Old 19th September 2003, 13:35   #81
brainsucker
Senior Member
 
brainsucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Posts: 190
Send a message via ICQ to brainsucker
bright idea Kichik
I'll check and update a bit later...
brainsucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2003, 18:38   #82
brainsucker
Senior Member
 
brainsucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Posts: 190
Send a message via ICQ to brainsucker
Fixed. Now uses 16x16 as default icon size. The previous behaviour could be selected by '.' flag before f, s, or i.
Attached Files
File Type: zip notifyicon3.zip (9.6 KB, 992 views)
brainsucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2003, 10:40   #83
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Uploaded.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2003, 10:46   #84
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
My icon file has a 16x16 icon in it too, but it shows up correctly on the older dll.
Maybe it's the program you used to create the icon.
Also, I'm sure the order of the icons inside the file can affect which icon(s) is used.

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2005, 19:19   #85
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,363
would it be possible to add a flag, that minimizes the installer to the tray when one clicks on the minimize icon?
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2005, 20:14   #86
flyakite
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to flyakite Send a message via Yahoo to flyakite
Would it be possible to add a feature that when you click on the balloon it calls a function? I have a balloon tip appear when an app. is run silently, and I would like that when you click on the tip it shows a message box asking the user if they would like to restart.
flyakite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 13:31   #87
BioDuo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally posted by flyakite
Would it be possible to add a feature that when you click on the balloon it calls a function?
I would love so such an option.

I think I found a bug:
When I run NotifyIcon::Icon /NOUNLOAD in the .onInit or with SilentInstall enabled, at the moment the mouse goes over the trayicon, it simply disappears.
BioDuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 14:14   #88
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
I think it's already mentioned in this topic (or in the readme I can't remember) but you can't call the plugin in .onInit because at that point the GUI has not been initialised yet. Notification icons are tied with a Windows GUI and therefore you should call the plugin while the window is in memory - in .onGUIInit. Also, to remove it call in .onGUIEnd.

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 20:23   #89
rmccue
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Where does it access the icon from?
With the default it works but not with my custom one
Does the icon need to be extracted with File
rmccue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 21:07   #90
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
If you don't specify the default icon (105) you specify a full path to an icon file which logically you'd need to extract .

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 06:09   #91
rmccue
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Instead of using X:\t could I use \t ?
rmccue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 15:19   #92
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Just extract the icon to $PLUGINSDIR and give it that path.

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2006, 03:22   #93
rmccue
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Still doesn't work
I have extracted to C:\icon.ico
but still doesn't work
Using
NotifyIcon::Icon /NOUNLOAD "fpb" "C:\icon.ico" "START" "Balloon!" "Cool!"
rmccue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2006, 04:04   #94
rmccue
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Oops
Working now
Forgot to add y
rmccue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2006, 06:18   #95
rmccue
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
When you use this in conjuction with wansis, the skin window stays up.
Is there a way to fix this???
rmccue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2006, 15:04   #96
stevelam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by rmccue
When you use this in conjuction with wansis, the skin window stays up.
Is there a way to fix this???
Hey rmccue I knew it would be you when I saw the topic title on the NSIS homepage!
stevelam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2006, 22:12   #97
rmccue
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Hi Steve
But can anyone answer my q?
rmccue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2006, 20:21   #98
rmccue
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Maybe call a custom function on minimize and maximize
rmccue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2006, 09:33   #99
BioDuo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
My program notfies the user if something happens and displays it in a balloon (yeah,.. really! :P)

But I want that if the user click on the balloon a certain action is performed, how do I do that?
BioDuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2006, 18:14   #100
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
There isn't a way I'm afraid.

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2006, 21:12   #101
Mr Inches
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 76
So I wonder how that (annoying) "Take the Windows Tour" balloon and the "Windows Update" ballon do it then, they launch Wizards/applications when you click on them...

I think this is the functionality that is sought.

I might take a look, it would be interesting to know its done.

Duncan
Mr Inches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2006, 22:28   #102
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
There is no way via a run-time plugin to call an internal NSIS function from some event. For this to be possible we'd need modifications to the original NSIS source code, or perhaps when compiler plugin support is added this will be possible. I doubt it will get implemented because this would add to installer overhead no doubt.

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2006, 22:55   #103
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Actually, you can already call NSIS functions from plug-ins. ExecuteCodeSegment is exported to plug-ins through the extra_parameters structure passed on as the fifth function argument. However, the scripting engine is not multi-threaded, so it's up to the plug-in to synchronize it.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2006, 23:38   #104
rmccue
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Anyway, how would I get it to shrink the wansis window? I'm using FindWindow, ShowWindow in a custom function.
rmccue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2008, 13:27   #105
zeeh3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
I need some help here... the plugin doesn't allow me to HideWindow and I can't get "p" nor "!p" params to work with the NotifyIcon.nsi that comes in zip file (v0.2).
zeeh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 08:25   #106
Alfaromeo
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 73
I need to show the system tray icon during an upgrade process. The upgrade will be triggered using the silent switch to make it silent.
Is this feasible using the NotifyIcon plugin ? If not what are my options.
Alfaromeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 12:30   #107
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
It's been a while since I looked at the code but it probably doesn't show any notification icon if the installer is silent. If that is the case you would need to modify the plugin to allow a force show option or something that overrides this behaviour. If you don't use the plugin you'll be using System with a lot of SendMessage lines (which the Win32 macros use internally) so it'd be pretty painful.

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 13:27   #108
Alfaromeo
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 73
Yes it is a nice switch to have because on silent , this can be a kind of notification to the user .
I'm surely in dire need of this.
Alfaromeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2014, 11:58   #109
hugo_ht
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Unicode

Is there anyway to get this plugin to work with the Nsis Unicode version?
hugo_ht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2014, 13:18   #110
JasonFriday13
Major Dude
 
JasonFriday13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 881
I've had a quick look, it looks easy enough but I can't promise anything.

"Only a MouseHelmet will save you from a MouseTrap" -Jason Ross (Me)
NSIS 3 POSIX Ninja
Wiki Profile
JasonFriday13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2014, 11:47   #111
JasonFriday13
Major Dude
 
JasonFriday13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 881
So I've uploaded a new version to the wiki: http://nsis.sourceforge.net/NotifyIcon_plug-in.

It has both ansi and unicode versions included, plus tweaks to the code so that it runs on x64 (yes, I did test the x64 build ).

Enjoy .

"Only a MouseHelmet will save you from a MouseTrap" -Jason Ross (Me)
NSIS 3 POSIX Ninja
Wiki Profile
JasonFriday13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2014, 10:57   #112
JasonFriday13
Major Dude
 
JasonFriday13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 881
So I've made another update, details:

v0.4, Removed msvcr*.dll dependency, extra tweaks to unloading code.

Available at: http://nsis.sourceforge.net/NotifyIcon_plug-in.

"Only a MouseHelmet will save you from a MouseTrap" -Jason Ross (Me)
NSIS 3 POSIX Ninja
Wiki Profile
JasonFriday13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2016, 14:29   #113
Marshallx7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
There is an issue with the plugin when the installer is launched with a different SW_ value, for example, when I launch the installer with SW_SHOWMINNOACTIVE and call NotifyIcon::Icon during onGUIInit or first page show the installer does not start minimized but instead starts visible.
This is because NotifyIcon calls ShowWindow, which discards the startup SW_ value.

As far as I can tell, NotifyIcon needs to call ShowWindow to affect the taskbar icon.
However, NSIS doesn't call ShowWindow until after onGUIInit, so startup value is not processed until then.

My C++ knowledge is limited, so I don't know whether or not there is a way to postpone calling ShowWindow, or if this is a feature that NSIS must provide.

EDIT: I think this maybe solely an NSIS limitation. See
https://sourceforge.net/p/nsis/bugs/1163/

Last edited by Marshallx7; 21st November 2016 at 15:52.
Marshallx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump