Old 14th January 2008, 23:00   #1
dc5r
Junior Member
 
dc5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 9
Compilation with ml_ipod

hey guys,

when i upload a compilation into my 6G ipod, is there a way to change the artist name to "various artists" instead of the first artist on a compilation? i've noticed this during the "coverflow" option in the ipod.

that is, when i use the coverflow option to surf my albums, compilations show up with the first artist's name below the album name.

i've searched and can't really find an answer to fix this to show "various artists" instead on the coverflow.

btw, just found out about ml_ipod and love it. keep up the good work abu and company.

thanks.
dc5r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2008, 07:04   #2
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Does anybody know how iTunes handles this issue?

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2008, 17:51   #3
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
You'd think coverflow would use the "album artist" field (which should be Various Artists in case of a compilation), but... does the iTunesDB have a field for that?

Windows 7 Beta
iPod touch (Second Generation), 8GB
Winamp 5.55 with ml_iPod 3.08
fatcerberus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2008, 19:25   #4
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
I haven't understood at all what the album artist field is for. But this would be a good point.

So, for regular albums, the album artist is always the same as "artist", only for compilations it's different? Is that how this field is to be used?

Regarding the DB: I think the iTunesDB has an optional MHOD for this...

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 05:57   #5
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
Album Artist is, generally speaking, used to specify the main artist for an album which includes other artists (in the case of compilations, there is no main artist, so it's usually set to Various Artists or something similar).

Here's an example: say you have an album with songs that are mainly by one artist (let's call him ArtistA), but with a song or two by a guest (we'll call him ArtistB). The song(s) by ArtistB would have "ArtistB" in the artist field and ArtistA in the Album Artist field.

Album Artist is useful for album-based browsing (e.g. coverflow), because it guarantees you'll see "Album by ArtistA" and not "Album by ArtistB", regardless of which track is picked to get the metadata.

Windows 7 Beta
iPod touch (Second Generation), 8GB
Winamp 5.55 with ml_iPod 3.08
fatcerberus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 07:19   #6
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Thanks for the clarification. There is already a FR (http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index...28&atid=644707) that requests the album artist field in ml_iPod. I guess that would solve all the problems, so I might work on that next.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 11:16   #7
logaen
Member
 
logaen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 80
I know how itunes recognize compilation :-)

You must use the id3 tag: ITUNESCOMPILATION = 1
And your complitaion will work perfect with ipod's coverflow.
Obviously the album name must be the same! ;-)

"Album artists" filed doesn't works correctly!
logaen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 14:48   #8
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
There is no such ID3 tag. All ID3 tags have 4 letters, and none of them is iTunes specific...

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 15:51   #9
logaen
Member
 
logaen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally posted by abu
There is no such ID3 tag. All ID3 tags have 4 letters, and none of them is iTunes specific...
Whit ID3v2.3 yes (if you tag your compilation with itunes it put this tag too).

There's a lot into the mp3tag forum:
http://www.anytag.de/forums/index.ph...NESCOMPILATION
http://www.anytag.de/forums/index.php?showtopic=3769
http://www.anytag.de/forums/index.ph...NESCOMPILATION

Look my screen shot i don't use any "album artists" tag.
Just ITUNESCOMPILATION = 1 for my compilation.

logaen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 16:36   #10
frauhottelmann
Senior Member
 
frauhottelmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 162
When I had my iPod that always worked perfect. I think we already talked about this some time ago, but maybe not... Anyways this tag works with ml_iPod just like with iTunes!

ml_Ipod-Wiki
iPod Classic Black 80GB
-
Samsung Galaxy S
frauhottelmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 19:22   #11
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
The corresponding ID3 frame is called "TCMP" and is read by ml_ipod. But it is non standard, only used by iTunes.
http://www.unicom.com/chrome/a/001250.html :
"...Apple iTunes has added a non-standard TCMP tag which is set to a "1" value for songs that are part of a compilation."

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2008, 02:57   #12
dc5r
Junior Member
 
dc5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 9
is there a solution to this... or just something not built into the base coding of the iPod?
dc5r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2008, 06:39   #13
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
If you use the latest patch, you have the new field "album artist". Then put "Various artists" into this field for all the tracks, and that will show in cover flow.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2008, 17:26   #14
dc5r
Junior Member
 
dc5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 9
you sir, are amazing. thanks so much guys. keep up the good work !!!
dc5r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2008, 23:38   #15
dc5r
Junior Member
 
dc5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 9
abu, tried it out with the updated ml_ipod... can't get it to work.

i right clicked the album name, and clicked onto "Edit Item(s) Information"

filled in "Various Artists" under the Album Artist, ejected my ipod, and still the same result.

any ideas what i'm doing wrong? thanks.
dc5r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2008, 09:19   #16
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Hm, that should work. I need some more information to gain some insight. Maybe a debugging archive helps, create it with
"RightClick on the iPod icon in the Media Library-->Help-->Create archive for bug report"
and upload it to http://stashbox.org for me... Thanks

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2008, 15:58   #17
dc5r
Junior Member
 
dc5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 9
abu,

http://stashbox.org/73403/iPod-I-2008-01-19-1025.zip
dc5r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2008, 16:23   #18
xamphear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 106
I deleted an album from my ipod, resynced it, and when it was complete I verified that the album artist column was working.

I ejected, reconnected, and the album artist was still present.

Perhaps a full purge and re-sync will be necessary to add album artist data for all tracks.

Also:

Would it be possible in a future revision to add sorting by "Album Artist" to the sort button?
xamphear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2008, 10:51   #19
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
dc5r, your files look fine. Probably you don't have the newest firmware, 1.1 is latest for the classic. Update it with iTunes, then it should work (I had to update myself to make it work).

xamphear: You can already sort by that by clicking the column header.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2008, 17:17   #20
dc5r
Junior Member
 
dc5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 9
thanks abu. didn't know there was new firmware. i'm against installing itunes onto my computer, but i guess i'll have to do it for this sake.

update: it works!!!! you rock abu. many thanks yet again!
dc5r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2008, 21:14   #21
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Glad to hear that.
Yeah, shame on Apple that they force us to install iTunes simply to update the firmware!

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2008, 15:46   #22
xamphear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally posted by abu
xamphear: You can already sort by that by clicking the column header.
Does that sorting carry over back onto the iPod so that the playlist is sorted that way?
xamphear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2008, 15:50   #23
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
If it's not a live playlist, yes.
For live ones, I don't know, but I doubt it

EDIT: There seems to be no ID to sort by that field in live SPLs (restriction by Apple) So just check if it works the way you expect.
Everything else is in p34 now: The menu item; quick search works in album artist now; and album artist is updated if you do a "Refresh album art and metadata" on specific items.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE

Last edited by abu; 21st January 2008 at 21:26.
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2008, 22:48   #24
xamphear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 106
I don't use any Live playlists, only Smart ones. With that said:

I can confirm that simply clicking the column headers does not affect sort order on the iPod itself. The sort button down below is the only way to achieve this effect.

Also, the patches page is broken, and p34 isn't on the server.

Gah, I'm such a complainer.
xamphear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 08:10   #25
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Seemed to be a server issue. It's ok now...

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 14:40   #26
xamphear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 106
Yep, just downloaded p34 and it works great. Sorting by album artist is such a boon, thanks so much.
xamphear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 15:26   #27
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
You're welcome - and thanks for the donation I just received!

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 19:37   #28
xamphear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 106
It was absolutely deserved.

Now, to push my luck:

In the main ml_ipod view, there's the two lists that sit on top of the songs list, one shows Artists and the other shows Albums... I bet you can guess what I'm about to ask...

Could there be an option to have the Artist list show Album Artists instead? That way, it culls out all the artists from compilations that only have a track or two.

It might sound silly, but in my collection alone, I have 1638 Artists, but only 296 Album Artists!!
xamphear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 19:50   #29
frauhottelmann
Senior Member
 
frauhottelmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 162
I am not sure if this works in ml_iPod, but look at the picture, select this button and select Album Artist/Album!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg unbenannt.jpg (52.1 KB, 145 views)

ml_Ipod-Wiki
iPod Classic Black 80GB
-
Samsung Galaxy S
frauhottelmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 20:00   #30
xamphear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 106
Thanks for the pic, but that only works in the new PMP interface. ml_ipod isn't a pmp_ plugin. pmp_ipod is, but it doesn't have half the features ml_ipod does, nor such a great and responsive developer!
xamphear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 20:04   #31
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
That could be done, but it is a bit more work. So probably not for 3.03 which shall be out in a few days.
Please add this to the feature request list at SF, to insure that it gets tracked. Thanks.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 20:13   #32
xamphear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 106
Thanks, will do!
xamphear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 20:44   #33
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Version 3.02p37
* new: hidden setting usealbumartist for the main view
set "usealbumartist=1" in ipod inifile to use it

This is a quick patch, just for you to try. No GUI to set this, yet. We are in the process of translation, so there are no GUI changes right now.

(More on hidden settings: http://mlipod.sourceforge.net/wiki/Hidden_settings )

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2008, 14:08   #34
xamphear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 106
Works like a charm! Absolutely perfect!
xamphear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2008, 14:54   #35
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Really? I'm surprised, that was a 20 min. hack... I expect some issues with it!

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2008, 17:10   #36
xamphear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 106
Nope, it functions great (quicksearch, doubleclicking to play, etc...) and the number of album artists exactly matches Winamp's ML count for my local library. I call that perfect.
xamphear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2008, 19:02   #37
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Ha, I found one buggy part (I knew there must be something): The "SendTo playlist..." does not work. Nor does the "Edit items" or "Copy to harddisk", if you right click in the upper left part of the view. So there is still some way to go, but until that is done, you can still use it with the current flaws.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2008, 19:55   #38
xamphear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 106
Ah, well, I don't use those functions myself, so it's still perfect in my book!

Having only used it for a just few hours, it's really great. I like being able to browse the artists on my iPod, without drowning in a list of 1200 one hit wonders.
xamphear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2008, 21:21   #39
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
3.02p38 has some fixes for this. Now it should really work.

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2008, 12:56   #40
midimid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
As abu mentioned, this requires the 1.1 update on the Classic (obviously, as well as the p38 patch).

Curious though - I'm reading about problems with the 1.1 Classic update. Is it worth my time?

http://peterepublic.org/archives/200...d_classic.html
midimid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp iPod Plugin Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump