Old 19th August 2005, 14:38   #1
wrighty4forest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Soundcard option

rite when i go to output i get 2 options saying winamp and soundcard but when i play thro soundcard nothing happens at all and peopel cant hear the music but when i choose the winamp option it works fine i need to use the soundcard option so i can use the mic so does anybody know whats up with it thanks
wrighty4forest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2005, 15:18   #2
wrighty4forest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
please help
wrighty4forest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2005, 15:32   #3
NJK
The Frisian
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,999
Quote:
Originally posted by wrighty4forest
please help
easy there, you just posted this an hour ago, grow some patience.
most here that help out are Unpaid Volunteers , so again easy does it.

when nobody repies to your post in 24 hours it's perfectly normal to bump it , NOT after just 1 hour.

it's nothing more than a matter of adjusting your volume controle settings.
Since this issue has been covered over and over again you should be able to find plenty about it
with this link http://forums.winamp.com/search.php

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2005, 15:33   #4
dotme
Moderator
 
dotme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
Your issue most likely lies in the Windows mixers.

Open up your volume controls. Set mixers in both "playback" and "recording", make sure in "recording" you select "Stereo Mix" or whatever appears at the top, then go in and make sure that is the mixer that is checked. Set levels high - you can always back them off if it's too loud.

On playback mixers, make sure Wave and Mic are both selected (Not set to "Mute")
dotme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2005, 15:51   #5
wrighty4forest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
i have done that and it cxonntects etc etc but when i play the song where it says bytes sent nothing counts up
wrighty4forest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2005, 20:12   #6
djmastermind
Forum King
 
djmastermind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,813
What soundcard are you using? What drivers are installed for it?

-- Michael
djmastermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2005, 20:14   #7
wrighty4forest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
my i say iam dumb on pcs so how do i find that out dude
wrighty4forest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2005, 21:06   #8
djmastermind
Forum King
 
djmastermind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,813
That's no problem! Click Start > Run > type in dxdiag (click 'Yes' if a prompt appears). On the bottom right of the window that pops up is a button that says "Save All Information..." Click that button. It will save a text file. Reply to this post and attach the DxDiag.txt along with it.

-- Michael
djmastermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2005, 23:19   #9
wrighty4forest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
ok is this it....
Attached Files
File Type: txt dxdiag.txt (37.0 KB, 1003 views)
wrighty4forest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2005, 08:12   #10
NJK
The Frisian
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,999
soundcard --> on board ac97, standard soundcard.

soundcard ac97-- place this word in a search engine and it gives you several sites with acces to updated drivers.

And just to be sure, have you selected this soundcard in your directsound config??

winamp - preferences - output - select directsound output en configure that one , on the first tab it's asking which soundcard to use , select yours there.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2005, 19:47   #11
djmastermind
Forum King
 
djmastermind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,813
Quote:
From your DxDiag.txt
-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: Modem #0 Line Playback (emulated)
eek. One problem I have with Windows is that if you have onboard sound and you let Windows install those drivers for you, it sometimes (usually) installs drivers on it that are made for modems... Totally weird.

I'd most definitely do what Spaceplay suggested and find some drivers for your onboard. Make sure to download the ones that pertain to your motherboard. Maybe try visiting the company's website who made your computer to see if they have drivers there or if they can help you find the right ones for your motherboard.

Good luck! Let us know if you need help.

-- Michael
djmastermind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2005, 22:17   #12
wrighty4forest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
can somebody help me find the drivers please has iam shite on pcs
wrighty4forest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2005, 23:38   #13
dotme
Moderator
 
dotme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
Quote:
Description: Vinyl AC'97 Audio (WAVE)
You have drivers. Don't download any unless they prove defective.

Instead, go to "Control Panel" on your PC. Scroll down and open "Sounds and Multimedia"

Click the "Audio" tab

From the drop-down lists, change your "Preferred Device" for "Sound Playback" and "Sound Recording" to your AC'97

Check the box "Use only preferred devices"

Click "Apply" and "OK"

Now try again from the top of this thread, looking for the mixers as indicated.
dotme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2005, 23:45   #14
wrighty4forest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
thanks your great
wrighty4forest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2005, 23:54   #15
wrighty4forest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
ok thank you very much all sorted, i will do anything i can to return the favor
wrighty4forest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump