Old 25th March 2006, 19:14   #1
AG
Registered User
 
AG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SPAIN. BARCELONA.
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to AG Send a message via AIM to AG Send a message via Yahoo to AG
Ned help with DNS - urgent

Hi.
I'm looking any web site with professional forum about DNS , DHCP and IIS.
Please tell me to know any web address. thanks.

My problem is:
Have installed Primary and secondary DNS Servers.
System: Windows Server 2003.
Web Hosting with IIS 6.0
Have 5 domains. All domains working with one IP address. But need Help how to do configuration for every domain one own IP address.
Here I'm very confused.
Need help.
Thank you !

Last edited by AG; 25th March 2006 at 20:49.
AG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2006, 20:05   #2
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Get Plesk?. I dunno, that's the way I handle it. Then you can just use IP's according to your server "IP pool".

Configuring IIS is a hassle. Plesk does what you ask and database management, server extension installation etc.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2006, 20:30   #3
AG
Registered User
 
AG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SPAIN. BARCELONA.
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to AG Send a message via AIM to AG Send a message via Yahoo to AG
re

sorry.
I do not understand its answer.
Are you professional in DNS Servers ?
AG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2006, 21:08   #4
mysterious_w
Forum King
 
mysterious_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Good ol' Britain
Posts: 2,750
I doubt any of us are professionals in DNS servers. :|




mysterious_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2006, 21:54   #5
AG
Registered User
 
AG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SPAIN. BARCELONA.
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to AG Send a message via AIM to AG Send a message via Yahoo to AG
RE:

I don't need to know here who is professional or not !
I'm need HELP, HELP and HELP.
So if know also about DNS please tell me to know .
thnx.
AG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2006, 22:34   #6
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,436
Sorry.
I don't have HELP, HELP and HELP.
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2006, 23:57   #7
AG
Registered User
 
AG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SPAIN. BARCELONA.
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to AG Send a message via AIM to AG Send a message via Yahoo to AG

very intelligent answer
AG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 00:46   #8
yenerich
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 295
Virtual Hosting is the name of what you are looking for, check your server documentation.
yenerich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 00:52   #9
yenerich
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 295
In fact is not a DNS problem. What you need is that your server understand how to manage each request depending on the domain. Which server are u using?
yenerich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 03:02   #10
AG
Registered User
 
AG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SPAIN. BARCELONA.
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to AG Send a message via AIM to AG Send a message via Yahoo to AG
Hosting

1st DNS Name Server - Windows Server 2003
Web Hosting with IIS 6.0

second DNS Server - Windows Server 2003
(working only secondary DNS)

All domains working with one IP address.
When I change for some domain other local IP address - it's not working. Browser tell me error [ HTTP 400 - BAD REQUEST ]
Here is one of domain - =http://www.multidecorline.com/

Just I change on IIS (All Unassigned) IP address, so this domain begin working ......
AG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 04:09   #11
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Look in C:\WINDOWS\system32\LogFiles\HTTPERR, the 400 error may be better explained than the terse error message.

400 means that the browser sent the server a message it doesn't understand. Past that...

It could be anything.

Plesk is a domain management system. Probably the cheapest way to get it is with a dedicated server lease from an ISP.

http://www.swsoft.com/en/products/plesk75win/demo/
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 04:30   #12
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
I hate to mention this, but this is incredibly easy to do under IIS. There's a dialog box for it and everything. You can find the help for that box by searching for the things mentioned earlier in this thread, but I don't have IIS at home and I'm not at work so I don't know the exact menu to go to, sorry!

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 04:57   #13
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
I never had to mess with it, because my servers come with Plesk, so you maybe be right zoot... But the malformed request error might not even be an IP problem.

If you find out what the error is exactly, then MS is the place to find the answer.

400 means I'm broke!. The log file will have better info. You could hope anyway

I have a lot more experience configuring apache (linux) manually, but I still use plesk if I have it. My ISP doesn't charge me anything for it, which is unusual.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 06:51   #14
rohan_pwln
Major Dude
 
rohan_pwln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: 18 inches from hell
Posts: 736
even after 100 visits to wikipedia, i fail to understand what DNS means and works.

My MAKI contribs.: STONE
My WebSite My Blog My Skins: fnk 32 Rioport v1 Sienna Burning Steel
My Saying: Eat healthy, Stay fit... Die Anyway
rohan_pwln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 10:15   #15
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
Quote:
Originally posted by rockouthippie
I never had to mess with it, because my servers come with Plesk, so you maybe be right zoot... But the malformed request error might not even be an IP problem.
Possible, yes. Afraid I was hammered when I wrote that last post though!

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2006, 12:48   #16
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Quote:
Originally posted by rohan_pwln
even after 100 visits to wikipedia, i fail to understand what DNS means and works.
Domain name service, server, system. That's obscure. How it works?. It's sorta magic and a lot of voodoo.

To make it work you need:

The IP of your domain host.
Your IP on the web.

You buy a domain. You tell the registrar the IP of your nameserver/domain host.

You create a DNS record and put that in your nameserver/domain host or your ISP does and it works.

The rest is all pushing the right buttons.

Plesk just makes this all easy by setting your web server and nameserver (if any) automatically. Plus a bunch of other functions.....

Here's a handy testing web site...

http://www.dnsstuff.com/

Last edited by rockouthippie; 26th March 2006 at 13:15.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2006, 10:49   #17
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
Its all so simple to set up when you know how. But I really dont want to be going through it all on these forums.

Like zoot said, its stupid obvious to set up in IIS. Just look at the host header field.

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2006, 13:13   #18
AG
Registered User
 
AG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SPAIN. BARCELONA.
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to AG Send a message via AIM to AG Send a message via Yahoo to AG
RE:

My friend CraigF ! Do you really think , what I don't know about host header ?The problem is with lmhosts file configuration and hosts file . Look that link.http://www.realcomputerguy.com/lmhosts.htm But I tell you thanks anyway submit your answer. After long time to searching all internet and all forums I'm not sure if anyone can help me with this problem ..... People don't want talking about this and help .
AG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2006, 15:21   #19
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
setting up a website in IIS has nothing to do with lmhosts, unless you are bothered about setting up wlbs in a weird config perhaps?

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump