Old 18th August 2004, 14:17   #1
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Drivers and OS question (in downgrade)

If things go nuts about XP SP 2, maybe I'll downgrade from XP to WinME or Win2K.

I'm going to back-up all my drivers from my current XP (modem, soundcard, LAN card).

My question is, since my drivers are from XP, do you think they work in another OS, but same PC?


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2004, 14:21   #2
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 7,999
Nope, Xp drivers wont work on ME, and I'm fairly sure there not 2000 compatible either.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2004, 14:22   #3
ctn|chrisw
Forum King
 
ctn|chrisw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,309
You might be able to use them in 2k, but I doubt ME. BUT, do not use ME. It is window's retarded step child. It sucks ass.


ctn|chrisw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2004, 14:23   #4
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 7,999
It works fine here, works better than Xp most of the time.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2004, 15:28   #5
lostonline
Where am I?
(Major Dude)
 
lostonline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 680
If things don't work with SP2 then just use XP with SP1 and all other updates but leave off SP2, no need to go to another version of Windows. If you are going to another version go with 2000, don't go with Me (98SE would be better than that).

Kids, you tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.
--
Homer Simpson
lostonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2004, 17:46   #6
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
98SE isn't really that bad

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2004, 17:50   #7
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
i like 98se. worked really well for me. never had many problems with it. the registry got damaged once and i had to format to fix it but i still like 98se. i'm using win2k pro right now. has cooler stuff than 98se.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2004, 18:19   #8
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Yeah, but 2K's SP is about 80 MB... I think

easier than XP's SP 2...


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2004, 18:19   #9
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
Do not use ME. And 98 isn't going to be very useful for much longer. If you don't plan on using any new software, fair enough with 98, otherwise no. XP is many times better than 98 (from a technical standpoint), though, but if it works for you. And yes, use 98SE.

It's hard to recommend 2k over XP now, XP is faster and runs on the same backing system. I'd personally recommend you find out whatever the problem is if something goes wrong.

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2004, 19:00   #10
lostonline
Where am I?
(Major Dude)
 
lostonline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 680
Quote:
Originally posted by k_rock923
98SE isn't really that bad
I know, it's much better than Me if you want to go with Win 9x.

Kids, you tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.
--
Homer Simpson
lostonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2004, 19:43   #11
Nofx Guy
Major Dude
 
Nofx Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: under a rock
Posts: 998
Send a message via ICQ to Nofx Guy
Windows ME = Windows Mistake Edition

www.audioflo.ath.cx
All music, All the Time
Nofx Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2004, 19:47   #12
Avalon
Major Dude
 
Avalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,123
Send a message via AIM to Avalon
What, there aren't any "SWITCH TO LINUX" people here?

Windows 2k will work for you, wait till big M actually finishes finalizing its problems with XP SP 2
Avalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump