Old 17th March 2008, 01:08   #1
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Power Supplies

I need to order a new power supply up for an HP Media Center PC m7674n (the other one is dead in the water) but I've had no experience with ordering power supplies. The HDD is a sata and the spec sheet is available here.

Anyone have something cheap that will last off of Newegg or something reputable?
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2008, 04:21   #2
aFfLiCtEd
Major Dude
 
aFfLiCtEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Over Here
Posts: 876
I have a couple that came off of this HP machine. I don't know if that's what you're after or not but I do know that one of them is brand new and has never been powered up. Is this close to anything you're after?
aFfLiCtEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2008, 04:31   #3
General Geoff
Major Dude
 
General Geoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Allentown, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,254
Send a message via ICQ to General Geoff Send a message via AIM to General Geoff
Power supplies aren't something you want to skimp on. I'd recommend getting an Antec earthwatts 500w or thereabouts, they run about $50-$60.

General Geoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2008, 05:21   #4
aFfLiCtEd
Major Dude
 
aFfLiCtEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Over Here
Posts: 876
Yeah, I just checked and these are only ½ that.
aFfLiCtEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2008, 12:23   #5
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Quote:
Originally posted by General Geoff
Power supplies aren't something you want to skimp on. I'd recommend getting an Antec earthwatts 500w or thereabouts, they run about $50-$60.
Will that work in the HP I posted above..?
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2008, 12:36   #6
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
Don't HPs use some kind of weird proprietary supply. I know Compaq and just about everyone else used to do that.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2008, 13:20   #7
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Quote:
Originally posted by tuckerm
Will that work in the HP I posted above..?
If the old one's an ATX psu it'll probably work.
Otherwise, there's one smaller standardised form factor, in that case you'd still have some choice. If it's proprietary though...

I'd also check whether you really need 500W. Else you could either save some money or get a model with 12cm fan instead (eg. a 330W or 380W Seasonic S12, at least some of the better Antec psus are made by Seasonic as well btw).
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2008, 16:55   #8
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
I'd advise not to skimp too... I myself had countless problems with cheap and low grade power supplies... they only stopped when I limited myself to buying a high quality and overpowered one (500W for my old P4 with its 4 HDDs and GeForce 7800). Now I haven't actually built a computer for over a year and a half I am not so sure... but I would be surprised if you need anything more than 400-500W for a modern PC loaded with HDDs and graphics cards and things...

Power supplies are cheap though... just don't go for that 10$ one you see in your local computer retailer... it will probably melt three days after the warranty expires.

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2008, 21:34   #9
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,581
Go to this site; it'll tell you exactly how much power you need.


/I looked at your specs and found out for you. A quality 300w ATX power supply should suffice.

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2008, 21:41   #10
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
I'd go for a minimum of 350w. Just to be on the safe side.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2008, 23:14   #11
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 7,999
Quote:
Originally posted by Psythik
Go to this site; it'll tell you exactly how much power you need.


/I looked at your specs and found out for you. A quality 300w ATX power supply should suffice.
I dont think that site is too reliable, it seems to reckon that my rig could run on 292w.

Even factoring in the features built into the motherboard as PCI card it reads as 306w by there standards. I think they go by published figures rather than real world tests.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 01:45   #12
Namelessv1
Forum King
 
Namelessv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,757
Quote:
Originally posted by Vie
I dont think that site is too reliable, it seems to reckon that my rig could run on 292w.

Even factoring in the features built into the motherboard as PCI card it reads as 306w by there standards. I think they go by published figures rather than real world tests.
Same here. I configured my rig but added a second 8800 GT card for SLI, and it said it would only be 434w.
Namelessv1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 03:12   #13
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Will this work then:

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Ultra...oductDetail.do
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 03:37   #14
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
What's the old power supply rated at?

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 10:45   #15
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Ultra?

edit: I see, it's a US brand. Still doesn't look terribly trustworthy.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 23:40   #16
General Geoff
Major Dude
 
General Geoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Allentown, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,254
Send a message via ICQ to General Geoff Send a message via AIM to General Geoff
Antec, PC Power & Cooling, or gtfh.

General Geoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2008, 23:57   #17
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Er, Antec's just rebadging too.

(guess who makes the EarthWatts)
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 00:05   #18
General Geoff
Major Dude
 
General Geoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Allentown, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,254
Send a message via ICQ to General Geoff Send a message via AIM to General Geoff
The Antec line is fairly different from Seasonic's, so it's kinda like calling Linksys a rebadged Cisco.

General Geoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 00:46   #19
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Component and build quality are pretty much the same though, for those models that are built by Seasonic that is.

Currently they seem to only use quality OEMs, but that wasn't always the case:
Quote:
Over the years Antec has used a number of OEM providers for their power supplies including HEC, CWT, FSP, Enhance, and recently Seasonic. Some of the older Antec/CWT solutions were notorious for being plagued by the “Fuhjiyyu sudden death syndrome” but in the last year or so Antec has dropped these older designs in favor of new products from FSP (Basiq), Seasonic (TP3, NeoHE, EarthWatts), and Enhance (Quattro).
(http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/articl...50aHVzaWFzdA==)
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 06:42   #20
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
most major computer retailers should have what you looking for and most will be able to help you find what you need

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 06:44   #21
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
gotta ask how did you lose the power supply to water damage

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 21:00   #22
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Can the thread please be locked at my request?
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 21:58   #23
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
So you won't tell us about your failed water cooling experiment?

(if anybody who knows what I'm referring to still has the link...)
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 22:06   #24
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Lol no, the guy wanted it done by today. HP was out of them and such and by the time I would have gotten the parts it was too late.
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2008, 22:27   #25
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
found it

(I think, I remember the first post being longer and more detailed though...)
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump