Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th June 2005, 05:58   #1
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
sluggish respone after closing preferences window

as the title states. after i close the preferences window, everything becomes sluggish for a few seconds. even the mouse cursor has a bit of jitter to it. anyone else have this problem? any fix?

it really doesnt bother me all that much, but it does get annoying sometimes.
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 06:46   #2
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
do you have a lot of plugins? using a big modern skin?

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 06:53   #3
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
classic skin. default input plugins, default out, default viz plus homeboy viz plugins, 8 dsp's, and 8 gen.
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 10:00   #4
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Same here. It started happening around the release of 5.09, but when I downgrade to earlier versions, exactly the same happens. After closing the Preferences dialog, Winamp freezes for a few seconds before I can use it again. I don't have the issue with the mouse cursor as you described.

I'm using classic skin, clean install (5.093), no Sonic Ripping/burning, no in_wm.dll (the components I suspected the most).
But as it's also happening with earlier versions, I'm not even sure it's a Winamp-related issue.


I don't have the time to look into it at the moment; just posting here to let you know I might be having the same issue. I'll experiment a bit more later and post back here.

For now, please provide system specs.
You can also try a clean install, without Sonic Ripping/Burning and WMA support as I tried. Maybe you have more luck.


Anyone else ideas?


Specs:
Windows XP SP2
Dell Dimension DIM2400
Celeron CPU 2.20 Ghz
256 MB RAM
Intel 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller
SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio
CD: Lite-On LTN486S 48x Max
DirectX 9.0c
HijackThis log attached (maybe comparison with yours will be useful)
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.txt (3.2 KB, 777 views)

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 10:08   #5
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
XP Pro SP2
2GHZ Celeron
512MB RAM
Intel 82845G onboard video w/64mb shared
onboard soundmax audio
Ensoniq AudioPCI (currently the default soundcard)
Hijackthis log attached
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.log.txt (7.3 KB, 783 views)
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 12:47   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Hmm... strange.

You both have very similar system specs (same celeron cpu, graphics/chipset, os), and both using AVG...

Could it be something to do with AVG realtime scanning of winamp.ini ?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 17:03   #7
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
I have AVG and it does not do this. I am currently using 5.093 lite. However, I was using 5.091 full prior to this and I again did not expereience the issue.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 17:35   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
So much for that theory then, lol.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 18:11   #9
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
I've got the same problem, Winamp doesn't respond for about 3-5 seconds after closing, and it's only started around 5.09 build.

Win XP SP2
Celeron 2.6 GHZ
768MB RAM
Abit Radeon 9600XT 256MB
C-Media CMI8738/C3DX PCI Audio
Direct X 9.0c
ZoneAlarm Pro
AVG 7.0
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 18:18   #10
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
You know, all three of you have AVG. Even though it isn't affecting me, maybe it's still the cause. Try turning off AVG for a moment and see if it still happens. Because you're turning off an AV program. Make sure you don't do anything else while testing it, also close ALL browser windows just to be safe and turn AVG back on as soon as you finish.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 18:38   #11
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Nope, I shut down all AVG components in Task Manager, still having the problem.

EDIT: This is basically what happens:



Winamp still plays music, but i can't do anything with it, it just stops responding.

Sometimes, the box at the top is bigger and covers most of the playlist, but I couldn't reproduce it at this time.

This only started around 5.09.

Last edited by Squadman; 27th June 2005 at 19:14.
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2005, 22:51   #12
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Yup, that's basically how it looks for me as well... Sometimes only the songticker will be covered, sometimes more, as in your screenshot.

I think I give up

I feel like I tried everything. I tried lite installs, I even installed 5.0 lite . I took out every single plugin (so only the core of Winamp was left) and it still happened. I turned off AVG, ZoneAlarm, Folding@Home, Firefox, every other process I didn't need. It still happened. I messed around with the Winamp options that were left, like Winamp Agent, priority class, no difference.

I updated graphics, audio and cd-rom drivers. I'll probably defrag and run checkdisk later, for now I'm fed up with it.


I guess it isn't a Winamp-related problem, since I'm sure this didn't happen for me in the past, and now it's happening with older versions as well (did anyone else test an older version, btw?). Something changed at my end, maybe a Windows update or something in combination with the hardware setup. Although it's weird I don't experience any problems, slow-downs, freeze-ups with other programs. Any other suggestions are welcome, but I think it's just something I'll have to live with. It doesn't bother me that much either...


@others...
Although there's a lot of resemblance, that still doesn't necessarily mean we have the exact same problem. You could try the suggestions above, maybe they'll work for you. Beginning with eg. a clean install (without Sonic Ripping/Burning support), disabling in_wm.dll in your Winamp plugins folder (rename it to in_wm.off), turning off AVG, posting a HijackThis log to maybe find other things in common, etc.

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 20:31   #13
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Well, here's a High Jack This Log.
Attached Files
File Type: txt high jack this.txt (4.7 KB, 757 views)
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 20:38   #14
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
any ideas on if anything in winamp is suposed to access the hard drive after closing the preferences? thats one thing i noticed it does quite a bit after i close the prefs window.
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 20:46   #15
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Yup, it writes to winamp.ini (or at least... the last changed date/time of that file gets updated).
Even if you don't change any options (at least, for me...)

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 20:53   #16
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
next thing on the agenda here. what plugins does everyone have installed/running? include version numbers as well.
Attached Images
File Type: gif winamp_plugs.gif (31.7 KB, 646 views)
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 20:58   #17
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Well, I could even reproduce it after I removed every single plugin (i.e. just deleted all in, out, dsp, gen, and ml_*.dll files in Winamp plugins folder). So I don't think it's a plugin issue...
The freeze-up did take less time though, so it probably does have something to do with the writing to winamp.ini (since with less plugins, there's less settings to store). But that's just a guess.
And what would be left to explain is why it would write that slowly to winamp.ini...


Btw, you can easily generate a list of installed plugins by using this plugin.

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 21:14   #18
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
Quote:
Originally posted by siebe83
Btw, you can easily generate a list of installed plugins by using this plugin.
I couldn't agree with you more. You might want to know, though, that there is a slightly updated version of OfN from 1.5 to 1.5a.

Link is http://www.nunzioweb.com/daz/files/O...Nunz_v1_5a.exe for your future reference.

jmat
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 21:18   #19
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Well, they're my plugins...
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list.txt (1.6 KB, 642 views)
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 21:30   #20
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
@vchat, I'd suggest that you upgrade to Winamp 5.093. I would also question the need for the Thomson mp3PRO plugin, as there are several documented reports of it affecting Winamp in adverse ways. Also, try disabling Samurize temporarily. See if that gives you a performance boost. Other than that, I'd only simply ask you to see whether a clean install helps any, but with siebe's previous post about a clean install not helping, I dunno...

@squadman, try disabling msn plugin, to see if that helps...

I myself experience the overlay of the preferences window on the main window for a second or two, but it doesn't appear to freeze or be temporarily inaccessible. Nor am I bothered too much by it, because it probably has happened for a loooong time ... oh well.
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 21:37   #21
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Nope, un-installed MSN plugin, still same problem...

What else could we check?
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 21:39   #22
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
It doesn't bother me that much either. It does bother me I can't find the cause
It's still weird some people do NOT have the issue (Egg, k_rock), so there's gotta be something causing it. And it's also weird I did not experience this behaviour in the past and it now happens with every version I try.

That said, this'll probably be the last thing I write on this subject, I'm done with it. If we indeed all have the same problem (which would mean a clean install, etc etc etc doesn't fix it) then there's no need to suggest the same things over and over again. If we don't have the same problem, others can try the suggestions already given above.
Unless someone comes up with new information/suggestions, of course...

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 21:52   #23
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
I'll try a clean install again.

I haven't done it since the problem started, which is pretty dumb.
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:07   #24
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
well, i tried to clean out all my unused plugins and came up with the list below, yet it still lags a bit. also i noticed is it lags after closing winamp because it sticks around in the task manager and uses a good deal of cpu cycles.

ill try a clean install and see what goes.
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list-1.txt (1.6 KB, 685 views)
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:14   #25
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Tried a clean install, same problem...

There must be something in common with our PC's, not Winamp related...
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:31   #26
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
same. clean install. even cleaned out the registry of any mentions of winamp. still get the lagginess. although its got more snappy startup and exits.

and i also noticed it uses much less memoery now. was at like 15MB before. now its runs at a mere 3 or 4MB.
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:32   #27
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
I now think it is AVG related. I used the linux utility kompare to check which lines of all three of your hijack This logs were the same. Aside from the standard windows processes, AVG was the only thing that was consistent.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:34   #28
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
but weve all disabled AVG and it still doesnt help. what gives? as a matter of fact, ive been running with AVG disabled all day trying to troubleshoot this and its continued to have the lag issue.
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:37   #29
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
But what would it be doing?

Scanning 'winamp.ini' when we close it?
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:37   #30
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
When you did that, did you kill the NT services associated with AVG as well? Not only should AVG be disabled, but all associated processes should be terminated as well.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:39   #31
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
I did, I killed AVG control centre, and all the other 3 or 4 AVG services in Task Manager.
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:40   #32
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
yep. same. closed em all through task manager and even the services manager. nothing of avg is running. period.
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:42   #33
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Unless you wanna completly kill it and uninstall it and see what that does.

I really don't wanna, as on my 56k connection, it takes forever to update it again.
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:46   #34
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
As long as you're sure there are no processes or services there's no need to uninstall it. The only other thing I can think of is maybe AVG did something that somehow affects the file even after it is closed. Aside from that I'm out of ideas.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2005, 22:48   #35
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Any idea what?

I'll check back in the morning, I need some sleep...
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 00:47   #36
Thunder Pussy
Feed me a stray dog
(Major Dude)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,122
I use the free version of AVG & have been having both the sluggish preferences window & high CPU usage on close. It is AVG that's causing it. I uninstalled AVG completely & both problems no longer occurred. When I reinstalled AVG both problems returned. At this point, I'm not familiar enough with AVG settings to know what to change.

/edit Also, without AVG installed Winamp loads about 2 seconds faster.
Thunder Pussy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 03:50   #37
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
It looks like it is pretty safe to say then that AVG is somehow causing the problem.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 04:55   #38
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
I asked at the AVG forums. This is the latest from one of the mods there. link to thread


While there is a slight delay on my system, it isn't a big one but if you are experiencing this see if disabling (if enabled) in the Resident Shield the option "On close scanning" and the "Scan all files" option then see how it goes.

I'm on a old system so it should be a pretty good test except I see no big reason to update to 5.09 yet and that may make some difference.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 18:22   #39
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Yeah, that's already disabled....
Man, I really wanna solve this. Anyone have any other ideas?
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2005, 20:40   #40
Squadman
Senior Member
 
Squadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 284
Send a message via AIM to Squadman
Sorry for double posting :X

I've found out that if you disable 'scan documents' in AVG resident shield, the problem stops, but this obviosuly turns off a big part of AVG.

I've posted in the topic on the AVG forums, seeing if anyone there can do any good.
Squadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump