Old 17th March 2011, 09:35   #1
Akdor 1154
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 63
Some tracks transcoded by ml_pmp are 0kb

When I try to sync with my Desire Z (Android) over USB, Winamp successfully goes through my 3000-song-or-so media library, and reports no error, however after restarting Winamp it only reports 1500 or so files on the device - the other 1500 have to be re-transcoded. Looking on the device's SD card, the tracks that Winamp thinks were not transferred are all 0kb. If I click "sync" on Winamp and watch the files it's working on, they grow in size from 0kb to whatever, but then as soon as Winamp moves to the next file in the queue they revert to 0kb.
My library is a mix of mainly Flac and m4a, but with some WMAs, mp3s, and more exotic things here and there - I can't, however, see any sort of pattern to which files it struggles with.
Is there any sort of debug log that I can activate with ml_pmp to give more information?
Hoping to get this fixed, and happy to help towards that goal;
-Jarrad

EDIT: looking further, it seems any files that need to be transcoded suffer this issue. I'm using the HE-AAC encoder @ 96 kbps. In a separate bug that partly stopped me noticing this, I have the "max bitrate to transfer without transcoding" set to 126kbps, but there are a lot of mp3s of at least 128kbps that still get transferred without transcoding.

It seems strange to me, man, strange to me, don't it seem strange to you?
That a country founded on immigration is so damn racist too;
- John Butler Trio - Home Is Where the Heart Is
Akdor 1154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2011, 10:11   #2
Akdor 1154
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 63
on reading the req'd information thread:
Winamp 5.601, clean install, only removed Winamp Agent and Taskbar Controls from the installed plugins, all else stock.
As I said, I tried a clean install - (to see the database export/import only restore half of my prior library and leave me with 1500 unrated songs to go through, $#!@!! - but that's a separate problem) - and have not installed any other plugins. I completely deleted the Winamp and %APPDATA%\Roaming\Winamp directories before installing again.
Running Win 7 x64 on an Intel i5 660 with an ASUS motherboard and a Corsair Force SSD. Tracks are stored on a NAS mounted as a normal folder - previously to me nuking my Winamp install, ml_ipod transcoded them just fine so I hope this isn't an issue. The Desire Z is just mounted as a disk drive (which presents the SD card as a Mass Storage Device to Windows) - Winamp detects it as an Android device and not simply a generic storage card.

Any more information needed?

EDIT: Forgot to mention - before transferring, Winamp says "not enough space on the device", but this is a blatant lie and it continues anyway: my 9 day 2 hour 15 minute and 60 second library
= 785,722 seconds
= 75,429,312 kb @ 96 kbps
= 9,428,664 kB or ~9.5 GB. The SD card has about 15GB free, and the tracks that do not transcode are strewn throughout my library - i.e. they are not just the first or last ones in the queue.

It seems strange to me, man, strange to me, don't it seem strange to you?
That a country founded on immigration is so damn racist too;
- John Butler Trio - Home Is Where the Heart Is
Akdor 1154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2011, 13:27   #3
Akdor 1154
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 63
Just tried using "album beginswith a" to cut down the sync to a tiny non-device-filling-under-any-metric size, and the problem still occurs: thus I do not believe the error recieved in the first case is relevant to the issue.

Also, the fact that Winamp doesn't bother transcoding mp3s of any bitrate even after I have specifically told it to if they are above 100kbps is a little annoying.

It seems strange to me, man, strange to me, don't it seem strange to you?
That a country founded on immigration is so damn racist too;
- John Butler Trio - Home Is Where the Heart Is
Akdor 1154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 23:46   #4
Akdor 1154
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 63
Problems still occur with 5.61. Is there any more information required for this to be looked at?

It seems strange to me, man, strange to me, don't it seem strange to you?
That a country founded on immigration is so damn racist too;
- John Butler Trio - Home Is Where the Heart Is
Akdor 1154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2011, 11:49   #5
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Suggestions:

1\ Get an SD Card Reader and see how the SD Card is treated. Maybe something about the way the player advertises itself that is confusing Winamp to think it is an Andoid with no disk space.

2\ Pick a group of ten files and encode. See if you can spot what it is about the files that fail to convert that is different. This should help narrow it down.

3\ The comment in your second post about how you lost half your library during an upgrade may well be related. Do you now have a clean library? All missing files removed?

4\ As you are trying to encode at such low quality of 96kbps, why not just swap to MP3 and see how that behaves? I assume your device can handle MP3, so see no point in trying to use an Apple format on this device. Especially when encoding at such low quality.

5\ What happens if you just do a SendTo->Format Converter and encode the files to a separate folder on your hard drive. Does this convert clean? If yes, then we blame something about how Winamp views the device. (Personally, if this one works, I'd just use this method to convert your tracks and then manually drag and drop to the music player)
Batter Pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2011, 03:51   #6
Akdor 1154
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 63
Hmm.. format converter fails when converting to hdd with flac, mp3, m4a+aac and m4a+mpeg1 source files (only the m4a+mpeg1 failure gives a vocal "cannot open encoder" error; the rest have the aforementioned 0kb resultant files). It goes without saying the Winamp can play all these files fine.

EDIT: well that's interesting. Mucking around with various formats - WMA, mp3, and even he-aac (raw, i.e. without the mp4 container) all work fine. the problem however is reproducable with all transcodes using an mp4 container - both he-aac and lc-aac. I don't have a pro licence so I can't check the high bitrate he-aac encoder, however this seems somewhat interesting. Where to go from here?

It seems strange to me, man, strange to me, don't it seem strange to you?
That a country founded on immigration is so damn racist too;
- John Butler Trio - Home Is Where the Heart Is
Akdor 1154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2011, 09:11   #7
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
I convert from FLAC to MP3 just fine here. But those FLACs were mostly made by Winamp from my CDs in the first place.

The problem tracks - where did they come from? Are these iTunes purchases? Or ripped from disk using a different media program? Or sourced from lots of unknown places?

I'll try a few m4a files I have later. See what result I get. Your zero lengths are puzzling
Batter Pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2011, 17:29   #8
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Ah. And I have repeated your issue.

Picked some "Apple lossless" tracks (downloads from NiN). All are files with m4a extension. Did a Send To -> Format Converter. Selected MP3 files to be output. And sure enough - I get the message box up "Cannot Find Decoder"

I'll edit this post shortly with the results of further tests with different file types. (Now edited with more findings)

.m4a Apple Lossless file. (ALAC) Bitrate between 415 to 1063kbps. All fail to convert.
.m4a (AAC). Bitrate 128kbps. Converted fine.
.flac (FLAC). Bitrate 752kbps. Converted fine.
.mp3 (MP3). Bitrate 181kbps. Converted fine.
.wma (WMA). Bitrate 192kbps. Converted fine.

So far I have never had a track created which was 0k. When they fail to convert, no file is saved (folders are still created). I get an error message for each failed track.

I am using the PRO licence on my Winamp. Hence the conversions to MP3 in this test.

What are you exact settings in your conversion window? I notice you are converting to M4A. Which one are you using?

I'll do some random experiments, but it does look like there is some kind of conversion issue with ALAC.


(Note: I can pull up detailed "MediaInfo" information for any file if this helps anyone else. Didn't add it to this post as that can quickly be too much info)
Batter Pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2011, 18:05   #9
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Okay. Further findings. My winamp will now not play those ALAC tracks at all. I'll have to find some other examples to test with.

Track plays fine in Quicktime and other media players. Just Winamp is failing to play ALAC.


I doubt I have many other ALAC examples. I only have those NiN tracks as they came from here: http://theslip.nin.com/ as a free download. I played the FLAC versions previously, so not sure if they have ever worked in Winamp.

This does start to make me wonder if my Winamp is missing on the ALAC side. Are any of those Format Converters able to spit out ALACs?
-_-_-_

I have converted other (MP3 and FLAC) tracks to "MP4/aacPlus (HE-AAC) High Bitrate Encoded v1.31" without problems.
Batter Pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2011, 02:41   #10
Akdor 1154
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 63
I think your issue with ALAC and my issue with mp4+mpga *input* files is a separate problem. My problem is when converting *to* anything inside an mp4 container - i.e. mp4+[lc,he]-aac - but you said you can convert to high bitrate he-aac fine. Raw aac formats convert fine... still want to fix this but in the meantime I just gave up and used ogg+vorbis. yay foss etc

It seems strange to me, man, strange to me, don't it seem strange to you?
That a country founded on immigration is so damn racist too;
- John Butler Trio - Home Is Where the Heart Is
Akdor 1154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump