Old 25th August 2010, 14:09   #1
Kogitsune
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Multiple Monitor Workaround

I've been using Winamp for a while and love milkdrop - just not how it doesn't seem to be able to fill both screens when in desktop / fullscreen mode regardless of what I do in the settings. So, I got tired of waiting for a fix ( and given there are threads in the support forum about this from years ago without any real resolution, I am probably not alone ) and made a workaround for myself. It, in essence, will detect the bounds of all your connected screens and will resize milkdrop to fit that space.

So, if you have the same issue as I do, this might be a temporary fix until the issue is, hopefully, eventually fixed.

This will support any version of milkdrop that labels itself "MilkDrop 2" when windowed, and you must have milkdrop in windowed mode - these are limitations of the method I used to resize the window.

The program currently assumes that the primary screen is either the tallest resolution, or all other monitors connected are the same height. If this is an issue for anyone, I'll change that.

Requires .Net 3.5 to use.



Download: Link
Source: Link

Just click the milk carton to resize, and then you can close the program, it doesn't need to keep running. To restore the milkdrop window, I personally just toggle the desktop mode to return to windowed mode.

If anyone has trouble, I'll do what I can to try and fix it for them.

Cheers.
Kogitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2011, 08:17   #2
SirSly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
i know how to use milkdrop2 to go fullscreen on the secondary monitor, if any one doesnt know
SirSly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2011, 20:13   #3
Kunasek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Fullscreen on secondary monitor?
I wanna know it !!!

(Gleiss can do so - but it hasn't another wanted feature when not in fullscreen: integrate with Winamp)
Kunasek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2011, 22:41   #4
Pixel Eater
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks for making this! It worked great in foobar with Shpeck (Winamp visualization plugin). Probably because MilkDrop reverts to windowed mode by default. I just wish it would span my third monitor, but that's run off a second, non-identical Nvidia card. It seems possible because dragging the window across both of those screens doesn't interrupt the visualizer. Maybe there's a way for Milkfix to force this?

In the latest Winamp, I can't find windowed mode. Is there a shortcut or is "windowed" considered where in the Bento skin it's running under the Visualization tab? I can't get this to work.
Pixel Eater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2011, 09:22   #5
LlamaLlamaLamp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Open the MilkDrop configuration and under the first tab 'Common Settings' and untick 'Integrate with Winamp skin' in the 'Windowed Settings' area towards the bottom. That gets you proper windowed mode.
LlamaLlamaLamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 22:34   #6
51Strong
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 80
I use to set my 2 monitors to a shared desktop and then sent MD into desktop mode. Then it would use both screens. However being my screens are 1080p it hits the videocard so hard I cant really leave it like that cause some presets can choke my gpu.

As to getting MD to run in secondary monitor its right there in MD's config you just select the second monitor for fullscreen mode and voila.
51Strong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2013, 14:04   #7
Kogitsune
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
I really hate to bump this thread, but I can't seem to figure out how to edit the post. Last summer, dropbox removed my ability to have public links.

So here is the new download link which contains both the source and the compiled executable.
Kogitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2013, 09:01   #8
Roob
Member
 
Roob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kogitsune View Post
I really hate to bump this thread...
But if you hadn't, I would never had known it existed!

Thanks for sharing this, and re-uploading it.
Roob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2013, 23:41   #9
ClintJCL2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: D.C.
Posts: 48
Send a message via ICQ to ClintJCL2 Send a message via AIM to ClintJCL2 Send a message via Yahoo to ClintJCL2
didn't work for me

-Clint
AMD Athlon 900mHz, 256M RAM, 280GB, Win2K, SB Live Platinum 5.1, ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon 32M DDR.
ClintJCL2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2013, 06:25   #10
onlyforonepost
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
I was reading this trying to get my multiple monitor display to show the viz. on only one monitor and not both and the monitor I wanted instead of the main monitor. REALLY EASY ONCE YOU LOOK.

Options-> Viz. -> Configure. From there, just do what you want.
onlyforonepost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2016, 05:18   #11
Platzformer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 11
I HAVE THE ANSWER! Well at least it works for me. Here is what I did:

Options>Visualization>Configure Plug In (To enter this screen you cannot have the Visualization tab open)

Common Settings Tab>
The changes you will make are in the Fullscreen Settings portion
Display Adapter> In the drop down menu select 2. Then check Use Fake fullscreen mode

Click the DualHead button (bottom right)
On this screen there are two drop down menus. BOTH should be "span both screens"

This worked for me and my setup. I hope this helps =)
Platzformer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2017, 21:23   #12
c627627
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 46
For people who have three monitors, Winamp natively supports Milkdrop Full Screen mode on whichever ONE of the three monitors they want.

But...

can it be made to go Full Screen on TWO out of three monitors? So on main one you keep working - while the other two BOTH display Full Screen Milkdrop?
c627627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2017, 02:30   #13
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to musicf8
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
can it be made to go Full Screen on TWO out of three monitors? So on main one you keep working - while the other two BOTH display Full Screen Milkdrop?
I believe you can with some form of plugin stacker, essentially running two milkdrops at once, but I have never done that so cant say for sure.

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp 5.8: 9/14/2017

Winamp v5.63 (used w/ ml_ipod) bumping through Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2017, 13:01   #14
c627627
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 46
I am willing to test and post clear write-up instructions but can you start me off, what is "some form of plugin stacker" - where do I get it - what do I generally need to do, to test this?
c627627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Visualizations > MilkDrop

Tags
full screen, milkdrop, multiple monitors

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump