Old 18th October 2017, 10:07   #1
gerryharris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Can't play music from Media Library

Usually I double click on a track in the Media Library and it starts playing.
Now it starts and immediately stops.
Not aware of having changed any settings.
Cheers
Gerry
gerryharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 10:41   #2
gerryharris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Answering my own question.
I removed all the items in the Media Library then reloaded them and now works as expected.
Weird???
Cheers
Gerr
gerryharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2017, 18:54   #3
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
Most likely due to changes in the file location, hence why "refreshing" the db fixed the issue.

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2017, 07:59   #4
gerryharris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
So does that mean that the tracks in the Media Library are just links to the tracks somewhere else?
Cheers
Gerry
gerryharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2017, 16:25   #5
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
all the media library is, is a database that links to the location of the files. If you moved files around or renamed files and the db hasn't been refreshed, then it cannot play the file

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2017, 18:38   #6
gerryharris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Thanks for the reply.
Hopefully I won't get caught out by that again.
Pity Winamp doesn't give a "can't find the track" or similar message.
Cheers
Gerry
gerryharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2017, 18:59   #7
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
There are options in the winamp preferences for the media library to rescan your watch folders every x number or minutes or when you start up winamp. I have mine set up to rescan every 2 hours (since winamp is the program I leave open all day) and might do a manual rescan if I add a bunch of new tracks.

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2017, 21:51   #8
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,194
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
yes, "watch folders" is what u use to track files. i also have mine set to automatically remove any missing files.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2017, 20:52   #9
gerryharris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Thanks for the replies.
All noted and acted upon.
I'm only a beginner using Winamp.
Seems to be many tweaks I can apply to get it to work just as I want it.
Have to work slowly through all the settings to see what they do.
Cheers
Gerry
gerryharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump