Old 22nd April 2004, 10:46   #1
Embison
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 10
M4a To MP3 Converter

Does anyone know where I can get one?
Embison is offline  
Old 22nd April 2004, 12:06   #2
lostonline
Where am I?
(Major Dude)
 
lostonline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 680
dbPowerAmp probably can, but unless there is a really good reason I wouldn't transcode from m4a to mp3.

Kids, you tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.
--
Homer Simpson
lostonline is offline  
Old 22nd April 2004, 18:01   #3
shoutcast101
Senior Member
 
shoutcast101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 287
dbpoweramp will definetly work but why bother?
shoutcast101 is offline  
Old 22nd April 2004, 19:13   #4
xzxzzx
Forum King
 
xzxzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,254
That's a bad idea, and the fact that you don't know of one is pretty indicative that you don't really know what you are doing. Don't do it.

Freedom of speech is the basic freedom of humanity. When you've lost that, you've lost everything.
1\/\/4y 34|<$p4y 1gp4y 33714y, 0d4y 0uy4y? | Roses are #FF0000; Violets are #0000FF; chown -R ${YOU} ~/base
The DMCA. It really is that bad. : Count for your life.
xzxzzx is offline  
Old 22nd April 2004, 20:25   #5
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Winamp can do it, with an mp3 output plug-in (pp made one that uses lame iirc) or you can just diskwrite it to wav and encode it with whatever you use to encode your mp3s.

However the sound quality will most certainly suffer, so you should only do it if you want to play the mp3 in your portable.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 22nd April 2004, 22:08   #6
Embison
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 10
actually i do know what im doing.... m4a files are erasing themselves on my computer and nobody can tell me why...

if you wanna help me out than read this link.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=174952



not once has an mp3 ever erased itself.... but M4a's are randomly erasing themselves on my computer. some only play once and then never again... and some are fine and always work... its pretty random.

so that is my reason...
Embison is offline  
Old 22nd April 2004, 23:10   #7
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Like DJ Egg said, what "patch" are you using to play back m4a?

Seems like that's what is corrupting your files.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 23rd April 2004, 11:12   #8
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
Seems like that's what is corrupting your files.
Eeek, what bullshit is this? Why use mp4 aac (especially if the decoders detroy your files), it's patented and shit and still it doesn't beat Ogg Vorbis.
nybergh is offline  
Old 23rd April 2004, 11:57   #9
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Embison isn't using any official decoder. He's using a "patch" he can't even remember the name of.

The built in mp4 plug-in doesn't destroy files.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 23rd April 2004, 12:04   #10
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
ah, whatever. anyway, i still see no point in using any aac-related shit when we have god's gift to anyone who likes to store music; Ogg Vorbis
(btw ahave you tried off vorbis 44.1 khz stereo @64 kbps?! It's amazing compared to anything else i've ever heard!)
nybergh is offline  
Old 23rd April 2004, 12:19   #11
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
I still go with Frank's gift, mpc
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 23rd April 2004, 17:26   #12
Embison
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by gaekwad2
Like DJ Egg said, what "patch" are you using to play back m4a?

Seems like that's what is corrupting your files.
I downloaded the one he provided in the link. The physical size of the m4a file is still there.. 7 megabytes. But the song reads as zero seconds and then that error comes up.
Embison is offline  
Old 23rd April 2004, 21:51   #13
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
So you played an m4a with the audiocoding plug-in and afterwards it was broken?

Or did you just try to play one that was corrupt already?

Have you tried a clean install of wa 5.03 without any 3rd party plug-ins?

Or tried to play your files in another player like foobar?

And where did you get those m4as in the first place?

So many questions...
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 25th April 2004, 06:03   #14
Embison
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 10
^ Exactly... it's pointless... Its a waste of your time and mine... Thats why I'll just stick to mp3's. I just wanna convert my m4a's to mp3, thats all.

but i'll answer your questions anyways....

yes i've done a clean install... yes i played the m4a files a few times.. they worked fine.. then i went to play the same file again and it reads 0:00... but it doesnt happen with all of them.. just happens at random... all of them were ripped by the same person with the same software... and plenty of them still play fine... some do not... i mentioned what the error was in the other post... so if no one knows what that means.. than i cant get any help.
Embison is offline  
Old 25th April 2004, 08:53   #15
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
I am quite sure that the problem is related to the mp4 container.

So instead of transcopding you could try to extract the aac audio (foobar can do it, couldn't find the option in winamp 5.03). That way you wouldn't lose any sound quality.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 25th April 2004, 19:23   #16
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
@nybergh: You should try this vorbis tune which is said to sound a lot better than the standard encoder especially at low bitrates (see this hydrogenaudio thread).

I haven't tested it myself yet but I'll definitely try it for my video encodes @q2.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 26th April 2004, 10:12   #17
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
Thanks, i'm gonna check it out. But still the quality of 60 kbps Vorbis is stunning, even with the standard enc., compared to any other format i've heard about. COULD I HAVE SOME MORE OGG-RADIO, PLEASE!!!!
nybergh is offline  
Old 14th June 2010, 06:36   #18
kitti_vj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Tag info of m4a music files

I have not observed corruption of m4a files.

However, I dont see the tag information in windows explorer view for m4a files whereas for mp3 files, it is appearing.

How to make the m4a files tag info visible in windows explorer view ??

Any help ?
kitti_vj is offline  
Old 14th June 2010, 06:38   #19
kitti_vj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
m4a to mp3 conversion - tag info

To get the tag info visible in windows explorer view, I initially thought of converting all m4a files to mp3 format.
If this costs audio quality, then I would rather not convert m4a to mp3 ...

but I want the tag information visible in windows explorer view.

By tags, what I mean are - Album name, Artist name, Genre, Year, duration etc etc..

Note - I am able to see this info for mp3 files.
kitti_vj is offline  
Old 14th June 2010, 12:41   #20
P$ycHo™
Flakmonkey!
 
P$ycHo™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DM-Campgrounds
Posts: 1,870
Might need some dll that does that. NFI if something like that exists. Google might help.
P$ycHo™ is offline  
Old 15th June 2010, 07:27   #21
kitti_vj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
I got this information from somewhere... might be useful in this thread.

http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/647216
kitti_vj is offline  
Old 18th August 2010, 10:20   #22
tobbyhot
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 92
you can even convert online in Google find it there...
tobbyhot is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump