider all the way to the right

But the above procedure will still only shuffle (songs may still be repeated but not as frequently), and not truly randomize.

You can also download/install DrO's Time Restore & Autoplay v1.85 plugin, where you can select to "Randomise Winamp Playlist on Load" (among other nifty features).