Old 22nd May 2014, 00:46   #1
Dumbunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 12
drop in volume

Winamp' volume has dropped considerably. I have the volume slider at 100% . Lately I have had to set my speaker volume at 100% as well, and the resulting volume is still low and muffled. It's not a problem with the computer, as Windows Media plays loud and clear with speaker volume set at 60%.
Dumbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2014, 02:28   #2
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
See if this thread helps :

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=331437

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2014, 15:59   #3
Dumbunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 12
Drop in volume

Thanks Ujay. It works fine now.
Dumbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2014, 16:22   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
wonder what caused the level to be dropped since we [Winamp] don't intentionally do it unless using Waveout (out_wave.dll) as the output plug-in (which is only like that as a side-effect of how that works vs the newer audio system on Vista and more recent).

as i could add something that will force the Winamp per-session level to 100% if using the DirectSound (out_ds.dll) though i can see that possibly causing other issues if someone has purposefully lowered the per-session level from 100%. it wouldn't be needed for Waveout since that will already adjust the level again due to how that works since the Directsound output controls the volume level in a different manner.

[note: this is mainly ramblings on my part so i've something to track back at a later date]
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2014, 20:24   #5
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Hi daz,

I've always got the impression the level could be dropped if the input plugin was bypassing Winamp's output plugin, e.g. in_tara takes full control of both input and output so Winamp itself is blind during this period. Maybe this is also the case with in_midi.
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2014, 20:34   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that could do it as well depending on the mode it is using. generally anything doing a Win3.x/Win9x style audio handling (like Waveout does) will typically control the volume directly instead of the fake volume control like DirectSound does.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump