Old 24th December 2001, 11:52   #1
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Psd2Wal

Hiho everybody, merry christmas, I've got a present for you guys

Here is a small tool I made today, it takes a PSD file and can do a few things with it: it can break it apart in multiple PNGs, preserving the alpha channel and the layer name, it can create a mockup xml layout, inserting the layers as is at the right place (so you can start quickly on this new skin you just mocked up in photoshop), and it can create a bitmap element xml section for those layers as well.

I've got a lot of ideas on how to make it even more helpful, but not much time to make it happen these days, so those ideas will have to wait. In the meantime, this version might already save you hours of typing and clicking

It should be able to load photoshop files made by version 3.0 to 6.0 as long as you do not use dynamic effects, non-rasterized text layers, and layer masks. If you need something fancy and psd2wal doesn't seem to handle it correctly, duplicate your image in photoshop and make sure your layers are rasterized.

Get it here : http://bluemars.org/psd2wal01.zip

Have fun.

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 12:04   #2
Thor
Major Dude
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Gent, Belgium (Europe)
Posts: 968
Send a message via ICQ to Thor Send a message via AIM to Thor
!! LEET SHIZ !!
altho i don't skin nor have photoshop installed at the moment
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 13:05   #3
Lucas
Guru Meditation (Alumni)
 
Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 191
Merry Christmas Francis!

Thank you for the gift, it'll make my life easier. Be sure to keep us informed when new versions are available.

Cheers,
-Luc
Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 14:33   #4
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
You rock, Francis!

Merry Christmas !

-=Gonzotek=-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 14:58   #5
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Already found a problem: if your background is free form (in other words if the background bounding box is smaller than the whole picture) it'll write the png as a sub rectangle of the picture (the actual size of the layer), so you need to manually save the background for now, i'll fix this soon by forcing the background to be the size of the whole picture.

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 15:11   #6
Lactobacillus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 162
BTW: Merry Christmas, Nullsoft guys!

Lactobacillus
Lactobacillus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 15:43   #7
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Here you go, v0.2, fixes the layout background problem. Now even if
you use a transparent bitmap, it will output this transparent bitmap in a png to use as the layout background, using the dimentions of the whole psd file (thus defining the canvas for the layout).

http://bluemars.org/psd2wal02.zip

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 15:56   #8
pixelpusher
Major Dude
 
pixelpusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Left of darkness, Right of light
Posts: 860
FRANCIS RULES !!!
pixelpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 20:12   #9
drwho9437
Senior Member
 
drwho9437's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UMCP
Posts: 395
Even though I don't really use photoshop I still can save as a PSD so... Thanks very much. But now I will have to write another skin... Hummm. Have to give that one some thought.

One thought. I don't know much about PSD files as I use PSP but I can name my layers. If a layer is named Play you could have it add a play button instead of a layer. Same thing could be done for a variety of types of things.
drwho9437 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 22:29   #10
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569

Francis, you are great!
that WILL save me LOTS of time.

[e]<- 600, suhweet [/e]

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2001, 23:44   #11
infinil
Junior Member
 
infinil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to infinil
jump start

If this is as cool as it seems on the outside, it will save me a lot of time in the creation of my first wa3 skin (in progress now).

Thanks Francis =)
- infinil
infinil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2001, 04:00   #12
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally posted by drwho9437
Even though I don't really use photoshop I still can save as a PSD so... Thanks very much. But now I will have to write another skin... Hummm. Have to give that one some thought.

One thought. I don't know much about PSD files as I use PSP but I can name my layers. If a layer is named Play you could have it add a play button instead of a layer. Same thing could be done for a variety of types of things.
Yeah, there are a lot of things like that that can be done, but since I don't have much time to spend on this these days, I figured I would release this, since it's already pretty useful. I'll continue working on it on my spare time, it might become much more than this.

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2001, 08:18   #13
Naamloos
Forum King
 
Naamloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: irc.tehflap.org/*******
Posts: 3,085
Thanks! you gave us a present... what about our present to you?

Thank you very much again!
Naamloos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2001, 12:52   #14
jakov.sosic
Senior Member
 
jakov.sosic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 244
Send a message via ICQ to jakov.sosic
Another thing
I've noticed that some skins use Nullsofts installing system, so user doesn't have to copy the skin into skins dir, but installation does it itself.
Where can i download Nullsofts installing system or whatever it is called? And is it free to use it with my skin?
jakov.sosic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2001, 13:53   #15
Naamloos
Forum King
 
Naamloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: irc.tehflap.org/*******
Posts: 3,085
yup it's free to use... check the NSDN
Naamloos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2001, 14:02   #16
Thor
Major Dude
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Gent, Belgium (Europe)
Posts: 968
Send a message via ICQ to Thor Send a message via AIM to Thor
For latest version of NSIS go here : http://www.nullsoft.com/free/nsis
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2001, 16:26   #17
jakov.sosic
Senior Member
 
jakov.sosic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 244
Send a message via ICQ to jakov.sosic
Thumbs up

Thnx guys!
jakov.sosic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2001, 16:59   #18
Thor
Major Dude
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Gent, Belgium (Europe)
Posts: 968
Send a message via ICQ to Thor Send a message via AIM to Thor
idd it does
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2001, 10:05   #19
bobo
Major Dude
 
bobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 515
this should be very useful. thanks alot
bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2001, 12:19   #20
OptiKing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
Thumbs up psd2wal

Thank you for your tool. It will be very helpful for me. I haven´t tried it yet but I´m looking for something similar which helps me to insert jpgs from a digcamera into a running visualization. Do you know some tool to get this done? Or a similar effect e.g. freeze the viz and overlay it with a jpg?

Regards

- OptiKing
OptiKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2002, 15:24   #21
VooDoo`
Major Dude
 
VooDoo`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany >> Sax >> Leipzig
Posts: 626
Send a message via ICQ to VooDoo` Send a message via AIM to VooDoo`
it's cool and very helpfull, but I found a bug:
if I have a picture in photoshop with Cover strength (like 86%)
then the psd2wal programm make it wrong, because the picture is more tranzparenter as it is (like 16%)

o_0
VooDoo` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2002, 23:21   #22
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
New version

Here is version 0.3 of psd2wal, now it reads the object type and xml parameters off the photoshop layer name, yay.

Also, the photoshop layer opacity flag is better handled (as alpha="" param in xml instead of modifying the png), it now creates groupdefs instead of layouts and hidden layers do not appear in the groupdef, but do in the element section.

Well, check out the readme.txt it's all in there.

Have fun.
Attached Files
File Type: zip psd2wal03.zip (70.6 KB, 631 views)

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2002, 23:28   #23
Arvenius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 34
Send a message via ICQ to Arvenius
yay
francis
the man that remembers a thread even if its 3 month old =)
Arvenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2002, 23:39   #24
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Nice update.

-=Gonzotek=-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2002, 02:33   #25
Vica
Major Dude
 
Vica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: St. Vincent & the Grenadines
Posts: 872
Send a message via ICQ to Vica Send a message via AIM to Vica Send a message via Yahoo to Vica
This is the stuff
This is sooo usesful in putting my layers together and saving time.

Just one problem I noticed is that for some reason your "main.group" has the prefix "player." for each layer while your elements.xml does not have the prefix.

I got a tonne of "bitmap not found" messages before I figured it out. Should be an easy fix.


Website: Template vbulletin skins by exaltic.com[size=0.75]
Skins/Coding: D-Shock, Nebular, Triton [/size]
Vica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2002, 05:54   #26
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally posted by Vica
This is the stuff
This is sooo usesful in putting my layers together and saving time.

Just one problem I noticed is that for some reason your "main.group" has the prefix "player." for each layer while your elements.xml does not have the prefix.

I got a tonne of "bitmap not found" messages before I figured it out. Should be an easy fix.
Oops, fixed.
Attached Files
File Type: zip psd2wal04.zip (70.6 KB, 1056 views)

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2002, 14:38   #27
Adil
Major Dude
 
Adil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,377
Send a message via ICQ to Adil Send a message via AIM to Adil Send a message via Yahoo to Adil
That's the kind of tool I've been looking for.\
Thank you Francis, wish you had time to make your app even better !
Adil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2002, 16:22   #28
icewind43
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: the frozen tundra
Posts: 155
I find it amusing that S2 users praise the ability of S2 to create skins directly from PSD files, and Francis is basically giving WA3 the same functionality in his spare time...
icewind43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2002, 17:45   #29
Adil
Major Dude
 
Adil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,377
Send a message via ICQ to Adil Send a message via AIM to Adil Send a message via Yahoo to Adil
it's not the same.
Sonique2 USES the psd files while this tool is just a converting tool to png format.
Adil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2002, 18:21   #30
icewind43
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: the frozen tundra
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally posted by AvexTrax
it's not the same.
Sonique2 USES the psd files while this tool is just a converting tool to png format.
Once this code hits version 1 and can generate all of the XML needed to go directly from PSD to a functional WA3 skin, he would just need to throw it into a component and voila, WA3 can now directly use PSD files. Also notice that he called it PSD2WAL, not PSD2PNG and that it is currently only on Version 0.3...
icewind43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2002, 19:11   #31
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Uh oh... what's this ?

05/13/2001 10:03a <DIR> .
05/13/2001 10:03a <DIR> ..
04/01/2002 11:18a 23,040 psdload.wac



I still don't recommand distributing skins as PSD, because they are compressed very poorly. But once you want to publish, just use psd2wal, which outputs exactly the same xml code, but uses the extracted pngs instead.

heh.

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2002, 19:24   #32
icewind43
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: the frozen tundra
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally posted by Francis
Uh oh... what's this ?

05/13/2001 10:03a <DIR> .
05/13/2001 10:03a <DIR> ..
04/01/2002 11:18a 23,040 psdload.wac



I still don't recommand distributing skins as PSD, because they are compressed very poorly. But once you want to publish, just use psd2wal, which outputs exactly the same xml code, but uses the extracted pngs instead.

heh.

Francis.
I never thought that distributing PSD files actually made any sense, but I also knew that Winamp developers would never let S2 do something that WA3 couldn't do.
icewind43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2002, 20:08   #33
quakz99
Junior Member
 
quakz99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 12
well i must say its a pretty cool app. thnx a lot! and yeah distributing psd files would be kinda dumb... i guess thats why sonique supports it
quakz99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2002, 21:12   #34
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
Fancis... Do you wanna make out? Cause you rock the casbah.
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2002, 22:37   #35
mrsamitk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally posted by icewind43
I find it amusing that S2 users praise the ability of S2 to create skins directly from PSD files, and Francis is basically giving WA3 the same functionality in his spare time...

It's quite abnormal of you to find "normal" things amusing. Wait a min.....you already proved that you are abnormal at the Sonique forums.
mrsamitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2002, 22:41   #36
mrsamitk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally posted by icewind43

I also knew that Winamp developers would never let S2 do something that WA3 couldn't do.

(sonique2) less resource hungry, runs smooth on even slow computers, animations run smooth, only at alpha stages yet, etc. Winamp3 got long ways to go......grrrrr....what you talking about IceWind?
mrsamitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2002, 23:43   #37
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
damnit, stop comparing your penis sizes!

both players will be able to do the same things, if not by default they will atleast be able to do it by scripting or 3rd part coding.

This goes both ways as they are both very good and advanced players!

If you like Sonique2 better, use it.
If you like Winamp3 better, use it.
And if you think both players are great, use them both!

It will be just a matter of choice, not which one is best.

I, for one, like them both but Winamp3 will be my first choice since I have always liked winamp more than sonique, but I don't mean that I didn't think Sonique was good enough.

I will probably have them both installed though.

-Plague


edit
Ups, you got to it first
/edit
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2002, 01:48   #38
mrsamitk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 124
yes both players are good, but it makes me go nuts when Sonique2 is underestimated.
mrsamitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2002, 02:48   #39
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
then what is this?
"Winamp3 got long ways to go"

stop flaming each other..
There will always be people with strong opinions about their favourite player vs the "other" player and there will always be people flaming about something they don't have enough information about.

That won't stop whether you hit back or not.
The only outcome will be angry people and lots of useless flamewars.

chill..


-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2002, 03:39   #40
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,436
francis will be annoyed if i end up closing his thread because of the old sq2vwa3 debate.

*discussion ended*

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump