Old 1st October 2006, 16:36   #1
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
Error

When I installed the MMD3 skin, look at what it does.
The skin works fine except these images which come up as like a green missing image kind of thing (circled in red):


I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2006, 16:40   #2
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
re: MMD3 skin
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=256531

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2006, 16:50   #3
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
Siebe - I love you.
Thanks for you help.

Long live WINAMP!!!

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2006, 20:01   #4
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
Whilst my last post still stands - I still have the same problem with the new version of the skin

Anyone got any ideas?

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2006, 21:56   #5
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Thinger seems to be borked with gen_ff (Modern Skin Support) 1.22.

Thinger across various skins (those that have it) has the Green 'image not found' icons as shown in pandaking's screenshot. Applying the temp fix/workaround causes icons to "disappear" and renders the Thinger unusable.

Tested on a clean install of Winamp 5.3 Full.
Can not reproduce with gen_ff.dll 1.21 (copied from WA 5.24 to WA 5.3)
Windows XP Home Edition with Service Pack 2
DirectX 9.0c
Dell Dimension 4550
Video NVIDIA GeForce MX 420 (nView disabled)
SoundMax Integrated Digital Audio (Analog Devices, Inc.)
Pentium 4 2.0GHz
256MB Ram

Also reproduced on another computer with WA 5.3

Anyone else?

Moving from Tech Support to Bug Reports

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2006, 22:26   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
Please provide some links to a few skins with a Thinger, for Benski :-)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2006, 22:53   #7
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Whoops, that would have been helpful. Sorry for the brain freeze.

Winamp3 Default Skin
Wasabi Player Skin
k-jofol
FusionAmp
MacOSesque
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2006, 22:58   #8
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Invicta
Pad
Mercury

Wasn't able to reproduce this yet
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2006, 23:55   #9
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Funny, The author of these two skins asked me if the thinger was borked in 5.3 as he couldn't see the thinger icons
http://www.winamp.com/skins/details.php?id=122001
http://www.winamp.com/skins/details.php?id=123571

He also mentioned MMD3 as well as a no show, but I can't for the life of me replicate it with any skin I know of.

Clean install of 5.3 here and all the skins listed above work fine here.

Win XP SP2, fully updated
Video NVIDIA GeForce2Go
DirectX 9.0
Intel Pentium(R)4 mobile CPU 1.70ghz
Intel (R) 82801CA/CAM AC97 audio Controller
348mb ram
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 00:12   #10
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
@ pandaking

Do you have other skins with the Thinger, if so can you reproduce the other skins? The Thinger is the icon window/button that lets you select different Winamp windows.

If you can reproduce the issue, please provide some system specs.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 00:13   #11
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
I also get the problem with these skins:

Boom -


Invictor -


Fusion -


Thinger -


Urge overkill -

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 00:13   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
I can't reproduce it either.
The Thinger for: Winamp3 Default, FusionAmp & Pad skins all loaded ok for me.
(didn't test any more after that).
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 00:16   #13
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
I also get a script error on some other skins They seem to work fine though once I close the error box. None of this green image stuff lol


My specs are:
Quote:
Originally posted by pandaking
- Winamp 5.3 (5.3.0.920) - clean install
Yes, followed the guide, and did a clean install.

-System specs (mobo, cpu, ram)
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
AMD 64 3000+
1GB OCZ GOLD PC3200 BH5 2-2-2-5

-Windows OS, including Service Packs
Windows XP, SP2

-Video Card, Video Card Drivers version
ATI X850 XT PE
Device manager shows it to have the drivers "8.282.0.0"

-Sound Card, Sound Card Drivers version
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Device manager shows it to have the drivers "5.12.8.1164"

-DirectX version (start > run > dxdiag)
DirectX 9.0c

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 00:16   #14
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
@pandaking

Did you rename error.png to eg. error.png.off and copy transparent.png and rename it to error.png (winamp\plugins\freeform\xml\wasabi\window folder) as suggested?

Until you do this properly, you'll still see those green x's everywhere in all old/bugged skins.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 00:17   #15
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
DJ Egg, yes I did - and that just meant there was nothing there to click on

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 00:19   #16
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
So why are you posting screenshots of skins with green x's in them?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 00:21   #17
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
Because that is my problem
I put everything back the way ot was before the "quick fix" as at least the green x's are clickable.

How can I click on nothing?

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 00:25   #18
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
Is there a link to a previous version of winamp that does not have this problem.
I just want MMD3 and my fav player to work *cries*.
I am seriously regretting upgrading to the latest version.

Then again - if I can help make winamp better or fix problems I suppose that's a good thing.

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 00:38   #19
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
I can't reproduce the problem here. Are you sure you copied transparent.png to some other folder, renamed it to error.png then pasted it back into the original folder? ie. you didn't just rename transparent.png (the original transparent.png still needs to be in the wasabi\window folder).

Working FusionAmp with Winamp 5.3 screenshot
http://www.meggamusic.co.uk/winamp/s...ots/fusion.png
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 10:25   #20
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
Hmmm, how odd.
I have a feeling when I do the renaming process something goes wrong. Look:





Here is what it looks like when I have done that.


I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 10:38   #21
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
I have tried changing the image other ways too now.
I opened the transparent.png up in GIMP, clicked "file" -> "save as", saved it as error.png and still the same problem.

So yea - that way doesn't work.

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 10:54   #22
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
Strange.

Unzip the attachment to the plugins\freeform\xml\wasabi\window folder

Let it overwrite the existing transparent.png, error.png.off & error.png

(make sure winamp is closed first)
Attached Files
File Type: zip error.zip (2.9 KB, 374 views)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 11:01   #23
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
Invicta Thinger w/ 5.3
http://www.meggamusic.co.uk/winamp/s...thinger_ok.png
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 11:21   #24
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
Still the same problem

EDIT: I just uninstalled winamp - reinstalled it, overwrote those files before even opening winamp, installed the invicta skin and same problem.

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 11:24   #25
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
Hmm, the plot thickens. Alas, I'm baffled. Anyone else?

www.winampheaven.net for all old (unsupported) versions
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 11:27   #26
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
I've asked the author of the two skins I linked to up there to cast his eyes over this thread and let us know his setup.

My last advice to him was to do a complete uninstall/clean reinstall and see if that fixes things, not heard back from him however to say if that fixed it or not.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 11:30   #27
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Hmm, the plot thickens. Alas, I'm baffled. Anyone else?

www.winampheaven.net for all old (unsupported) versions
Cheers. The skins are working fine now.
Running version 5.24

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 14:52   #28
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Like pandaking, when I apply the temp fix/workaround the Thinger icons "disappear" and I can not click on any of them.

Also, joriq from the "WA 5.3 & MMD3 skin" thread seemed to be talking about Thinger. Unfortunately, joriq did not mentioned if the suggestions resolved the issue. I just posted a reply asking as such.

Is it odd that a small handful of users can (apparently) reproduce this issue. It will be interesting to see what joriq and Ian have to say.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 16:18   #29
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
Yea, I would really love to see a fix for this.

Also, to the developers of winamp - MMD3 is one hell of a popular skin. Perhaps you should make it the new default modern skin. I for one find it easier to use than the current default, and it looks better.

May people won't bother with installing skins, and interface is a huge aspect of a player. I dunno, just an idea.

Or maybe have a skin team, who go through certain skins and fix them etc and then put them in a special compatible section. You know like - these are safe and cool. we love them lol

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 16:25   #30
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
MMD3 is one hell of a popular skin. Perhaps you should make it the new default modern skin.
This will never happen, believe me. Sven Kistner holds all right on that skin.

Quote:
I for one find it easier to use than the current default, and it looks better.
Me not. I prefer the default modern skin (funnily enough that both skins are from the same author, heh)

The default modern skin is one of the most useful modern skins, which is aviable in the world wide web.

The only thing is, that there are no controlls in the bottom of the library, like in MMD3, but this is really minor issue, isn't it?
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 19:49   #31
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
So... it turns out that filereader.w5s is missing from the 5.3 installer
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....68#post2037668

See my post a bit further down for the missing file.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 23:19   #32
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
So I just use this: http://forums.winamp.com/attachment....postid=2037686
With the new version of winamp and the skins will work?

Should someone not add that to the installer and bring out like a 5.3a or something asap?!

I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 23:28   #33
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
Yes, but you also still need to do the error.png/transparent.png thing.

I think for 5.31 (or whatever the next release is) that we'll also be including the already modified error.png (copy of transparent.png renamed) with the winamp distribution, at least until more skin authors have fixed up their skins.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2006, 00:14   #34
pandaking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 33
Well just for the record I reinstalled the latest version of Winamp, added the file from the zip to "program files/winamp/system" and all the skins work fine.

I didn't have to do the transparent thing.
Just installed that file and all sorted.

Thanks for the help


I <3 siebe83 - THE forum king.
DJ -> Makes panda horny...
pandaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump