Old 6th November 2002, 11:42   #1
cgfiend

Send a message via ICQ to cgfiend Send a message via AIM to cgfiend Send a message via Yahoo to cgfiend
Ogg, here I come!

I'm fairly new to Ogg, but have been collecting MP3's since before Napster. I remember using GetRight to download them off web sites. Those were the early days. Now I feel it's time for me to move up to the next technology, so I'm going to re-rip all of my CD's as Oggs. I did a little looking for CD rippers to use and finally settled with CD-DA Xtractor (for extraction only, I am using OggDropXP for encoding). It's pretty handy. I've decided to make all of my Ogg's at 7 quality (aka 224k). According to a FAQ I read, you start to lose stereo separation below 6 quality. I'm really impressed with the new technology and the reduced file size. For a test I yanked 38 Special - Flashback and it turned out great. I think I'm going to like Ogg a lot better than MP3. Besides, why would I want to support the royalty grubbing bastages that own the patents to MP3? Already I've seen Ogg used in a game---I think it was UT2003 if memory serves me right. It's an exciting prospect, all of this haggling about MP3's and all of the traders convert to Ogg and throw them for a loop. Anyone have other suggestions for Ogg goodies (utilities)? Also, I'd like to hear what you all think about Ogg and its seemingly bright future on the horizon.
cgfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2002, 11:51   #2
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)

I make mine at 4.9...Its a good trade off of quality vs size...but if quality is more important than size then its up to you to find the best compromise.

Havent used cd-da xtractor, just cdex (reccomended by the good people here) and soundforge (which doesnt have the quality setting, just the bitrate and cbr/vbr options) for encoding oggs..
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2002, 11:59   #3
Vie
Forum King

Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly