Old 18th October 2003, 14:54   #1
metalhead24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to metalhead24
Readme file

Why in both readme text for shoutcast and server they do not have xp as os compatalbe. Is xp compatable with broundcast and server. Why can`t the server read the nat provideed by the Linkys router? I have roadrunner download 10mb/s and upload at 5mb/s. Lan home localhost
192.xxx.x.xxx And why does the readmes only go up to 1mb max javascript:smilie('')
javascript:smilie('')
metalhead24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2003, 14:59   #2
LollipopLustKil
Insomniac
(Forum King)
 
LollipopLustKil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,033
Send a message via AIM to LollipopLustKil
SHOUTcast was created before XP came out I believe. Though yes, it does work, considering I'm on XP as we speak.

Scotty Doesn't Know
LollipopLustKil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2003, 19:10   #3
DJ Killer
Major Dude
 
DJ Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: O-Town FLA
Posts: 1,357
Send a message via AIM to DJ Killer Send a message via Yahoo to DJ Killer
NAT is a forwarding technology that opens random ports on the router for a computer to gather things from online, it is a protection technology. The server is not suppose to read NAT. In order for you to bypass NAT you need to login to your royuter and open virtual servers on port 8000 and 8001 on the TCP protocol for the IP that is connection.

Dont bother xing out 192 addresses considering they are local and regardless i could find your IP anyways...

RoadRunner does not have 10 mb down and 5 up, but you probably have 2 Mbps which is about 240KBps down, and a 384kbps upload which is about 40KBps up.

Shoutcast works on XP, same os basically as 2000... no big changes accept a bright new look.. OH GOODY! :P

Hope this helps.

I Make. Perform. Mix. Play. Music.
DJ Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2003, 23:41   #4
metalhead24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to metalhead24
In order for you to bypass NAT you need to login to your royuter and open virtual servers on port 8000 and 8001 on the TCP protocol for the IP that is connection. (cut and paste)(from readme) is this under port trigering or uder Universal Plug and Pray
UDp protocal custom port. I started using the computer when I was 11 berfore win 3.1 I am now 24.
I have also used and programed PLCs from sl 100 to slc 500 ( multi cpu in mech code)
The Allen Brandly Programable Logic Controller.
metalhead24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2003, 23:45   #5
LollipopLustKil
Insomniac
(Forum King)
 
LollipopLustKil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,033
Send a message via AIM to LollipopLustKil
That new "look" is a bit of a turn on. Which is why I bought it.

Scotty Doesn't Know
LollipopLustKil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2003, 23:50   #6
DJ Killer
Major Dude
 
DJ Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: O-Town FLA
Posts: 1,357
Send a message via AIM to DJ Killer Send a message via Yahoo to DJ Killer
metalhead thank you for echoing what i said :P i see you are quite well into the convo... sorry had to say it

I Make. Perform. Mix. Play. Music.
DJ Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2003, 02:27   #7
DJHotIce
Forum Loser
(Forum King)
 
DJHotIce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: That place I can't remember the name.
Posts: 4,617
Send a message via AIM to DJHotIce Send a message via Yahoo to DJHotIce
I use road runner and there advertising 300 something up and about 3 meg down.

-DJHotIce
Bounce Multimedia - Professional Web Design
DJHotIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2003, 02:48   #8
DJ Killer
Major Dude
 
DJ Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: O-Town FLA
Posts: 1,357
Send a message via AIM to DJ Killer Send a message via Yahoo to DJ Killer
acutally its 2 meg and 268kbps up, they have 3 up but its for 51`2kb upstream or higher

I Make. Perform. Mix. Play. Music.
DJ Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2003, 03:18   #9
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
actually DJ, they have started increasing the download cap on residential subscribers to 3Mbit down and 384Kbit up. I have roadrunner myself and have been hitting 2800Kbps+ down.
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2003, 03:33   #10
DJ Killer
Major Dude
 
DJ Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: O-Town FLA
Posts: 1,357
Send a message via AIM to DJ Killer Send a message via Yahoo to DJ Killer
ah so you must be in the test areas for the 2x speed increase, although your upload should increase too. Last i talked to my engineer i know he said by december everyone would but they were putting it in test areas but he didnt know where those were... my bad :P i didnt know..

I Make. Perform. Mix. Play. Music.
DJ Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2003, 11:48   #11
metalhead24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to metalhead24
I live in Sam Antonio TX. To get the specs I got Iam using a dedicated line link to an ftp sever.
metalhead24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2003, 12:09   #12
metalhead24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to metalhead24
Have you every used an hyper text tremnal protocal server or (https) and I have firends that have downloads 3 mb+. And di you know that upload are not only limited by isps. They are are also limitad by the cable demodulator ext. and int. My is cable modem ext. and has a lot limits than your int. modem.
metalhead24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2003, 12:12   #13
metalhead24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to metalhead24
Do you think I care if you know my ip address and I have three ips and I work in perison and if you hack my pc I will see you there.
metalhead24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2003, 21:25   #14
DJ Killer
Major Dude
 
DJ Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: O-Town FLA
Posts: 1,357
Send a message via AIM to DJ Killer Send a message via Yahoo to DJ Killer
1. Fix your english...
2. Learn to use
3. If you think because you work in a government building you cant be hacked, i hate to wonder....

I Make. Perform. Mix. Play. Music.
DJ Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2003, 12:41   #15
metalhead24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to metalhead24
Ok than what about royuter that you typed. That router not royuter. Ok,so use a spell checker. Or in reference to modem as a demodulator which it is.
metalhead24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 01:56   #16
metalhead24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to metalhead24
dj kille is faq
metalhead24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2003, 12:01   #17
DJHotIce
Forum Loser
(Forum King)
 
DJHotIce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: That place I can't remember the name.
Posts: 4,617
Send a message via AIM to DJHotIce Send a message via Yahoo to DJHotIce
In Response to VChat20,
RR is doing the same in our area as well. Additionally the Support Rep for RR told me that they will even triple the services in the near future! so you could get like 500 up and like 4 MBit Down! Its crazy man! All for my $55 monthy residential class.

-DJHotIce
Bounce Multimedia - Professional Web Design
DJHotIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump