Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th October 2016, 19:19   #1
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 62
APE & M4A files cannot have tags changed when loaded to Winamp

As described in detail here https://forums.mp3tag.de/index.php?showtopic=20879, there is this strange behavior in Winamp:

when an APE or M4A file is loaded [and not played] in Winamp, an attempt to edit tag values in this file via Mp3tag will spit an error of "cannot be opened for writing" - so in order to make any change to tags in Mp3tag I have to first close Winamp


I have the Monkey's Audio Player 4.14, but I do not know which of my other plugins is responsible for playing M4A format. I run Windows 7 x64 with Winamp 5.666 3516 and Mp3tag 2.79. This problem persists now for almost a year, throughout updates of Mp3tag and Windows

But what is most important, this problem does not show up for MP3, FLAC, WV or WAV format- I can even play them in Winamp and edit them in Mp3tag at the same time [with the exception of _FILENAME field]
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2016, 23:07   #2
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
I have never experienced this issue with m4a files unless the song is paused, therefore locked by winamp. With that being said, it goes the same for mp3 and flac files that are currently being played or paused on the song. I can't update them via mp3tag.

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 20:08   #3
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicf8 View Post
I have never experienced this issue with m4a files unless the song is paused, therefore locked by winamp. With that being said, it goes the same for mp3 and flac files that are currently being played or paused on the song. I can't update them via mp3tag.
I can play or have in pause mode MP3 / FLAC / WAV / WV and at the same time edit tags in them via Mp3tag; and move them in Windows Explorer, if only they are not being played [with the exception of MP3, for which I have a buffer]


But once and APE is read by Winamp [its tags show up in it], it cannot be edited with Mp3tag or moved in Explorer [so of course also in paused mode it is blocked]. M4A on the other hand is blocked less, because only when it is being played and only in Mp3tag and not in Explorer


And on the side note: how is possible that MP3 and M4A can be moved even when played, while FLAC / WAV / WV are blocked for moving?
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 20:36   #4
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worez View Post
And on the side note: how is possible that MP3 and M4A can be moved even when played, while FLAC / WAV / WV are blocked for moving?
I assume it is due to how much is buffered. FLAC, WAV, and WV are all lossless, so much higher file size vs the lossy. But this could also be in how the decoder handles reading, buffering, and loading the files.

As for APE, you might want to get in contact with whoever developed that plugin, because I don't believe it's a part of the general winamp install. I would think you shouldn't have issues editing the tag if winamp isn't playing or paused on that file (unless of course the library is indexing)

But again, I don't have issues tagging any files with mp3tag if winamp isn't playing or paused on the specific file, and rightfully so. The only time I get that error is when I accidentally left the file on pause instead of stop.

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 21:05   #5
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 62
So you can edit APE tags, or you just do not use APEs?


I installed the newest version of that plugin [4.18], but there is no change in behavior

So I've send an e-mail to its creator
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 21:16   #6
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
Not APE, sorry, I keep all my lossless as FLAC because it's easier to manage one file format for lossless than many

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 21:21   #7
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicf8 View Post
Not APE, sorry, I keep all my lossless as FLAC because it's easier to manage one file format for lossless than many
I'm looking for a third lossless format in addition to my FLACs and WVs

Unfortunately I have to take into account how it is handled by Winamp, Mp3tag, Spek and my audio formats converter
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 23:49   #8
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worez View Post
I'm looking for a third lossless format in addition to my FLACs and WVs

Unfortunately I have to take into account how it is handled by Winamp, Mp3tag, Spek and my audio formats converter
After checking out many formats and making tests, the TTA lossless file format meets all of my requirements

Bu if I'll get an answer from the APE developer, I will report it here
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2016, 23:51   #9
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
If you don't mind, out of curiosity, may I ask why you are looking to have 3 different lossless formats for your files?

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 13:23   #10
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicf8 View Post
If you don't mind, out of curiosity, may I ask why you are looking to have 3 different lossless formats for your files?
Associate two different file formats with Winamp, and then load them up to Mp3tag- how will you know what you are looking? You can read their extensions in the _FILENAME tag field

But what if you use 5 formats on a daily basis and you load up thousands of files in Mp3tag? You will end up will a chaos and start making mistake coming out from misreadings of the extensions

But if you assign different icons to the formats that you use, you will have a clear view of the situation in a folder / playlist at a glance



And to answer your question:

The 1st lossless format is to keep edited music, coming from o lossless source

The 2nd lossless format is to keep non-edited music, coming from o lossless source; with the ready to execute possibility of changing it to the 1st category

The 3rd lossless format is to keep edited music, coming from o lossy source, without adding to it further transcodes; to prevent further downgrade of quality in those tracks



The biggest problem in such system came to be the one of having the ability to have absolutely any kind of value in any kind of tag field in all of the used formats. [APE / M4A / WMA happen to have their issues with that]
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2016, 23:55   #11
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
Understood, That's one way to stay organized Though while I am not sure what you mean by editing, there's tools to edit lossy files without re-transcoding like mp3directcut (though i'm sure you're aware of).

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2016, 12:40   #12
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 62
I've tried mp3DirectCut only recently, and yet deemed it not substantial enough. My "edition" is usually simple but a long process

My old MP3s are edited by me only to some extent. [And so I either go and look for a new lossless copy and keep it in FLAC / TTA, or do further work on MP3 and keep it in WV afterwards. It all comes down to the time factor]
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2016, 13:17   #13
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 62
Well, I haven't got yet an answer from the APE plugin developer

I will try once more to contact him via e-mail


If I know something- I'll post. If I do not post- the topic is over
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Tags
ape, m4a, mp3tag, tags

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump