Old 5th October 2001, 17:33   #1
KaiDream
Junior Member
 
KaiDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to KaiDream Send a message via Yahoo to KaiDream
Dual Monitor Support and stuff

Is there any plans for AVS to have dual monitor support similar to Giess's MilkDrop and if no what would be the recomended way to get AVS to work on a secondary video card?

Also is there a way to overlay the song title over AVS (also similar to MilkDrop)..

Thanks soo much!
KaiDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2001, 19:34   #2
LittleBuddy88
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to LittleBuddy88
I don't know about dual screens, but i don't think it will be possible, try asking justin about it
About the song text, it's only possible without overlaying it(it just dissapears after a few sec), go to display settings and disable "supress title text". that's it


Linus
LittleBuddy88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2001, 08:44   #3
Tonic
Senior Member
 
Tonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Sofia,Bulgaria
Posts: 137
Corrently if you have DuaL Video card like Matrox DualHead or nVidia TwinView you can use one fetures to display AVS on second monitor. fetures is "zooming part of primary display on secondary" so you can zoom only AVS window. This is better because second monitor (ot may be TV) may be farr from you but when AVS window is still on your primary display. So your can control AVS in real time.

Tonic
Tonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2001, 15:14   #4
KaiDream
Junior Member
 
KaiDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to KaiDream Send a message via Yahoo to KaiDream
THanks!

Thanks for the input you guys, while fiddling around with it for a bit i completly forgot that my video card (this is in a latop) allows be to change the primary desktop so i switch the latop to secondary and the ntsc output to primary.. works like a charm i just move everything to the secondary laptop and no one know the difference (i was using it as a local party)..

Great Job guys!

Ray
KaiDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2001, 15:32   #5
Scarface2k1
Banned
 
Scarface2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: i dont get out much so i dont remember
Posts: 1,032
Send a message via ICQ to Scarface2k1 Send a message via AIM to Scarface2k1 Send a message via Yahoo to Scarface2k1
well ATI Radeon has support for TV out on the card itself, so basically i could have my monitor on and have a tv hooked up at the same time
Scarface2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2001, 15:42   #6
KaiDream
Junior Member
 
KaiDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to KaiDream Send a message via Yahoo to KaiDream
true i could have just outputed the desktop but when i'm doing this i have other programs running that I need to see the status of (basicly allowing me to output to the party and allowing me to monitor the system and it's resources to make to it doesn't bork)..


I have a Dell Inspiron 7500 with the ATI Mobility 3d card, 128mb ram, Celroon 400 and AVS runs great in Full screen Overlay mode to ntsc out.

Next step to start working on some AVS's (I have to give props to the person who made the 2nd Reality AVS.. looks soo much like the real thing, bring back memories of the old demo scene)..
KaiDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2001, 16:51   #7
transfrmr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 157
Me too..

I'm doing the same thing,

I just did my first party, and I'm using dual video cards.

My setup's a little different though, I have an (AGP) 3d prophet II MX running to my monitor(primary desktop) and an ATI Mach 64 (PCI) runing to a tv/projector as the secondary desktop. I run Avs in a window that fills thesecondary desktop, getting rid of the frame at the edges, I overlay it onto the primary desktop, and tweak it using the config menu on the primary desktop live. Thus I can manipulate the presets live and not jut show pre-designed presets.
I like it a lot, and so did s lot of people at my first gig.

Good luck!
transfrmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2001, 16:59   #8
KaiDream
Junior Member
 
KaiDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to KaiDream Send a message via Yahoo to KaiDream
ditto

People liked it alot too on my side, so far popularity wise the list goes like this:

1: AVS
2: MilkDrop
3: Arkaos
4: aestesis 98

but i think i'll stick with AVS for now on.. There's a site i go to alot for VIS info you might like to check out (if you don't already know it already)
http://www.audiovisualizers.com/
KaiDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump