Old 27th May 2005, 15:21   #1
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
Extention to fool web pagers into thinking FF is IE

A while ago someone was talking about an extention that made web pages think it was IE. I've googled and searched here, but I didn't find anything. With my luck I'll find it now that I've made this thread, but oh well.
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 15:23   #2
MStar
Major Dude
 
MStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hardcore Heaven
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via ICQ to MStar Send a message via AIM to MStar Send a message via Yahoo to MStar
https://addons.mozilla.org/extension...=firefox&id=59

MStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 16:27   #3
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Or http://www.extensionsmirror.nl/index.php?showtopic=710
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 16:29   #4
. - .... .- -. ....
Backpacking
Moderator
 
. - .... .- -. ....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: საქართველო (Georgia)
Posts: 10,104
Send a message via ICQ to . - .... .- -. .... Send a message via Yahoo to . - .... .- -. ....
Why would you want to do this?

Like my photography? Buy some here....
. - .... .- -. .... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 17:31   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
for some kinky fetish (or just for the fact it can be done for testing pages or something, dunno)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 17:51   #6
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
For compatiblity issues. Opera can identify itself as IE, Mozilla or Opera. Some pages even have this "Sorry you need Internet Explorer to view this page." or any of the others, filtring out some users, cause they didn't do a good enough job on their webpage to publish it with any other browser they buildt it with.

Get my point eh... I even confused myself there

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 18:39   #7
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
Quote:
Originally posted by ethan_h
Why would you want to do this?
I wanna see if I can use firefox to download windos updates and clipart from the microsoft website. Currently I cant becuase I am not using a proper browser or something like that.
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2005, 19:09   #8
xzxzzx
Forum King
 
xzxzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,254
Quote:
Originally posted by dlinkwit27
I wanna see if I can use firefox to download windos updates and clipart from the microsoft website. Currently I cant becuase I am not using a proper browser or something like that.
You can't. Windows Update uses ActiveX controls.

Freedom of speech is the basic freedom of humanity. When you've lost that, you've lost everything.
1\/\/4y 34|<$p4y 1gp4y 33714y, 0d4y 0uy4y? | Roses are #FF0000; Violets are #0000FF; chown -R ${YOU} ~/base
The DMCA. It really is that bad. : Count for your life.
xzxzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2005, 22:18   #9
yenerich
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 295
FF dont use ActiveX, is like Flinstones browser :P
yenerich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2005, 00:27   #10
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,088
I've set Maxthon to standard browser. Still then it doesn't work for me, leave alone FF would do it. Windows needs IE somehow I fear... Just like micro$oft always needs other micro$oft software to work proper..

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump