Old 26th December 2008, 18:30   #1
BastardKidKris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to BastardKidKris
I want to make my iPod do nothing when plugged in

Unless I tell it to do so. That goes for scrobbles and ratings as well, but I don't see an option to prevent it from doing that. I'm on vacation and since my music is on an external drive, I would loose all my scrobbles if I plugged in my iPod to charge or play music off of.


Help?
BastardKidKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2008, 19:59   #2
homes32
Senior Member
 
homes32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 288
Re: I want to make my iPod do nothing when plugged in

Quote:
Originally posted by BastardKidKris
Unless I tell it to do so. That goes for scrobbles and ratings as well, but I don't see an option to prevent it from doing that. I'm on vacation and since my music is on an external drive, I would loose all my scrobbles if I plugged in my iPod to charge or play music off of.


Help?
have you tried unchecking all the automatic syncing options in the prefs?

ctl-P > iPod Support > Sync >

homes32
homes32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2008, 22:10   #3
Stupifier
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 596
BastardKidKris, I have the same setup (Music on EXT HD) and am commonly disconnected from it. Check under the 'Sync' options tab as Homes32 suggests....also, check under 'Home' options tab in the iPod Support options area as well. At the bottom under 'Conveniences' you may find some useful options.
Stupifier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2008, 22:26   #4
BastardKidKris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to BastardKidKris
Yes, those are unchecked. Scobbles are still submitted no matter what though, which is what I want to avoid

ThinkPad T61, C2D @ 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2, Win7x64Pro
BastardKidKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2009, 21:43   #5
Stupifier
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 596
So now, your only problem is the scrobbles if I read you right.....

What if you unchecked "enable last.fm support" prior to plugging in your iPod? My understanding would be that if that option is not checked.....scrobbles would not be submitted....right?

Of course, if and when you want to submit scrobbles, just check "enable last.fm support" before you plug your iPod in.

Try that and see if it works for you. If you are still unhappy, I would recommend making a feature request asking to add an option for manual control of scrobble submissions (or something to that effect).
Stupifier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 03:19   #6
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
I think if you put ml_iPod in read-only mode, it won't submit. When submitting to Last.fm, I'm pretty sure ml_iPod updates the database to prevent the plays from being scrobbled again. But if it's read-only, it can't update it.

So all you have to do is just put your iPod into Limited mode (it's in the prefs, on the Home tab) and only grant write access on the computer you want to submit scrobbles from.

Windows 7 Beta
iPod touch (Second Generation), 8GB
Winamp 5.55 with ml_iPod 3.08
fatcerberus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2009, 10:45   #7
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally posted by fatcerberus1
So all you have to do is just put your iPod into Limited mode (it's in the prefs, on the Home tab) and only grant write access on the computer you want to submit scrobbles from.
Yes, that's the way to do it. In read-only mode, the file which contains the data for played songs is not even read, so no scrobbling.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 17:13   #8
BastardKidKris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to BastardKidKris
OK, but this all has to be done with my iPod plugged in..

ThinkPad T61, C2D @ 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2, Win7x64Pro
BastardKidKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2009, 20:05   #9
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
You can edit the inifile before starting Winamp.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2009, 17:16   #10
BastardKidKris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to BastardKidKris
Is there an easier way you could write into ml_ipod? I find myself using my laptop a lot away from home and want to play music through the computer with my iPod, but then I will lose scrobbles if I plug it in

ThinkPad T61, C2D @ 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2, Win7x64Pro
BastardKidKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2009, 19:12   #11
BastardKidKris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to BastardKidKris
bump

an easier/faster way?
BastardKidKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 23:03   #12
BastardKidKris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to BastardKidKris
ok, so what ini file do i set to read only to prevent any scrobbling or ratings updates?

i am going on vacation next week and i do not want to loose any scrobbles

ThinkPad T61, C2D @ 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2, Win7x64Pro
BastardKidKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp iPod Plugin Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump