Old 16th October 2003, 23:25   #41
GarbagePoe
Senior Member
 
GarbagePoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: |||| ||||||||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||
Posts: 459
Send a message via AIM to GarbagePoe
This is really the only thing bothering me with the modern skin.:

It does this:



When before I could fix it:



Unless someone knows how to fix it?

i close my eyes to stay blind
GarbagePoe is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:28   #42
justin
Moderator Alumni
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
A couple of things.

1) it's uber cool.

2) Double clicking on the very top of the play list in the modern theme doesn't toggle winshade anymore, you have to click everso slightly lower than the top. This is annoying because I align my playlist at the top of the screen and it's effortless to just shove the mouse as far as it'll go and double click. Now you have to think a little and it's a wee bit annoying.

3) The Default skin is too big (for me at least). The scaling is a nice touch and 75% is just about right. However when you switch between classic and modern skins the scaling you had before is lost. Also the position of the windows between the two skins is independent. So when I change to classic the windows appear in different locations than they were in modern theme.

#1: we will fix that shortly. jk.

#2: fixed, next beta will have it.
#3: scale to 75%, then select lock. boom, it will be at 75% always.
(thanks to lone for those updates)

-Justin
justin is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:31   #43
Renigal
Junior Member
 
Renigal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 49
Got it working. I like it, the new skin is nice, but a bit much for my raggedly old computer. Well done.
Renigal is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:31   #44
halibut
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Ehh?

Winamp5 Beta 1
Beta Version
User Rating: 4.9/5
Author: AOL/Nullsoft <------ ???
Program Type: Freeware


Please tell me this is somekind of joke?
halibut is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:31   #45
psyfive
Forum King
 
psyfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,527
The title bar easter egg doesn't work other than that its cool.
psyfive is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:32   #46
psyfive
Forum King
 
psyfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,527
Quote:
Originally posted by halibut
Winamp5 Beta 1
Beta Version
User Rating: 4.9/5
Author: AOL/Nullsoft <------ ???
Program Type: Freeware


Please tell me this is somekind of joke?
aol owns nullsoft


err sorry
could someone please merge this with the above post.
heh
psyfive is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:34   #47
halibut
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by psyfive
The title bar easter egg doesn't work other than that its cool.



You mean its more than a couple of guys in a garage with lots of free time?
halibut is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:35   #48
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tn
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via AIM to ryan
After a bit of playing around with it, I like it ..

I liked it better when the you could open the ML with the little winamp logo in the main window though ..

And it would also be nice to have a vertical window shade mode, so I could leave winamp on the left\right side of my screen.

Nice job guys

Edit: I had to reboot to get it to run again, after an erroer (illegal operation) with the freeform dll (Gen_ff.dll).
ryan is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:37   #49
halibut
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
can i install this alongside winamp 3?
and, can i install winamp 2 alongside winamp 3?
halibut is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:38   #50
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
Quote:
Originally posted by justin
#1: we will fix that shortly. jk.

#2: fixed, next beta will have it.
#3: scale to 75%, then select lock. boom, it will be at 75% always.
(thanks to lone for those updates)

-Justin
OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG!!!!!! Justin replied to me personally! *faints*.

I didn't see the locked bit, that's cool . Maybe a locked window position button between the different skin types?

halibut: yes, just install them in different directories.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:39   #51
AtiUser
Member
 
AtiUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Send a message via ICQ to AtiUser
Independent of my reply in WA 2 discussion Forum (sorry, but this is my opinion) a lot of Winamp's new features are awesome:

Finally, libary supports drag & drop and can rescan folders :-)

Modern skin looks really good.
AtiUser is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:46   #52
InvertedParadox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 21
Any way to change the font in the scrolling display on the main window, and in the media library? My favorite WA3 skin (Echo) works perfectly, except for unreadably small text!
TIA!
InvertedParadox is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:54   #53
ertmann|CPH
Forum Viking
(Forum King)
 
ertmann|CPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The North
Posts: 3,541
Quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
Winamp3 components are not supported.
just wondering, is this planned? or would it in reality just be another winamp3 if it was implemented?

And another question, is a seperate forum for this comming up - or should winamp2 forum be used - if so, maybe you should make that clear somehow - otherwise this might just become the longest tread in history
ertmann|CPH is offline  
Old 16th October 2003, 23:56   #54
iPlayTheSpoons
Major Dude
 
iPlayTheSpoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SJSU
Posts: 1,030
Send a message via AIM to iPlayTheSpoons
Winamp3 skinner here...ummm, will future releases include the updated std.mi (updated since 3 build#488, anyways)?
iPlayTheSpoons is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:03   #55
laz
Major Dude
 
laz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: the internet
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to laz
Am I the last person here to fully support Winamp 3? and Wasabi?
I guess so.... oh well. Seeing AOL effetivly killed WA3, I have moved onto foobar.
So this WA"5", I dont know. I may try it out.... Or hope and beg for version #500 for WA3.
laz is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:06   #56
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
stefan, the plan is to change the wa2 forums into wa5 forums.

the thinking behind this is that wa5 is essentially a straight upgrade to wa2, infact replacing it entirely. support and previous posts for wa2 will mostly still apply since the core is still, well, close enough to count and we really dont want to throw away all that info in those forums (considering there isnt enough room to display all three versions 2.x/3.x/5.x effectively)

of course, the wa3 forums will stay for the time being, but i believe they may change name depending on what wa3 eventually evolves into.

of course, this is just a possible plan in the pipeline, and not final.

CraigF is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:06   #57
mightymidget
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
enqueing? yes no?

also where can we report bugs?
mightymidget is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:13   #58
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by mightymidget
enqueing? yes no?
What about it...?
[edit]Sorry, didn't read your previous post[/edit]
Quote:
also where can we report bugs?
Bugs can be put in this thread.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:14   #59
mightymidget
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
can you enque?
mightymidget is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:16   #60
bored154
Major Dude
 
bored154's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: near mid of CA Posts: not much........ B-Day: August 1st
Posts: 1,348
Send a message via Yahoo to bored154
the new skin kicks the hell out of the classic one the only thing is....... it is kinda big...... O WELL ITS AWSOME NONE THE LESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! great job Nullsoft/AOL guys

Supporting"RE-MOD Bilbo"
.::My SETI::..::My Forums::..::My New Site::..::Winamp IRC::..::My DeviantArt Page::.
bored154 is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:17   #61
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by mightymidget
can you enque?
Normal enqueuing is working for me.

If you mean the Alt+Click enqueuing like in Winamp3, then no. It isn't implemented.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:18   #62
mightymidget
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
is there some other method to do it other than the wa3 style right click?
mightymidget is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:18   #63
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
anybody know if the new modern skin will be able to be reduced into a bar with all the coolness on it like mmd3 can?
apollos is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:22   #64
INMCM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7
Enqueue next?

Will Enqueue Next be added to the playlist editor?
INMCM is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:25   #65
mightymidget
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
thats what ive been asking!
mightymidget is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:31   #66
ShyShy
Amazon Bush Woman
Forum Queen
 
ShyShy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Sticks, Queensland
Posts: 8,067
I'll wait for you guys to play around with it for awhile, then I'll try it out. Y'all make cute guinea pigs
ShyShy is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:32   #67
ertmann|CPH
Forum Viking
(Forum King)
 
ertmann|CPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The North
Posts: 3,541
Craig: what i ment was that you should add winamp5 to the forum description in one way or another.... so those who don't hang around here 24/7 as some of us do, know where to go, so we don't get winamp 5 discusion clustered all over the GD and WA3 forums aswell

[EDIT]
Also i think i status report should be updated and made sticky with essential info. WA5 DL locations and info, Beta software statement (bitter experience from wa3 ), WA3 status, WA3/Linux Status and stuff like that, even as a regular around here, I find it hard to keep track of what's going on
ertmann|CPH is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:39   #68
lechtard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
This is an awesome app, then all the winamp's are - anyway I have found that the only annoyance with this is that the modern skin uses 97% of my resources, does anyone else have that prob and are they going to fix it ???
lechtard is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:40   #69
Fickle
Butterknife of Justice
(Forum King)
 
Fickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Behind you.
Posts: 5,502
this is the hot shit. (a good thing.)

Go read a book without pictures
pabook? | Look, a blog! | Buy Stuff I Wrote
Fickle is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:44   #70
bored154
Major Dude
 
bored154's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: near mid of CA Posts: not much........ B-Day: August 1st
Posts: 1,348
Send a message via Yahoo to bored154
has anyone noticed you can reduce the size of winamp? fun fun fun

Supporting"RE-MOD Bilbo"
.::My SETI::..::My Forums::..::My New Site::..::Winamp IRC::..::My DeviantArt Page::.
bored154 is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:46   #71
mightymidget
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
yeah right click the main window go to window settings>scaling > 75% then lock it

now if only someone can tell me if enqueing next is anywhere to be found.
mightymidget is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:49   #72
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by mightymidget
now if only someone can tell me if enqueing next is anywhere to be found.
I already told you..:
Quote:
Normal enqueuing is working for me.

If you mean the Alt+Click enqueuing like in Winamp3, then no. It isn't implemented.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:50   #73
mightymidget
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
dang
mightymidget is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 00:52   #74
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
For thoes who liked the look of Winamp3 (like me), but don't want to actually install it to get the skin:
http://www.public.asu.edu/~abarber2/wa/Winamp3.wal

(Ripped from 499)
You'll notice that some colors are different in wa3 than they are in wa5. The reason for this is that there are some incompatibilities between the two (ie: there is no window background color in wa3, there is an xml composition), and so some colors are extracted from a composed window, and some others are interpolated or modified to ensure readability (ie: in the playlist editor). If you do NOT want this interpolation and extraction to take place, you need to change your skin version to 1.0 (previously 0.8) and define the new colors. You can find a list of these colors in system-colors.xml in the wa5 default skin.

Cheers,
Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 01:00   #75
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
this is the coolest thing i've used in a long time. the integrated position of the video window in the main window is fantastic.

is it a bug that sometimes the shoutcast channels list stalls downloading the list? could be to do with my webproxy. happened in all the previous versions with the library, incidentally.

edit: ADVANCED TITLE FORMATTING!

zootm is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 01:22   #76
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tn
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via AIM to ryan
edit: nevermind
ryan is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 01:28   #77
GqSkrub
Major Dude
 
GqSkrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lancaster Pennsylvania
Posts: 897
Send a message via AIM to GqSkrub
i think reaper, what we are trying to figure out, is what is "normal enqueuing"?

No sig here folks.
GqSkrub is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 01:31   #78
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by GqSkrub
i think reaper, what we are trying to figure out, is what is "normal enqueuing"?
Enqueuing from the context menus in Windows. I wasn't sure at the time which type of enqueuing he/she meant.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 01:41   #79
shins
Senior Member
 
shins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 157
[SUGGESTION] Allow winshade mode for modern skin to have built in playlist ala MMD3. The best I can do to workaround this is to drag a regular playlist over the normal winshade song display and expand it from there, although it's sort of awkward and defeats the purpose.

[BUG?] Resize in normal and winshade modes are not independant. One resizes the other and vice versa.

[BUG] Right edge of tracknames in playlist cut off right edge of playlist border.

Damn nice as a whole though, very impressive.

Last edited by shins; 17th October 2003 at 02:09.
shins is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 01:52   #80
hoodedone
Junior Member
 
hoodedone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 9
Is there a particular reason the playlist in winshade mode won't show the track number or running time for the modern skin? I'm quite pleased with 5 in all respects except for this, but I'll switch skins if I have to.

The close buttons for the different component windows seem to show "Exit Winamp" as their tooltips even though they just close that particular component window.

Oh, and nice About animation.
hoodedone is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump