Old 31st August 2004, 14:32   #1
Arthur_Dent
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
"Error Opening Ipod Database!"

Hi all,

I posted this in the wrong forum a min ago, Im sorry about that I edited that post so itll be ignored.

My problem is this - Im getting the error "Error Opening Ipod Database!" when I try and transfer stuff to my ipod from this plugin. I already have many songs on the ipod transferred using ephipod. I have no idea if the connection is working, except that there is a "safely remove hardware" buton in the system tray when the ipod is connected. Im using a firewire connection.

Any help would be much appreciated

cheers
Arthur_Dent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 15:17   #2
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
try: Prefs -> iPod support -> Autodetect

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 16:37   #3
Arthur_Dent
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
it couldnt autodetect it, i guess that menas its a connection error. Does the plugin support firewire or is it just usb? Because my computer has detected the ipod, its a removable drive in my computer and the "safely remove hardware" icon is in the system tray, is there anything I can do to make winamp detect it?

cheers
Arthur_Dent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 16:54   #4
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
ML_ipod works with usb and firewire. I found I had to install itunes first and register my ipod using itunes. After that, ml_ipod recognized the ipod and worked perfectly. Then I uninstalled itunes forever.

80GB 5.5 generation Video iPod

4GB and 8GB gen 2 Nano's with ****+

Winamp 5.52 Pro ; ml_iPod 3.05
kaatinthehaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 17:06   #5
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
What drive letter is your ipod mapped to?

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 17:18   #6
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
Quote:
Originally posted by will
What drive letter is your ipod mapped to?
I know this was probably directed to Arthur_Dent but I thought I'd throw in a comment. The autodetect feature of ml_ipod workes really well. When I first used it, my iPod had been assigned to drive F:.

Later on tho, after using an external drive which took over drive F:, the iPod became assigned to G: and ml_ipod detected it automatically and flawlessly.
kaatinthehaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 17:30   #7
Arthur_Dent
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
The ipod as a removable disk in "my computer" is E, although I tried auto detecting pretty much all the letters that exist. Ill try installing itunes then, Ill report back in a couple of minuites and let you all know if that fixes it

cheers for all the help
Arthur_Dent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 18:19   #8
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Then choose E in the drive letter in the ipod preferences. It should then find your ipod.

However, if the autodetect is failing, then there could be something else wrong. Does ephpod still work?

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 21:23   #9
Arthur_Dent
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
I installed itunes and it now works fine (I erased the memory of the ipod in the process but its all going back along with new music now so thats ok). I think the problem was that I reformatted my computer recently, so whatever ephipod did to set the computer up to detect the ipod was gone, but now everythings ok, and kudos to the makers of this plugin, its amazing, really useful beign able to put songs from winamp straight to the ipod.

cheers for all the help
Arthur_Dent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 21:38   #10
kaatinthehaat
Major Dude
 
kaatinthehaat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 504
Glad to hear you're up and running!!

80GB 5.5 generation Video iPod

4GB and 8GB gen 2 Nano's with ****+

Winamp 5.52 Pro ; ml_iPod 3.05
kaatinthehaat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp iPod Plugin Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump