Old 31st August 2005, 15:15   #1
GoldenSphynx
Forum King
 
GoldenSphynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,738
school ethernet blocked file sharing

need some quick help. any way to get kazaa or winmx workingg? i managed to get it to connect to the sharing networks but it wont start a download.
GoldenSphynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 15:24   #2
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
what port does it run?
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 16:15   #3
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
proxy over port 80 or port 8080.

winmx is port tcp6699 and udp6257 by default but you can change it to whatever you want.

only idiots use kazaa and/or winmx these days.

bit torrent pwnz
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 16:26   #4
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,071
Quote:
Originally posted by Rocker


only idiots use kazaa and/or winmx these days.
it's a great source to get a virus on your system, you can not argue with that Rocker!

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 17:12   #5
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
why are you trying to download music at school anyways? isn't it against the rules or something? how would you burn a CD if the computer doesn't have a burner?

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 17:15   #6
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,088
That totally depends on your network and user permissions.
Good chances that it simply isn't possible for you.

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 17:16   #7
. - .... .- -. ....
Backpacking
Moderator
 
. - .... .- -. ....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: საქართველო (Georgia)
Posts: 10,104
Send a message via ICQ to . - .... .- -. .... Send a message via Yahoo to . - .... .- -. ....
Quote:
Originally posted by deeder7001
how would you burn a CD if the computer doesn't have a burner?
What does this have to do with anything????

Like my photography? Buy some here....
. - .... .- -. .... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 17:19   #8
mysterious_w
Forum King
 
mysterious_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Good ol' Britain
Posts: 2,750
Well, if he's downloading music from p2p at school, he's gonna need to take it home somehow.




mysterious_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 17:23   #9
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
flash drive
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 17:32   #10
Evil Lu
Forum Maitresse
 
Evil Lu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: I'm hiding under your bed
Posts: 2,974
Bloody do your downloading at home. School is for learning things not hacking the networks. Naughty!
Evil Lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 17:53   #11
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
/meh got my haxor site up to bypass school's network up today as school starts tommarow
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 20:31   #12
mysterious_w
Forum King
 
mysterious_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Good ol' Britain
Posts: 2,750
The top computer guy made a program last year to let us chat to each other over the school LAN.

It was password protected and we each had our own account, and also gave us access to command prompt, telnet, system information (changing computer names to "(admin's name) is in the BNP" was fun) and errr.. memory crash .

Best part was, with a flick of one of the function buttons, it would change to a screenshot of MSword




mysterious_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 20:35   #13
Evil Lu
Forum Maitresse
 
Evil Lu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: I'm hiding under your bed
Posts: 2,974
Think yourselves blessed. When I was at school (in the land of the dinosaurs) we had these



32 whole kilobytes of memory. Hardcore were the days of no internet.
Evil Lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 20:37   #14
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Man, those were excellent, I run a BBC emulator on my Gameboy these days, Acorn in the pocket, so to speak.

Plays authentic Elite as well for good measure

/man, Lu do you know your avatar keeps perfect timing with Donna Summer 'I feel love' creepy....
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 20:38   #15
Evil Lu
Forum Maitresse
 
Evil Lu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: I'm hiding under your bed
Posts: 2,974
I have Beebem on here so I can play Snapper and Frak, never got the hang of Elite, must be a boys toy.

edit/ Donna Summer? Arrghhh nasty. I must make a new avatar.
Evil Lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 20:42   #16
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
haha, I used to play Frak at the back of the comp studies class with the sound turned off, fucked me over good and proper one day when someone turned the monitor sound back on and right up as well. :-O
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 20:56   #17
CaboWaboAddict
Forum Sot
(Major Dude)
 
CaboWaboAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga. U.S.A.
Posts: 3,916
Quote:
Originally posted by Evil Lu
Think yourselves blessed. When I was at school (in the land of the dinosaurs) we had these



32 whole kilobytes of memory. Hardcore were the days of no internet.


Think yourselves blessed. When I was at school (in the real land of the dinosaurs) we had these:


Idiot's Advocate
My site (under construction)
CaboWaboAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 22:02   #18
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the bbc mirco was class came really close to getting one with an original cub monitor when they were getting rid of them just before i left school (but then i thought nah and stuck with my ol' atari ste )

and as for the original question, strange how the admins are blocking things like that, couldn't possibly think why they'd want to do that and spoil everyone's fun... not :evilgrin:

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 22:16   #19
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,071
http://www.computermuseumgroningen.n...ererallbig.jpg

ah the good old days , the above on school and below our home system


Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 22:20   #20
Evil Lu
Forum Maitresse
 
Evil Lu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: I'm hiding under your bed
Posts: 2,974
One of my first computer memories was playing with Eliza when I was 5 (32 now).
My dad was chief of computer science at Sussex University so I got to go into work with him a lot and play with punch cards and annoy the operators on the uni network and print out crap onto reams and reams of paper. Long gone are the days of the black screens with the very slow green text on them. *nostalgic*
Evil Lu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 22:31   #21
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
Download tor and proxy through it. It'll be slow, but it's secure.

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 22:42   #22
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 8,000
http://www.old-computers.com/museum/...asp?st=1&c=709

I THINK that was the first computer I ever used, made a nice picture of a scarecrow.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2005, 01:04   #23
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Here's the first one I ever owned (not my picture).

http://www.machine-room.org/images/p...tair_Panel.jpg

You had to build these from a kit.

I think it had about 4k of memory. Mine was advanced, it ran CPM and a RS-232 text terminal.

The deal was is that you had to set a 60 or 70 byte bootstrap loader and hit a button to advance the memory index. Once you loaded that it would pull CPM from a tape drive.

So you had to set the toggle switches to the right binary number and hit the memory indexing button. For about 60 times!.

Not exactly like a reboot today.

I think the clock speed was about 100khz.

That is kilohertz, not megahertz.



EDIT: IT also weighed a mere 65 pounds.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2005, 01:12   #24
mike-db
Pancakes!
(Major Dude)
 
mike-db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colour, if you're, you know...
Posts: 3,523
Send a message via ICQ to mike-db
Turn off the proxy server. (my school had kazzaa and I always turned off proxy)

SEX APPEAL UP IN HERE!
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
mike-db is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2005, 01:23   #25
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
To make torrent work right, you'll need to have access to the router. I mean you could trickle stuff in, but torrents give you back what you put out.

Usually your trying to make the WAN address forward to the computer you are on the LAN. That's port 6881, by default.

If there is an external web server on any of the machines, and you have access to the router wiring, you could switch some wires. Of course the web server won't work anymore. But it would give you port 80.

You also might look at port 443, which is your rdp interface. You might find a weakness there.

.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2005, 02:18   #26
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally posted by mikwiththestick
Turn off the proxy server. (my school had kazzaa and I always turned off proxy)
Many networks require a connection through the proxy to use the Internet, which is where Tor comes in.
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2005, 02:20   #27
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
I still have a slide rule in my desk for approximate math. Now I really do feel old.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump