Old 9th August 2011, 15:08   #1
huddledfiber
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Shared Library

All right, after much Googling I still can't figure this out. I have large music library and the latest version of Winamp installed on a computer on my home network. I have the latest version of Winamp installed on another computer on same network. I want to play/stream music from library computer to other computer across my internal network. I don't want the whole library on the other computer. I don't care about mobile devices or streaming over the Internet. I just want to listen to the music across my network.

How do I do it???

Please!!!
huddledfiber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2011, 16:03   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
create a shared network folder (or even as a mapped network drive so it's a bit easier to look at the paths) for the root of the audio folder on the one machine and use that on the second machine.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2011, 18:40   #3
huddledfiber
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Shared Library

Not to sound dense, but use that path how? I don't see a setting in the options to set the path for the library.
huddledfiber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2011, 21:09   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you'd have to add the contents of the shared folder to that of the secondary Winamp install. there's no native way to share the details of the main Winamp install with the second one, hence having to share the media and then have 2 separate libraries (which i've a feeling is probably not what you're wanting, but that's the nearest which can be done).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2011, 05:12   #5
julianpa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Me Too!

I seem to be having the same issue.

My office computer has 10,000 mp3's in a group of nested folders. I mapped that root folder to a drive on my laptop and told winamp to search there for media files. It takes about 40 minutes to scan them all, but then everything works just dandy.

HOWEVER - whenever I reboot I have to spend another 40 minutes reloading my "library".

Why can't I save my Library?

I've tried working with the scan directory settings and exporting and then importing a Media Database. Neither works. What am I doing wrong?

julianpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2011, 06:22   #6
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,635
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
your local winamp install needs to have the ML component installed. if it is installed, when you scan files in, using watch folders, the idx DB file should exist and persist.

if it doesn't, maybe your work machine doesn't allow it. you'll have to figure that out.

a workaround would be to use the "winamp backup tool" (search the forums) and just reimport the settings when needed.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2011, 09:17   #7
julianpa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 17
What is the ML component and how do you install it?
julianpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2011, 10:16   #8
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,635
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
when u install winamp, pay close attention to the checkmark choices, its in there.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 07:45   #9
julianpa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 17
This is not the problem. It was checked and I re-installed to check. Media Library is checked to eb installed.

The version of Winamp on my office computer finds the files on it's local D:\ drive just fine when I reboot.

I have that folder mapped to my laptop. I can add the files to my laptop's library just fine until I reboot. I'm told there are no files in my Media Library and I have to add them all over again.
julianpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 07:46   #10
julianpa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Oh, BTW, Frank Sinatra's Ocean 11 is playing on my TV right now


julianpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 09:41   #11
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,635
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
do you have "remove missing files" checked in watch folders?

maybe the network drive isn't available when it scans after reboot.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2011, 00:10   #12
julianpa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Yes, I had everything installed and configured right. It was a network problem but confusing because whenever I wanted to add media files over the network, it worked fine. It appeared the network was working fine, but winamp couldn't find the files every time I rebooted.

I did two things at once which seemed to fix everything. I changed the path from a network drive mapped to the laptop to the network path itself - \\server\folder\
Then I changed the winamp firewall settings on both computers to allow everything.

I suspect it was the firewall messing things up.

Thanks.
julianpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2011, 15:34   #13
julianpa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by huddledfiber View Post
Not to sound dense, but use that path how? I don't see a setting in the options to set the path for the library.

If you still are looking it is:

Options/Preferences/Media Library/Local Media/Watch Folders




julianpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump