Old 9th January 2005, 06:53   #1
retrostation
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 170
installed the vp6.4.2 now........

Strange, but now when i encode with vp6 i cant get a bitrate lower then 200 no matter what i try... have uninstalled eveything and reinstalled to no avail...

any ideas?

vp3 works fine.

I have played around enough with this for the past year to pretty much know how to do everything ok, this has me stumped.
retrostation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2005, 09:44   #2
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
I played with that too, but it looks like it has a minimum acceptable quality level. Dropping the frame rate seemed to make it behave. You also might try playing with datarate undershoot %.

Makes me wish someone would write a NSV plug-in for WM9.

From "Red Dwarf" and Holly, the computer with an IQ of 6000 (the same as 300 PE teachers).

Quote:
Holly:

"I've been thinkin about creating an artificial woman, that was completely undetectable from the real thing?".

Lister:

"Why don't ya?."

Holly:

"I don't know how!.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2005, 18:17   #3
jingxin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 139
Send a message via Yahoo to jingxin
Quote:
Originally posted by rockouthippie
Makes me wish someone would write a NSV plug-in for WM9.
oh, sounds a great idea, I wonder if slavas would make it real
jingxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2005, 18:32   #4
slavas
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: kaimas šalia Anykščių
Posts: 680
Quote:
Originally posted by jingxin
oh, sounds a great idea, I wonder if slavas would make it real
it wouldn't be difficult, but i don't see point, playback isn't supported "out of the box"
slavas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2005, 18:59   #5
jingxin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 139
Send a message via Yahoo to jingxin
i see

Last edited by jingxin; 9th January 2005 at 19:16.
jingxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2005, 20:28   #6
retrostation
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 170
I tried.

Now I cant seem to get rid of it even when I uninstall EVERYTHING.

Ergh, I dont know how much more of this I can stand!

Now i cant run nsvgui to encode, nscscsrc dies, nsvencoder dies, I am about to give up forever on this.....

Any suggestions on how i can remove and return to regular vp6?

I have uninstalled every piece of nsv related software and reinstalled (without the new vp6.4.2)

Last edited by retrostation; 9th January 2005 at 20:44.
retrostation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2005, 21:03   #7
ken52787
Major Dude
 
ken52787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,297
Send a message via AIM to ken52787
You may have uninstalled the NSV software, but have you actually uninstalled the VP6 VFW codec?

NSV downloads
An in-depth step by step guide for newbies, coming soon.
ken52787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2005, 05:09   #8
retrostation
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 170
unistalled everything. went back and installed old vp6 still same problem.
retrostation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2005, 05:16   #9
Jay
Moderator Alumni
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Next Door
Posts: 8,942
Quote:
Originally posted by slavas
it wouldn't be difficult, but i don't see point, playback isn't supported "out of the box"
neither was vp6 when you coded that
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2005, 10:16   #10
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Playback would pretty much be supported "out of the box". The WM9 codec is installed with WMP. I don't think you'd find many Windows PC's that haven't installed Windows Media Player. It is an "automatic update" for Windows 2000 - present. I haven't tried it, but my information is that linux and OSX ports of the codec are available.

The advantage is a lot better codec than VP3 for free. I think it's also less twitchy than VP6, with about equal performance at the bitrates that we use.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2005, 12:20   #11
jingxin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 139
Send a message via Yahoo to jingxin
check the winamp\plugins directory, there is a nsvdec_vp6.dll, this DLL is used to support nsv vp6 files, if we want winamp to support nsv wm9 files, i think we need sth like nsvdec_wm9.dll there as well.

Quote:
Originally posted by rockouthippie
Playback would pretty much be supported "out of the box". The WM9 codec is installed with WMP. I don't think you'd find many Windows PC's that haven't installed Windows Media Player. It is an "automatic update" for Windows 2000 - present. I haven't tried it, but my information is that linux and OSX ports of the codec are available.

The advantage is a lot better codec than VP3 for free. I think it's also less twitchy than VP6, with about equal performance at the bitrates that we use.
jingxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2005, 12:29   #12
retrostation
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 170
did my post lead to something possibly great?
I hope so, but im still encoding at 278....lol
retrostation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2005, 14:09   #13
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Hi Retro-

I've had little twitchy things happen with this, but these settings worked from 100 - 300 kbps... tested on my computers.





Maybe something got scrambled in your codec, so take a look at these settings that work here.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2005, 15:53   #14
retrostation
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 170
will try thanks a lot...


edit:

Well, tried it, best i can do is 187 with 5 fps.

They have added something that i cant find or uninstall...

Used to get down as low as 75 or so with sound....

very odd.....

Last edited by retrostation; 10th January 2005 at 16:12.
retrostation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2005, 16:35   #15
slavas
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: kaimas šalia Anykščių
Posts: 680
it seems they changed structures that stores vfw codec configuration, prabably best is recreate profile from scratch
slavas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2005, 17:07   #16
jingxin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 139
Send a message via Yahoo to jingxin
how about try this?

after uninstallation, search through registry file with "vp6" as key word, delete those entries relative to vp6 codec except those under winamp.

Quote:
Originally posted by retrostation
will try thanks a lot...


edit:

Well, tried it, best i can do is 187 with 5 fps.

They have added something that i cant find or uninstall...

Used to get down as low as 75 or so with sound....

very odd.....
jingxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2005, 19:10   #17
retrostation
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 170
Done. There was no trace of anything nsv or vp6.
Reinstalled.
still the same. 5 fps and 300 bitrate was as good as i could do. Short of wiping my hd, thats it....
retrostation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2005, 22:21   #18
jingxin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 139
Send a message via Yahoo to jingxin
Quote:
Originally posted by jingxin
check the winamp\plugins directory, there is a nsvdec_vp6.dll, this DLL is used to support nsv vp6 files, if we want winamp to support nsv wm9 files, i think we need sth like nsvdec_wm9.dll there as well.

the nsv_codec_sdk does contain info about creating such nsvdec_*.dll stuff. Slavas, if you have interest, would you have a try?

################# codecsdkreadme.txt ##################

OK so here are 5 projects that demonstrate how to add compressor and
decompressor support to NSVenc/NSVcap/NSVate and
Winamp/NsvPlay/NsvPlayX/NsvPlayMoz.

Here is a list of the projects and what they do:

---- encoding plugins ----

The various encoders all look in the same directory that their
executable resides for nsv_coder_*.dll.

nsv_coder_xvid:
An example of an NSV video encoder plug-in for NSVenc. This one
compresses video using XVID (www.xvid.org) if the XVID VFW codec
is installed on your system. It is barely usable but at least is a
good starting point for hacking a different codec in.

nsv_coder_lame:
An example of an NSV audio encoder plug-in for NSVenc. This one
compresses audio using LAME (www.mp3dev.org/mp3) if lame_enc.dll is
is installed on your system.

nsv_coder_pcm4:
An example of an NSV audio encoder plug-in for NSVenc. This is a
tiny framework example that compresses 16 bit audio down to 4 bits
per sample. It is not usable at all, but just serves as a good starting
place for hacking another codec in.



---- decoding plugins ----

Decoding plugins are generally scanned from Program Files\Common Files\NSV,
as well as Plugins\ for Winamp. Generally you should name your plug-in
nsvdec_*.dll, but in the case of Winamp plugins you can also name it in_*.dll,
to have a DLL that supports native Winamp decoding as well as NSV decoding
(our own in_mp3.dll does this).

nsvdec_xvid:
Decompresses XVID data to VIDEO (YV12) data if XVID/VFW is installed.

nsvdec_pcm4:
Decompresses PCM4 data (generated with nsv_coder_pcm4) to PCM data
(it is really not usable other than as a starting point).



Please send any questions/comments/examples/etc to justin@nullsoft.com.
jingxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2005, 07:22   #19
retrostation
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 170
I finally got it.
Dont know what I did, but now im able to get down as far as 56k with no audio.
Thanks for the help
retrostation is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast TV / Nullsoft Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump