Old 27th February 2007, 05:08   #1
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
ML Steals Focus w/ Alt + Tab

When I use ALT + TAB to bring Winamp forward, located behind another Window within Windows, the Media Library (ML) is stealing focus from the “Main Window”. I don’t want this to happen (and it may very well be a bug in Winamp).

I’ve done a little debugging, and this change in focus only occurs when the Taskbar option is NOT checked in Winamp’s “General Preferences” (like in this screen shot).

To replicate this issue:
  1. Open Winamp
  2. Ensure the Taskbar option is NOT checked in Winamp’s “General Preferences”
  3. Ensure the Main Window is highlighted/active
  4. Now open another application, IE for example,
    so that Winamp is no longer the active Window within Windows
  5. Alt + Tab back to Winamp

    Notice that the ML is now highlighted/active within Winamp. As such, Winamp's Playback HotKeys do not work until one clicks on Winamp’s “Main Window”.
Expected Behavior - Winamp remembers the highlighted/active pane being used
before the other application was brought into focus, and upon returning to Winamp using Alt + Tab the same pane is highlighted/active.

Note that Winamp is behaving as expected when the Taskbar option is CHECKED in Winamp’s “General Preferences”. If the “Main Window” was highlighted/active before the other application was opened, then the “Main Window” will still be highlighted/active when one returns to Winamp using Alt + Tab.

#1 - Can anyone else replicate this problem?
#2 - Is anyone aware of a workaround/solution?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen shot - preferences.jpg (49.1 KB, 829 views)

Last edited by jph6t; 27th February 2007 at 05:29.
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 05:13   #2
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Re: ML Steals Focus w/ Alt + Tab - Supporting Screen Shot

Screen Shot of highlighted/active "Main Window"
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen shot - active main window.jpg (34.6 KB, 1259 views)

Last edited by jph6t; 27th February 2007 at 05:30.
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 05:15   #3
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Re: ML Steals Focus w/ Alt + Tab - Supporting Screen Shot

Screen Shot of highlighted/active Media Library (ML)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen shot - active media library.jpg (35.6 KB, 824 views)

Last edited by jph6t; 27th February 2007 at 05:30.
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 11:43   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Hmm, there's definitely something strange going on there...

For starters, Winamp shouldn't even be appearing under Alt+Tab unless the Taskbar icon is enabled (note how all other apps/icons in the Systray-only don't appear in the Alt+Tab menu).

Note how the Winamp icon in Alt+Tab says "Winamp Library".
This might explain why the Media Library comes into focus, heh.

I can see that you don't have Modern Skin support installed, but when switching from Winamp Modern (with main window in focus) to Winamp Classic skin, the ML steals focus.

Also note that the problem can't be reproduced with Modern skins, ie. Winamp (or 'Winamp Library', in this case) does not appear in the Alt+Tab menu when Winamp is set to show in the System Tray only, and not the Taskbar. It only occurs when using Classic skins (Re: Reply below: Yes, this means I reproduced it).


So... are you sure you want this bug fixing? If it is fixed, then Winamp won't appear in the Alt+Tab menu at all when set to show in Systray only.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 15:31   #5
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Note how the Winamp icon in Alt+Tab says "Winamp Library".
This might explain why the Media Library comes into focus, heh.
Yes, I see that now that you point it out.
So DJ Egg, you were able to replicate this when you selected the Classic Skin?
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2007, 07:15   #6
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Also note that the problem can't be reproduced with Modern skins, ie. Winamp (or 'Winamp Library', in this case) does not appear in the Alt+Tab menu when Winamp is set to show in the System Tray only, and not the Taskbar. It only occurs when using Classic skins (Re: Reply below: Yes, this means I reproduced it).
From the way you wrote your reply I wasn't sure if you actually replicated the bug yourself, or just assumed it was a Classic skin only occurrence when you were not able to replicate using the Modern skin. Thus the clarification question.

I would have replied earlier DJ Egg, but I didn't notice your reply tacked on/into the post above my post
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2007, 07:25   #7
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
For starters, Winamp shouldn't even be appearing under Alt+Tab unless the Taskbar icon is enabled (note how all other apps/icons in the Systray-only don't appear in the Alt+Tab menu).

So... are you sure you want this bug fixing? If it is fixed, then Winamp won't appear in the Alt+Tab menu at all when set to show in Systray only.
So I guess we could call this a bug-in-my-favor? Nice.
But I still think I'd rather have the bank make an error in my favor.

And while I like having the ability to Alt+Tab an open Winamp, you are absolutely
right DJ Egg that System Tray apps should NOT appear in the Alt+Tab menu.

So I must do what's right, and for consistency sake, give up the error in my favor ... and request Winamp be removed from the Alt+Tab menu.

Can you add this bug to the list of bugs for fixing in a future release?
Thanks for your attention DJ Egg
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2007, 17:19   #8
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
v5.35 - ML Steals Focus w/ Alt + Tab - Supporting Screen Shot

Quote:
Originally posted by jph6t
So I must do what's right, and for consistency sake, give up the error in my favor ... and request Winamp be removed from the Alt+Tab menu.

Can you add this bug to the list of bugs for fixing in a future release?
Just validating that as of v5.35 this bug is still present.

This is not surprising, as according to the change log it has not been fixed.
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2007, 18:19   #9
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
WS_EX_CONTROLPARENT is the style causing the issue and any of the gen_frame windows as used by the media library or jtfe, etc will cause this quirk. it's actually correct behaviour as followed by the OS for window styles, etc whereby it'll try to guage the window for a process from the window styles to show in the alt+tab list. in this case with those options set, the media library window fulfills as far as the OS is concerned, a valid match and so it'll be the one shown in the list.

as for why the gen_frames have this WS_EX_CONTROLPARENT style is beyond my guess.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2007, 07:07   #10
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
v5.36 BETA - ML Steals Focus w/ Alt + Tab - Supporting Screen Shot

Just validating that as of v5.36 (Build 1550) BETA this bug is still present.

This is not surprising, as according to the change log it has not been fixed.
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2007, 03:31   #11
Selolee5
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
*crap removed*
Selolee5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2007, 04:26   #12
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Can a moderator please ban the above jackass and remove his porn link please?

Thank you.

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2008, 00:55   #13
JorgeBurgos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
I have the Taskbar option enabled but using Alt-Tab will often not bring Winamp to the front correctly. It is activated in the task bar but remains behind other applications.

My setup is: XP, Winamp 5.35, MMD3 skin, playlist open.
JorgeBurgos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2008, 11:22   #14
ewerybody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
I just installed a fresh winamp-version yesterday:
v5.53 (x86) - Mar 27 2008

And I quite immediately recognized that now WA shows up in Alt-Tab with each window. Why is that no option? I don't like WA to be there. It was fine before!!!

okok, If I minimize WA the Alt+Tab icons are gone! BUT: I cannot bring it back until I click the tray icon again. Usually WA shows up if I hit my WA-link-shortcut Strg+Alt+W. But that doesn't work if WA is minimized!!!

So I have actually two requests:
1. can you make appearance in Alt+Tab optional?
2. can you make winamp show up on winamp.exe-call even IF MINIMIZED? (just like it does if its not minimized)
ewerybody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2008, 14:37   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Quote:
And I quite immediately recognized that now WA shows up in Alt-Tab with each window
I can't reproduce this.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=161361#specs
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins

What skin are you using?
Do you have any extra 3rd-party plugins installed?
(List Of Plugins required)

Windows OS?
Are you running any shell/desktop enahancement program(s)?
(HJT log required)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2008, 17:14   #16
ewerybody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
skin?: I just use the standard-modern-skin! WOW! Its gone when I switch to classic skin!!!

extra plugins?: nothing but playlist-undo.

OS?: WinXP Pro SP2.

shell/desktop enahancement?: I use some Autohotkey Scripts. But the problem persists if I don't load them.

wait.. I'll get you that lists
ewerybody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2008, 17:27   #17
ewerybody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
ok here is the my_plugin_list.
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list.txt (4.9 KB, 260 views)
ewerybody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2008, 17:34   #18
ewerybody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
and here the hijackthis.log.
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.log.txt (4.2 KB, 386 views)
ewerybody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 16:19   #19
ewerybody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
any news? pardon moi if I'm bothering.
can repro now?

I don't like using classic skin :/
ewerybody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 16:25   #20
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally posted by ewerybody
any news? pardon moi if I'm bothering.
can repro now?

I don't like using classic skin :/
... and this thread was created to document/track an issue with the Classic Skin.
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 19:13   #21
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
@ewerybody

Yeah, I can reproduce the problem on WinXP (but not Vista) with all non-SUI Modern skins.

I'll see if I can get it looked into...


Method of reproduction

1. Select any non-SUI modern skin, such as Winamp Modern (not Bento)
2. Winamp -> Prefs -> General Prefs: Show Winamp in: systray (only)
3. With Winamp visible on the desktop, hit Alt+Tab, and notice an icon for each separate Winamp window (Player, ML, Playlist, etc).
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 19:31   #22
ewerybody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally posted by jph6t
... and this thread was created to document/track an issue with the Classic Skin.
I'm sorry for polluting your thread but you know: one is required by the forum rules to search for stuff concerning your problem. And this here is quite about Alt+Tab and the new version! In the beginning I didn't even know that this is a skin-problem!

And actually IMHO this shouldn't be a skin-thing! Maybe now its going to be fixed skin independent. *shrug* :]

thanks DJ Egg!!

btw: what About that suggestion?
"2. can you make winamp show up on winamp.exe-call even IF MINIMIZED? (just like it does if its not minimized)"
was that discussed before? Open a new thread in ideas?
ewerybody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 20:11   #23
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
As I stated in one of my earlier replies in this thread, the expected and correct behaviour would be for Winamp to not show up at all in Alt+Tab when it's set to show in the System Tray only (whether it's visible or minimized).

Alt+Tab is for items showing in the Taskbar only.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 20:59   #24
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Alt+Tab is for items showing in the Taskbar only.
Agreed

+1
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 22:13   #25
ewerybody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally posted by jph6t
Agreed

+1
Agreed too.

ok I take a look if that minimized bug is tracked before and open up another topic if not. Its actually a skin-related problem again. :/ (restoring works with classic skin, but not with modern)
ewerybody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 22:32   #26
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
No need to start a new thread. We already know about it.

It's not a simple fix either, that's why it's taking so long...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2008, 10:18   #27
ewerybody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
oh really?!?

okok. Yep I've seen an endless load of minimized-related-bugs.

But actually none I've seen reported about that modern-skinned WA does not restore when minimized but classic-skinned DOES!
But ok you know for sure :]

Thanks a lot DJ Egg.
ewerybody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2008, 15:49   #28
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Yeah, if you come across that issue, right-click the Winamp systray icon, and uncheck then recheck: Winamp -> 'Main window'.

We're aware of all the minimized/systray issues, and will hopefully eventually fix them all at some point.... :-o
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2008, 16:23   #29
ewerybody
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 21
:] I'm crossing fingers

btw: is there a commandline-flag to tell WA to become focussed on top???
ewerybody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2008, 10:10   #30
pdontthink
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 23
According to DJ Egg's reply on this thread:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....59#post2330059

The issue is supposed to be fixed in the next release after 2008/4/6, which I believe is v5.531, just released recently. However, I upgraded to 5.531 and behavior is still the same. Should I try to do a fresh install instead?

Thanks for your hard work.
pdontthink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2008, 11:07   #31
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
5.531 was just a minor release to fix some 5.53 specific issues, you won't find the fix in it.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2008, 19:15   #32
jph6t
Major Dude
 
jph6t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 756
Winamp v5.54 - ML Steals Focus w/ Alt + Tab

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Winamp 5.54, Build 2147
The issue documented above has been addressed/fixed
with the release of Winamp v5.54.

Thank you DEV team!!!
jph6t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 10:36   #33
wastemytime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
I am having the same problem with the playlist window in 5.581. If the focus is in the playlist window when I go to another app, then when I alt-tab back to Winamp, ONLY THE PLAYLIST WINDOW APPEARS! Alt-tab should ALWAYS cause ALL Winamp windows to appear, the same as clicking on the icon in the taskbar. That's what happens with every other application I run. That's what used to happen with my previous version of Winamp (5.1.x I think.)
wastemytime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump