Old 27th November 2019, 12:30   #1
russbowers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
Business Plan station not in Directory

i have a recent business plan with hosting through Shoutcast which is supposed to automatically include my station in the Shoutcast directory. During my 7 day trial it was int he directory and searchable through a web browser on Shoutcasts website and also on the Roku app. As soon as my trial switched over and i was billed my station was no longer searchable. The station is still live and working but not showing up in the search. A big reason i decided on Shoutcast was because a lot of our fans already use it on Roku. The only way to find a station on Roku is by searching the app. I have contacted support and created a request ticket and no one seems to ever get back to me (atleast not yet). How is support at getting back to its customers typically ? Is there a better way to contact them ?
russbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2019, 12:31   #2
russbowers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
oh , and the station name is
Orange Blossom Jams
russbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2019, 13:16   #3
ryerman
Major Dude
 
ryerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by russbowers View Post
...How is support at getting back to its customers typically ?....
http://forums.winamp.com/showpost.ph...35&postcount=4

Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Winamp 5.666, Bento Skin
ryerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2019, 13:46   #4
russbowers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
And im assuming my station not showing up in the search directory (if im hosting my music through Shoutcast Business Plan) can only be addressed by Shoutcast Support Team ? Sad I dont see where there is anything i can do on my end.
russbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2019, 13:58   #5
Klaas
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 84
I'm afraid you will be lucky if you get a response from the support team.

I've got three support cases open. One about AAC+ streams on the self hosted solution, which won't correctly. From the developers opinion it is the fault of my streaming software (even if everything works with the old DNAS), one about ad insertion not always working and one topic about the YP always returning error 500 (generic server error).

I doubt there will be a difference with the business plans.
Klaas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 09:33   #6
LStratmann
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What doesn't work, Klaas?

I am using the latest SHOUTcast version myself and have no problems with AAC and the ads.
But I have to admit that I also have the YP error, which doesn't really bother me.

Greetings.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 09:38   #7
Klaas
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 84
The AAC+ mountpoint is being disconnected immediately with a license error that only MP3 is allowed. I already checked my encoder but it is strange that Icecast and Shoutcast 2.5.5 won't complain about it.

The second issue is that sometimes ad insertion (not replacement) works and sometimes not. Well most of the time it is not working and just replacing the stream.
Klaas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 09:41   #8
LStratmann
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hey,
1. When I also used AAC, sometimes the license error occurred. Could it be that while you had the license error, you also had the YP error? I only had the license error when no connection to the YP was established. Usually after a few songs a connection was established and AAC worked.

2. So you mean that after the advertisement not the content was played after the trigger but the current content? (So, that you didn't have a delay, but you came into the middle of the song)

Greetings from Germany,
Luca.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 09:43   #9
Klaas
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 84
1.) Yes I had the YP and the License error at the same time. Sometimes it takes up to 6 hours until I can reach the YP properly (without error 500) and then the AAC+ stream is up perfectly.

2.) That is correct. I came back out in the middle of the next song and not with the content of the trigger.
Klaas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 09:46   #10
LStratmann
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hey,
1. I had that problem, too. That's why I don't use AAC anymore. Lately the YP works well. I haven't had an error for a while. At least from my German server.

2. I can confirm that. Whereby I am always shifted in the middle of the song.

Greetings.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 09:55   #11
Klaas
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 84
For 1 I could imagine there are more than one YP servers out there. Depending on which server you are reaching there could be a problem or not.

Out of fun I turned up a second DNAS. The one in Finland is working fine at the moment. The one in Germany is giving me error 500. Though Finland also had some 500 errors this morning.

Everything would be okay if the DNAS would download its license information, which has to be renewed automatically at the end of the month. That would prevent getting the DNAS into trouble when the YP is not reachable.
Klaas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 10:01   #12
LStratmann
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hey,
I just had a YP error, too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 10:14   #13
Klaas
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 84
That is quite risky. If I would migrate over to 2.6.0 I need to be sure the service is as stable as possible not being interrupted by some YP hickups etc.

And the ad injection and stream pausing needs some fixing.
Klaas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 10:20   #14
LStratmann
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It's always luck.

Now everything works again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 11:42   #15
Klaas
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 84
Oh well. I was curious and restarted the DNAS. Now only MP3 allowed and error 500

Also interesting I tried to enable all the debugging flags in the config. They don't have any effect.
Klaas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 11:52   #16
LStratmann
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hey,
I'll write you a DM.

Greetings.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 15:29   #17
russbowers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
but what about my problem lol JK. Still have no reply from Shoutcast. Pretty sure this will be my first and last month sending them money
russbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 15:31   #18
Klaas
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 84
Really sorry you are having problems there and I'm sorry that we had hijacked your thread.
Klaas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 15:33   #19
LStratmann
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I think I found your station.

Is this your station? http://www.radionomy.com/en/radio/or...ssomjams/index
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 21:59   #20
russbowers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
yes , i can find the station by links, its finding it in search that used to work and now it doesnt. Mainly so people with Roku can find it using the shoutcast app.
russbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2019, 22:03   #21
LStratmann
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
But the station was yours? ( http://www.radionomy.com/en/radio/or...ssomjams/index )
Then at least you're listed on Radionomy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2019, 15:06   #22
russbowers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
correct it is listed on Radionomy but not shoutcast (which is on Roku) funny thing is it used to be during my 7 day trial and literally the day my trial ended and they charged me $15 it was gone. go figure. Support did get back to me though and said they are aware of the problem and working to fix it for whatever thats worth
russbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2019, 15:07   #23
russbowers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
"The issue of streams using the Planner not being listed in the directory is a known bug and will be fixed asap.

Regards,

Shoutcast Team"
russbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2019, 13:15   #24
russbowers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
It's been nice knowing you Shoutcast. Lol . Well not really. My short run as a customer will be ending after one month of hassle. Thanks but no thanks. Peace out. Will be looking for other options to host my online radio station
russbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Tags
business plan, directory, support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump