Old 12th December 2002, 22:29   #1
Tarron_D
Major Dude
 
Tarron_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bensenville, Illinois. (Chicago Suburb.)
Posts: 501
My Computer Sux!

Again, i have another problem. I just recently upgraded to windows 2000 and now im getting crackling and popping in my games. The sound crackles and popps at random times and its really annoying! I have an SBlive Value, and i never had this problem in 98 SE.

"If everything I didn't give a shit about died, the only thing that would be left would be me, my dick, and maybe some pizza!" -Two (Visit www.ranting-gryphon.com, it rocks.)
Tarron_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 22:36   #2
Tarron_D
Major Dude
 
Tarron_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bensenville, Illinois. (Chicago Suburb.)
Posts: 501
And i upgraded my drivers to 2000 so its not that.

"If everything I didn't give a shit about died, the only thing that would be left would be me, my dick, and maybe some pizza!" -Two (Visit www.ranting-gryphon.com, it rocks.)
Tarron_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2002, 22:43   #3
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
Check your IRQ's, make sure they aren't all sharing the same one. 2k has a tendancy to share as many devices on one IRQ as it thinks it can. If there's a lot sharing one IRQ then try disabling it in your BIOS so that 2k won't be able to use it and will redistribute them.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 01:21   #4
hestermofet
Major Dude
 
hestermofet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,763
My computer sucks, too. It also blows. I tried to make it stop, but then it started smelling like burning.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.
hestermofet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 01:26   #5
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Try a different pci slot. Normally its not unreasonable to expect one pci slot to function different from another, but its worth a shot (my sblive has some probs in pci slot 1).
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 01:29   #6
Tarron_D
Major Dude
 
Tarron_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bensenville, Illinois. (Chicago Suburb.)
Posts: 501
Why should it need to be in a different slot? It worked fine in win 98?

Oh, and im not sure about that whole bios\IRQ thing, how does that work?

"If everything I didn't give a shit about died, the only thing that would be left would be me, my dick, and maybe some pizza!" -Two (Visit www.ranting-gryphon.com, it rocks.)
Tarron_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 01:43   #7
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Check to see if its sharing an IRQ.

Control panel > system > hardware > device manager > view > resources by type.

Click on Interupt request (irq), find your soundcard and see what its sharing its irq with (if anything).

Usually its best to have your video and soundcard with their own irq.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 06:28   #8
Sandman2012
<3 foobar2k
(Forum King)
 
Sandman2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,203
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
Check your IRQ's, make sure they aren't all sharing the same one. 2k has a tendancy to share as many devices on one IRQ as it thinks it can. If there's a lot sharing one IRQ then try disabling it in your BIOS so that 2k won't be able to use it and will redistribute them.
Hmm. I have a similar problem, using Win2k and my vid card, sound card, and ethernet card are all on the same IRQ. I've had some weird problems playing Warcraft 3 so I've been trying to find a way to change them, but my BIOS doesn't allow me to access that.

And it's a brand new Radeon 9700 Pro (latest vid and AGP drivers installed) so I don't think it's the card.
Sandman2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 06:47   #9
White Raven
Little Winged One
 
White Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada, now UK
Posts: 4,165
probz

Could be that you have a faulty sound/vid card.

P.S. and totally off topic... I like the rats of NIMH, too! Go Mrs. Frisby! (I used to watch that movie all the time when I was little.)

just as feathery as ever | portfolio | a poignant quote
White Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 06:49   #10
White Raven
Little Winged One
 
White Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada, now UK
Posts: 4,165
Beat me to it

lol I think his post just made mine obsolete.

just as feathery as ever | portfolio | a poignant quote
White Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 12:17   #11
Bass Evolution
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Down Under
Posts: 164
why did u up grade anyway? go XP man
Bass Evolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 12:35   #12
Dazfish
Senior Member
 
Dazfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: K-PAX
Posts: 187
Send a message via ICQ to Dazfish Send a message via AIM to Dazfish
XP is great, except when it randomly uninstalls your printer and scanner while ure in the middle of printing and scanning things then refuses to believe you when you try to explain that they do still exist *gives up*

as for sound and video ive never had any problems with XP, just dump 2k and go upgrade again

O/T: just watched your entire avatar atmo, it kicks mine in the arse 14 times over
Dazfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 12:38   #13
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
Quote:
Originally posted by Dazfish
XP is great, except when it randomly uninstalls your printer and scanner while ure in the middle of printing and scanning things then refuses to believe you when you try to explain that they do still exist *gives up*
Quote:
computers don't make mistakes, users do
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 13:43   #14
Bass Evolution
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Down Under
Posts: 164
isnt it impossible to uninstall a hardware device while it is use?

I guess atmo sed it best
Bass Evolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 14:37   #15
Dazfish
Senior Member
 
Dazfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: K-PAX
Posts: 187
Send a message via ICQ to Dazfish Send a message via AIM to Dazfish
it didnt uninstall, it just vanished, poof, just like that, its no longer in my hardware profile or anything and refuses to reinstall, ive given up lol, just use other pc with 98se and it works fine
Dazfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2002, 23:02   #16
Tarron_D
Major Dude
 
Tarron_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bensenville, Illinois. (Chicago Suburb.)
Posts: 501
I think the problem was much simpler than i thought, it turns out that the crackling and popping was coming from the audio that was off the games cd's. It was because the "Use digital on cd audio" thing was on, so i turned it off and now its fine.

"If everything I didn't give a shit about died, the only thing that would be left would be me, my dick, and maybe some pizza!" -Two (Visit www.ranting-gryphon.com, it rocks.)
Tarron_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2002, 00:45   #17
eleet-2k2
Forum King
 
eleet-2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Mobil Ave.
Posts: 5,381
Lookie at my brother's computer upgrade (mind the video card, it's okay for him):

Intel D845GBVL (P4-478pins, DDR sockets, AGP+6PCI, Audio, Video, LAN)

IDE LG int 52X CD-Drive

P4 Med Tower 6 bays ATX 300W

Intel Pentium 4 *1.8 GHz* 478-pin *400MHz 512K

DDR 256M, PC266

AGP ATI Radeon 9000 PRO DDR Video out 64M

XP owns.

"Welcome to the Island of people who know too much."..."Did you really think balloons would stop him?!"
See what I'm listening too.
eleet-2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2002, 01:56   #18
Swampy235
Member
 
Swampy235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Teh keyboard of doom!!!
Posts: 87
Send a message via ICQ to Swampy235 Send a message via AIM to Swampy235
Im not sure if theres any truth to this, but I read it on the ABIT support website. In order for a motherboard manufacteur to get WHQL Certification for their official drivers they have to disable the ability to turn off IRQ sharing.
Also, when you install windows 2000 you can tell it not to share irq's.

And also, I dont understand why people like XP so much, its such a resource hog. As far as im concerned 2000 is the best windows. It has the speed of 98SE and the stability of XP without all the memory hogging graphics and services.
Swampy235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2002, 05:50   #19
henry3k56
Forum King
 
henry3k56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The Internet Posts: 3 Trillion
Posts: 4,241
Quote:
Originally posted by hestermofet
My computer sucks, too. It also blows. I tried to make it stop, but then it started smelling like burning.
Was this before when you had that Compaq and said that it will chew up your kids and spit them out?

Come to think about it, I'm afraid that Wells Fargo will lose my money when I go there..they now use Compaq computers for their transactions.

henry3k56 | Summer is here.
My Flickr Page & Frontierra | Posting Since September 2001.
henry3k56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2002, 06:53   #20
Avalon
Major Dude
 
Avalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,123
Send a message via AIM to Avalon
My computer rocks... it's the stuff that's outside of it that sucks.
Avalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2002, 04:21   #21
White Raven
Little Winged One
 
White Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada, now UK
Posts: 4,165
My Comp

Not sucky, not beautifully droolingly wonderful.

T1440 eMachine
Windows Xp
1.40 GHz Intel Celeron Processor
128MB SDRAM
40 GB Harddrive Ultra DMA

Meh. It's silver and black and it looks really awesome. It's better than my Win95, which was evil and had a plot to take over the world, by starting by making me insane... (It didn't however, seeing as I was as insane as humanly possible already. Just read my 'Theory of the End of the Spice Girls' post in my thread, 'Zig-A-Zig-Ha!' and you'll see exactly what I mean.)
OLD WIN 95 INTERNET SESSION:

10 minutes to open browser
40 minutes to load page
5 minutes to be able to type in address
1 minute to search for the page
5 minutes to load the page
Freezes.

Repeat.
(Randomly add in another 25 minutes to load pop-ups.)

And this was with Shaw, so we switched to Telus. Same results. So, we bought a new computer that doesn't do that. Switched back to Shaw 'coz it's cheaper.

just as feathery as ever | portfolio | a poignant quote
White Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump