Old 30th August 2009, 02:07   #41
Rellik
Major Dude
 
Rellik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: localhost
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally posted by m0e
unless someone comes up with a solution that allows me to use my TV tuner card in Ubuntu.
Is your card supported in MythTV? Mythbuntu may be the way to go then.


I have managed to get two Hauppuage cards working in MythTV, but I still prefer WMC over MythTV for ease of use and configuration.
Rellik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2009, 02:55   #42
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
I had one hell of a time trying to get a tuner card working under Gentoo. It took me half a day of messing with module settings - once I figured out which module to use, that is.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 21:38   #43
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
My sister actually got the legal version of Windows 7 before I could get the non-legal version. She got both 32bit and 64 bit versions and gave the 32bit DVD to me. So now I'm running 32bit win7.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 21:48   #44
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
I actually would upgrade my only PC left from XP to Windows 7 after testing one of the betas for a few months. It's pretty good.

However, hell is going to freeze over before I pay Microsoft's price to upgrade from XP Pro to Windows 7 Pro. $200, what planet are they on anyway?
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 21:53   #45
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
My sister somehow got it really cheap. I think she said $10 or something like that. That's for Win7 Ultimate.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 22:06   #46
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
Shit, I'd take it at that cost.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 22:49   #47
Rellik
Major Dude
 
Rellik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: localhost
Posts: 1,099
I am curious, what is in the pro version that you need compared to the home version?

Early in the summer, there was a 50% off preorder deal going on, I managed to to get 2 Home premium editions and 1 pro edition for only $200

There is a 3 PC family pack home premium edition for $150

and college students can get the home premium, or pro for only $30
Rellik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 23:07   #48
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
I'm likely to be a little uninformed anymore as the last OS I truly looked at was XP....

But I use the hell out of rdp on my computers (main PC when away from home via iPhone/laptop; touch screen recipe computer in my kitchen because it's just easier not to deal with the touch screen when performing updates). As I am aware, rdp server only comes on Professional versions of Windows.

I suppose I could use something else, but rdp is setup due to me having XP Pro and it's just so easy to deal with...
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 23:13   #49
net-cruizer
Senior Member
 
net-cruizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: BC, CANADA
Posts: 367
Well I have always loved XP, which was an awsome OS, however, Windows 7 is absolutely incredible, best OS ever.
Anyways, having Win 7, there's no point in going back to XP, especially since Microsoft released XP Mode for Windows 7.
net-cruizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 23:16   #50
/usr/bin/Tux
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 121
"XP Mode"? Thus: A Virtual Machine? Come on, then there is even a XP Mode for Linux.

Winamp user since v1.something.
/usr/bin/Tux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 23:22   #51
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
As far as I understand, XP mode on Win7 is not quite a VM, though it does indeed seem very similar.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 23:24   #52
/usr/bin/Tux
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 121
It is a modified version of Virtual PC afaik.

Winamp user since v1.something.
/usr/bin/Tux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 23:30   #53
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
Yes, you are correct. That sounds right now that you mention it.

Yikes.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2009, 23:32   #54
/usr/bin/Tux
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 121
You see?

Winamp user since v1.something.
/usr/bin/Tux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2009, 00:19   #55
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
^ I get a free upgrade to 7 from Best Buy. They wanna' charge me $40 to do the install...I never did a whole OS before, should i leave it to them to do? If they fuck it up it's on their heads. They will also partition my hard drive for an additional $50. I don't want to screw up my new computer..Oh, and vista really, really sucks the big sneaker of life.
Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2009, 00:36   #56
missyob
Angel of Winamp
 
missyob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Winamp House
Posts: 4,578
Widdy, you can do it yourself. Get the free cd from Best buy. It is nothing more than putting the cd in, clicking a few buttons and you are done. Save yourself the $40 and go to Macys/Bloomingdales
missyob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2009, 00:41   #57
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
Thank mew. Missy. ( Of course I'll probably end up with Windows 6 and 3/4 or Vistows.)
I did a whole transfer thing with cables, when you weren't around and a router myself. *Cleans self profusely*
Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2009, 02:06   #58
missyob
Angel of Winamp
 
missyob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Winamp House
Posts: 4,578
wow, I am so impressed! The last I knew you were looking for the on/off switch

You will be able to install it easily with no issues. The geeksquad just wants to make more money off of you. How they get you to spend the $40 is they tell you you will have to wait for 4-6 weeks to get the cd in the mail when in reality it is more like 1 week. I was in best buy the other day and laughed at them.
missyob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2009, 02:25   #59
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
When I was in college, many many moons ago, I attempted to get a job at Best Buy. They turned me down; said I was not qualified.

To this day I still think I know more than them. Missy is correct: their sole purpose is to rip you off and make millions.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2009, 07:08   #60
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
I'm pretty sure even I know more than the "geek squad".

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2009, 10:29   #61
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
So, if I pick up the cd, all I do is run it? No special stuff? Even scrubbing out my machine or something? Woah, cool. And Missy, I knew where the on off switch was...I just couldn't find the "Any key."
See, Missy I got by with a litle help from my friends
Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2009, 11:02   #62
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,084
Perhaps Widdy you should get yourself a new keyboard


Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2009, 12:52   #63
P$ycHo™
Flakmonkey!
 
P$ycHo™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DM-Campgrounds
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally posted by fc*uk
Yes, you are correct. That sounds right now that you mention it.

Yikes.
Yes, its a virtual machine. But its integrated seamlessly into Win7 so you can run XP programs as you would run a "Win7 program".
P$ycHo™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2009, 12:59   #64
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
Speaking of windows 7, I has a question:

If I were to go out and get a nice sized thumb drive, how can I:

A) Make it bootable and,
B) Install Windows 7 onto it?

Getting into my BIOS and changing my boot order isn't an issue.

Bonus question:

C) Migrate my XP programs and settings to said Win7 thumb drive, and not destroy or mess up my XP installation?

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2009, 14:20   #65
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
Quote:
Originally posted by NJK
Perhaps Widdy you should get yourself a new keyboard

[Image]
OOOO I gotta get me one of those.

Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2009, 02:43   #66
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Quote:
Originally posted by SSJ4 Gogitta
Speaking of windows 7, I has a question:

If I were to go out and get a nice sized thumb drive, how can I:

A) Make it bootable and,
B) Install Windows 7 onto it?

Getting into my BIOS and changing my boot order isn't an issue.

Bonus question:

C) Migrate my XP programs and settings to said Win7 thumb drive, and not destroy or mess up my XP installation?
A & B:

Quote:
Step 1: Format the Drive

The steps here are to use the command line to format the disk properly using the diskpart utility. [Be warned: this will erase everything on your drive. Be careful.]

Plug in your USB Flash Drive

Open a command prompt as administrator (Right click on Start > All Programs > Accessories > Command Prompt and select “Run as administrator”

Find the drive number of your USB Drive by typing the following into the Command Prompt window:

diskpart

list disk

The number of your USB drive will listed. You’ll need this for the next step. I’ll assume that the USB flash drive is disk 1.

Format the drive by typing the next instructions into the same window. Replace the number “1” with the number of your disk below.

select disk 1

clean

create partition primary

select partition 1

active

format fs=NTFS

assign

exit

When that is done you’ll have a formatted USB flash drive ready to be made bootable.

Step 2: Make the Drive Bootable

Next we’ll use the bootsect utility that comes on the Vista or Windows 7 disk to make the flash drive bootable. In the same command window that you were using in Step 1:

Insert your Windows Vista / 7 DVD into your drive.

Change directory to the DVD’s boot directory where bootsect lives:

d:

cd d:\boot

Use bootsect to set the USB as a bootable NTFS drive prepared for a Vista/7 image. I’m assuming that your USB flash drive has been labeled disk G:\ by the computer:

bootsect /nt60 g:

You can now close the command prompt window, we’re done here.

Step 3: Copy the installation DVD to the USB drive

The easiest way is to use Windows explorer to copy all of the files on your DVD on to the formatted flash drive. After you’ve copied all of the files the disk you are ready to go.
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2009, 11:26   #67
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
That looks like what I'm looking for, but the end doesn't look right. I'm not wanting to make a bootable thumb drive to install Win7 FROM, but rather, install Win7 ONTO a bootable thumb drive (IE: have a portable, fully functional OS with programs and settings installed, all on a thumb drive). I would think that by making a bootable thumb drive then copying the OS install files onto it from the CD will essentially give me the Win7 install CD in thumbdrive form...

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2009, 12:53   #68
P$ycHo™
Flakmonkey!
 
P$ycHo™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DM-Campgrounds
Posts: 1,870
Unplug your HDD, plug in Thumb drive and then install onto it. But im not sure the installation routine will recognize a Thumb drive. It will however recognize USB/eSATA HDDs.
P$ycHo™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2009, 18:16   #69
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,581
^ That won't work. I remember a few years ago trying to do this with XP to no avail. Windows isn't linux.

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2009, 14:45   #70
P$ycHo™
Flakmonkey!
 
P$ycHo™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DM-Campgrounds
Posts: 1,870
Install to HDD.

Boot a backup tool.

Clone partition to USD device.

Could work even.
P$ycHo™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2009, 08:28   #71
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
All thumb drives are not equal, but the run of the mill ones would be awful slow and probably burn out. Flash memory isn't really suitable for running an OS. That's especially if you are using it for swap space/virtual memory.

I'm sure you probably could find some flash that was more durable, but the normal stuff is meant to enjoy a low duty cycle. You've probably noticed that flash cards get pretty hot when you fill one all at once.

If it were me, I'd just stick another hard disk in the machine for dual boot. To be sure XP doesn't blow up, you could disconnect the XP drive while installing 7. Later you can use the bios to select which drive you ar going to boot.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump