Old 29th March 2006, 03:24   #1
DJ Slik
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
Help with my website

I need some help with my website(whats new). On my site there is a whole lot of spaces that i just dont want. To go to my site Click Here Pleez help me. Thanx
DJ Slik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 03:28   #2
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
Erm, spaces? Explain.

And using marquees makes Baby Jesus cry.

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 03:30   #3
DJ Slik
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
Did ya notice how there is a whole lot of extra blank space. Thats what i mean.
DJ Slik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 04:31   #4
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
Either
a) Add more content.
b) Take out the height:2000px from the #mainarea section of your stylesheet.

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 18:44   #5
DJ Slik
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
ok i got a new stylesheet but the background image doesnt show up. Heres my stylesheet

<style type="text/css"> body {background-color:; background-image:url(http://www.acm.ac.uk/flames/large/Decks_Flames.jpg); background-position:Top Left; background-attachment:fixed; background-repeat:no-repeat;} Table, Td { background-color:transparent; border-style:none; } table table td { width:100%; } table table table table td { width:auto; } table table table {background-color:; background-image:url(); background-position:Top Center; background-repeat:no-repeat; border-color:; border-style:solid; border-width:; padding:4px;} table table table table{ background-image:none; background-color:transparent; border-style:none; } .orangetext15, .lightbluetext8, .whitetext12, .nametext, .btext, .redtext, .redbtext {color:FF0000; font-size:10pt; font-style:normal; font-family:,arial,verdana,sans-serif;} body, div, p, strong, td, .text, .blacktext10, .blacktext12, a.searchlinkSmall, a.searchlinkSmall:link, a.searchlinkSmall:visited { color:FF0000; font-size:10pt; font-weight:bold; font-style:normal; font-family:,arial,verdana,sans-serif;} a, a:link, a:visited, a.navbar, a.navbar:link, a.navbar:visited, a.man, a.man:link, a.man:visited {color:; font-size:10pt; font-style:normal; font-family:,arial,verdana,sans-serif;} a:hover, a:active, a.navbar:hover, a.navbar:active, a.man:hover, a.man:active, a.searchlinkSmall:hover, a.searchlinkSmall:active {color:; font-size:10pt; font-style:normal; font-family:,arial,verdana,sans-serif;}</style>

Can u tell me whats wrong? To see whats wrong go back to my website, then youll see that there is no background image.
DJ Slik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 18:59   #6
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Try taking background-color:; out of the first line or defining it?.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 19:07   #7
DJ Slik
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
It didnt work, its exactly the same. Also i use freeservers, do u think they couldve taken the background image out? Also i cant contact freeservers unless i have a premium account.
DJ Slik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 19:45   #8
DJ Slik
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
forget it i got it now
DJ Slik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2006, 22:06   #9
mysterious_w
Forum King
 
mysterious_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Good ol' Britain
Posts: 2,750
Yeah, take out the marquee's.

Plus colour-coordinate it better, almost everything clashes with oneanother.




mysterious_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 00:09   #10
DJ Slik
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
Sorry is it your website, no. I like it.
DJ Slik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 00:15   #11
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Slik
Sorry is it your website, no. I like it.
He was offering (very, very good) advice. You don't have to be a dick.

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 00:22   #12
DJ Slik
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
Ok sorry maybe you guys r right. Although i want to make it stand out somehow. What would be another good way? Also how do i make a splash page.
DJ Slik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 00:28   #13
yenerich
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 295
You need to read some web page tutorial, my suggestions:

- Take off marquees
- Take oof that background
- READ URGENT some tutorial.
yenerich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 00:30   #14
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
You don't make a splash page. 99% of the time, they are poorly executed and annoying.

All you have to do is have your splash page be index.html and link to your real homepage.

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 01:07   #15
DJ Slik
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
One more thing, i just put a flash music player on my site, but it only works right in IE not FF. In FF it says movie not loaded forever. What should i do?
DJ Slik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 02:08   #16
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
not put a flash move player on

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 02:32   #17
DJ Slik
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
can i get a real answer?
DJ Slik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 02:34   #18
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
Either
a) The flash player you are using is sketchy
b) Your embed-codes are wrong. Google for the best way to do it so it works on all browsers.

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 02:52   #19
DJ Slik
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
Here is the code i used. What could be wrong with it?
<embed src="http://www.freewebs.com/rikashaymusic05/player.swf" menu="false" quality="high" bgcolor="EEEEEE" bgcolor="000000"
width="300" height="320" name="index" allowScriptAccess="always" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"
pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"
flashvars="playList=http://www.freewebs.com/rikashaymusic05/playlist.xml&ShowPlaylist=1&ShowEQ=1&firstTrack=1&initVol=80" wmode="transparent" /></embed>
DJ Slik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 03:08   #20
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
Read me and SEARCH in the future.

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 03:30   #21
DJ Slik
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 69
but what about the flash vars?
DJ Slik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2006, 23:07   #22
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
Probably the param tags.

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump