Old 17th December 2003, 02:11   #1
d0rk
I contribute nothing.
(Forum King)
 
d0rk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Virgacalementoflagantionio
Posts: 3,030
Building A Computer....Help :)

Alright, I decided to start looking for hardware and such for a nice gaming system. My Step-Dad and I priced out some hardware and right now its at $2,789.00 USD and I havn't included a moniter yet. So what I am asking is if you wonderful people can help me get it down some without losing the precouis speed for games and general use.

Heres what I got for hardware so far:

Case: Wave Master TAC-TO1 by Wave Master $148
Power Suply: Enermax $84
Proccesor AMD Athlon 64 FX51 $799
Mother Board: Gigabyte $230
RAM: Corsair PC2300 512mb Pair $147
Dont need to include cables
3 case fans
Video Card: ATI 9800XT $480 (putting this at the 9600 for around $250 instead)
Hard Drive: 2 Western Digital Raptor 36GB $122 each
Also having a CD/DVD Rom
And XP for $93 if I purchase atleast 1 piece of hardware off where we priced it.


I wanna stick with the Athlon 64 FX51 for the FSB unless there is something better. Any suggestion?

I came for the hatred.
I stayed for the ballbag.
d0rk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 02:22   #2
morgado
Major Dude
 
morgado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: away from my baby
Posts: 1,097
Send a message via ICQ to morgado
Not a changing, but an advice ...
Dont buy those CD/CD-R/DVD all-togheter because it really sucks ... try to buy separately !!

I Love You Ana Luiza
MSN
morgado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 02:25   #3
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
You realise you can shave $100 bux off by getting a standard case, and for $122, you can get a 160 GB hard drive.

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 02:32   #4
morgado
Major Dude
 
morgado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: away from my baby
Posts: 1,097
Send a message via ICQ to morgado
^
|
|
|
|

Agreed with that !!

I Love You Ana Luiza
MSN
morgado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 02:46   #5
DJHotIce
Forum Loser
(Forum King)
 
DJHotIce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: That place I can't remember the name.
Posts: 4,617
Send a message via AIM to DJHotIce Send a message via Yahoo to DJHotIce
heck ssj4 I got my hard drive for roughly $90 and it's a 80 giger.

-DJHotIce
Bounce Multimedia - Professional Web Design
DJHotIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 02:48   #6
old and quite mad
Major Dude
 
old and quite mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The PLANET Pluto
Posts: 774
Quote:
Originally posted by morgado
Not a changing, but an advice ...
Dont buy those CD/CD-R/DVD all-togheter because it really sucks ... try to buy separately !!
Pray, what do you base this insightful opinion on? To my (very direct) knowledge, combo drives have no greater fail-rate than any other similarly constructed drives.

The search for the ultimate signature continues apace. I have journeyed from the peaks of Nepal to the depths of oceanic trenches. I have crossed deserts, jungles, swamps, savannas, steppes and frozen wastelands. I have consulted with seers, swamis, sages, scholars and savants. The peregrination proceeds purposefully.
old and quite mad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 02:49   #7
DJHotIce
Forum Loser
(Forum King)
 
DJHotIce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: That place I can't remember the name.
Posts: 4,617
Send a message via AIM to DJHotIce Send a message via Yahoo to DJHotIce
now seems like a good time to bring in the all wise Atmo.

-DJHotIce
Bounce Multimedia - Professional Web Design
DJHotIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 02:57   #8
morgado
Major Dude
 
morgado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: away from my baby
Posts: 1,097
Send a message via ICQ to morgado
Answering to someone ...
First, u can't copy directly cds ...
Second thing, If your recording an CD, and want to listen to other in other drive, u cant do it ...
and third, if having everything-togheter stuff was really good, Tv's with vcrs togheter would be a damn success ...
No more words ...
Mouse, have you thought of it ?:

I Love You Ana Luiza
MSN
morgado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 03:01   #9
mikeflca
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: san diego, california.
Posts: 623
I know its not exactly about keeping the cost down, but it is important: make sure u have enough fans in your computer, 3 case fans might not be enough..(I need about 5 ).

And about the fx51......yes, its a great processor and all that, it has 64-bit processing, great for gaming, yata-yata.....but 64-bit support in O/S is not very widespread, and until that becomes a little more common, you can only reap some of the benefits of having a 64-bit processor. In fact, if you wait and get the fx-53 when it comes out, there might be more support for 64-bit by that time.

[edit] and you should be able to get the same amount of faster RAM for the same amount or less....$150 for a gig of...was it 2300?( maybe you ment 3200...?)... sounds a bit expensive. esp. considering there is at least 3600 by now. [/edit]
mikeflca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 03:04   #10
Namelessv1
Forum King
 
Namelessv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,757
Re: Building A Computer....Help :)

Quote:
Originally posted by d0rk

Hard Drive: 2 Western Digital Raptor 36GB $122 each
10000 rpm, by any chance?
Namelessv1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 03:06   #11
DJHotIce
Forum Loser
(Forum King)
 
DJHotIce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: That place I can't remember the name.
Posts: 4,617
Send a message via AIM to DJHotIce Send a message via Yahoo to DJHotIce
Re: Re: Building A Computer....Help :)

Quote:
Originally posted by Dawg4Life2K1
10000 rpm, by any chance?
Yea that brings up the biggest comment of em all. Make sure you can get a good rpm becuase the faster your rpm's the faster your hardrive spends (doh!) which in turn means your files should load quicker

-DJHotIce
Bounce Multimedia - Professional Web Design
DJHotIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 03:10   #12
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
may be 10krpm, but imho, the price isnt worth it. 7200 RPM is nice as it is.

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 03:10   #13
mikeflca
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: san diego, california.
Posts: 623
www.anandtech.com has some interesting comparisons of processors, vid cards and more, maybe you want to check it out....

[edit]mods plz dont count that as advertising, im only trying to help.... [/edit]
mikeflca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 03:14   #14
DJHotIce
Forum Loser
(Forum King)
 
DJHotIce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: That place I can't remember the name.
Posts: 4,617
Send a message via AIM to DJHotIce Send a message via Yahoo to DJHotIce
I dunno I allways visit www.tigerdirect.com for my computer needs.

-DJHotIce
Bounce Multimedia - Professional Web Design
DJHotIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 03:46   #15
J_Bloggs
Major Dude
 
J_Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,778
Compare parts and prices from a range of places, if need be buy from several different places to get the best value. Depending of course on whether it does work out cheaper to pay a bit more in order to get XP on special (and hence have a lower total cost). (thats my opinion on spending money in genral, as far as specificly computer parts and especially in america, I really don't know.)

¯¯¯¯Joe Bloggs____
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
J_Bloggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 03:48   #16
d0rk
I contribute nothing.
(Forum King)
 
d0rk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Virgacalementoflagantionio
Posts: 3,030
I understand I could shave off $100 on the case but that was voted the best case by Maxiumum PC and I wanted a case mod. Image of it can be found here http://www.coolermasterusa.com/PRODUCT.ASPX?ID=56
As for the FX 51, I know I wont gain a huge avantage for program use but I love the FSB on it.

I came for the hatred.
I stayed for the ballbag.
d0rk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 03:53   #17
mikeflca
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: san diego, california.
Posts: 623
Anandtech.com has many more in-depth tests to show you what is really better rather than just being a retailer
mikeflca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 03:55   #18
J_Bloggs
Major Dude
 
J_Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,778
(if your going to be fussy it's going to cost you,)
/me butts out

¯¯¯¯Joe Bloggs____
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
J_Bloggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 03:56   #19
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
That case looks rather poor, imo, very bland. This case is much, MUCH cooler looking than that, and cheaper at 120 bux on sale:

http://www.circotech.com/yhst-156819...kxalllvms.html

Cheaper still, and STILL better looking:

http://www.circotech.com/yhst-156819...qtekmedco.html

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 04:12   #20
Namelessv1
Forum King
 
Namelessv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,757
Quote:
Originally posted by SSJ4 Gogitta
may be 10krpm, but imho, the price isnt worth it. 7200 RPM is nice as it is.
Yeah, especially for only a 36 gb hd. I see where it would really come into play with the much larger drives, but they really haven't reached that point yet.
Namelessv1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 04:13   #21
mikeflca
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: san diego, california.
Posts: 623
Considering that one main concern is ventilation (and obviously keeping the temp down), the one d0rk chose and your first one didnt look that bad.

*Although the cost is horrendous*

As for the second one you suggested Gogitta, that one looks a lot like mine in fact, except for the lights and extra stuff like that, it is.
*And I HATE it*
Besides, about how good it looks....the idea here is that d0rk will spend more time looking at the screen than looking at the design of the case(it is a gaming computer, after all)...
mikeflca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 04:36   #22
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
That case doesn't look that sweet man. I got a kick ass case from Color Cases and it was really cheap. Check them out.
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 04:43   #23
zetafunction
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 99
Instead of the 36GB Raptors, you could buy the 74GB Raptors instead...

Yes, they are expensive, but they *are* nice drives. I'm not entirely sure if the premium is completely worth it... but among other things, they have a 5-year warranty... Seagates are also nice.

I wouldn't go for a 64-bit processor. You're not likely to see any huge performance gains from it right now, just because no apps are really able to take advantage of it. And you're paying quite a premium for it too... as an alternative, the Athlon's with the Barton cores are nice, as are the Intel P4's with HT (for both, you could just go for a version with a lower clockspeed, and just overclock it, to save more money. The AMD Athlon Barton 2200, 2600, something has shown great potential for overclocking, as has the P4C 2.4/2.6).

If you only want one drive, I'd recommend the Plextor 708A (I think).

For the video card, the 9800 XT is currently tremendously overpriced. It's not worth $500, or even $480. Maybe just go for a plain old 9800 or even a 9700, which is still a very solid card. Or... a 9500 which you can softmod =P

Also, you mean PC3200 RAM, not PC2300 ram, right?
zetafunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 04:48   #24
mikeflca
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: san diego, california.
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally posted by zetafunction
Maybe just go for a plain old 9800 or even a 9700, which is still a very solid card.
thats the way to go....id say 9700 XT is best bang for the buck, so to speak. And about the (it must have been 3200) RAM.....is it dual channel?
mikeflca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 08:54   #25
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Remember that if you want to run an FX51 you'll need registered memory.

Also, for gaming performance the video card is more of a factor than processor speed.

Personally, i wouldnt bother getting an A64 yet. While they are faster than the Athlon XP's, the extra cost just isnt justified. A barton 2500+ will clock to 2.2ghz (3200+) without much hassle at all, and can go further with good cooling.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 09:07   #26
Starbucks
Forum King
 
Starbucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Forums
Posts: 2,685
Don't blow $799 on a new CPU just yet. Let that "newness factor" go away first, and let the price drop. Or get an AMD athlon 64 3200+, its cheaper ( currently $250) and you dont need expensive ECC memory./
Starbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 16:48   #27
zetafunction
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally posted by mikeflca
thats the way to go....id say 9700 XT is best bang for the buck, so to speak. And about the (it must have been 3200) RAM.....is it dual channel?
Err, you mean Pro, not XT? =)

There's no 9700 XT... at least, not that I've seen.
zetafunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 19:04   #28
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
/me tries to help
overstock.com might be able to help you get a pretty cheap monitors or mice and keyboards
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 20:04   #29
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
i'm in agreement with a couple people here. don't bother with the 64bit processor yet. its waaaay too expensive. cut down on the processor and upgrade on the memory. maybe even get a mobo that supports that new pc4200 ram. now that would be cool

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 20:32   #30
d0rk
I contribute nothing.
(Forum King)
 
d0rk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Virgacalementoflagantionio
Posts: 3,030
Thats for the help guys. Keep the suggestings coming

I came for the hatred.
I stayed for the ballbag.
d0rk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 20:45   #31
zetafunction
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally posted by k_rock923
i'm in agreement with a couple people here. don't bother with the 64bit processor yet. its waaaay too expensive. cut down on the processor and upgrade on the memory. maybe even get a mobo that supports that new pc4200 ram. now that would be cool
The problem with DDR RAM that's higher clocked is the very lax memory timings that it gives. Something like 3-4-4-8 is fairly typical. I'd rather go for PC3200 or 3500 RAM and be able to get 2-2-2-5 timings on my memory.

Two other nice places for computer stuff:
www.zipzoomfly.com and www.newegg.com
zetafunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 21:20   #32
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Quote:
Originally posted by zetafunction
The problem with DDR RAM that's higher clocked is the very lax memory timings that it gives. Something like 3-4-4-8 is fairly typical. I'd rather go for PC3200 or 3500 RAM and be able to get 2-2-2-5 timings on my memory.
The (small) drop in performance due to slackened timings is made up by the increase in frequency though. That's of course only if you run the ram that fast, people that buy pc4000 and run it at 1:1 on a 200mhz fsb have wasted their money.

I'm running pc3200 (corsair XMS3200C2) which has stock timings of 2-3-3-6@400mhz (can do 2-2-2-6) but I run it at 2.5-3-3-7@440mhz (1:1 at 220fsb) with 2.7v for every day use. In every test i've thrown at it, it's been faster at the higher frequency and slacker timings.

P.s. 1:1 on a 220fsb is still leaving a fairly large margin for error, it can run at 460mhz with those timings - http://forums.tweakers.com.au/showth...&threadid=9922
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 21:29   #33
d0rk
I contribute nothing.
(Forum King)
 
d0rk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Virgacalementoflagantionio
Posts: 3,030
I forgot to mention, I doubt I will be doing any overclocking. I've never messed with it and I dont wanna fry my first real computer.

I came for the hatred.
I stayed for the ballbag.
d0rk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 21:36   #34
zetafunction
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 99
Tom's Hardware also just did a nice case review.
zetafunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2003, 22:56   #35
mikeflca
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: san diego, california.
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally posted by zetafunction
Err, you mean Pro, not XT? =)

There's no 9700 XT... at least, not that I've seen.
oops.
mikeflca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 02:38   #36
Starbucks
Forum King
 
Starbucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Forums
Posts: 2,685
If you're not going to be doing any overclocking then dont bother buying Corsair XMS. There's no point in buying "good" ram if you aren't going to OC. Get corsiar value ram instead, or a compatable generic.
Starbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 03:47   #37
morgado
Major Dude
 
morgado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: away from my baby
Posts: 1,097
Send a message via ICQ to morgado
Ow, I was reading the last adds ... and, as it's a gamimg pc, be really worried with the fans ...
I mean, I have only simple 1 dan in my computer ...
I've been working with very high temperatures ..
My pc:

Motherboard Asus A7S333
Athlon XP 2400+ 2GHz
256Mb RAM 333 MHz
GeForce 4 64Mb
HD 80GB 7200 RPM

well, it's not that good, but for my country, and my money, it's the best i can have ...
But the temperatures ....

I Love You Ana Luiza
MSN
morgado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 17:15   #38
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Is there any way you can add an extra fan morgado, they're very cheap.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 17:36   #39
morgado
Major Dude
 
morgado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: away from my baby
Posts: 1,097
Send a message via ICQ to morgado
Very cheap in USD.
The ones "Made in Brazil" aren't worth buying, and so I'm waiting xmas and my bday to make some improvements here ...
What fan would be fine UJ ?
Also I'm thinking of one more 256MB RAM ...

I Love You Ana Luiza
MSN
morgado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 18:44   #40
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
You'll need somewhere to fit it in the sides or back of your case(complete with outlet holes or grill), do you have that? The usual sort of fan is 80mm square and 25mm deep.
As you have an ASUS board there will almost certainly be somewhere to plug it in. If not, make sure it comes with an ATX adaptor, this is just a connecting wire with the right plugs to fit a spare 12V line on your Power Supply.

Watch out you don't overload the power supply adding extra fans and RAM
Atmo can probably advise on that.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump