Old 8th March 2005, 21:20   #1
protegechris
Forum Queen
 
protegechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,635
CD-R question..

I was never real big on burning CDs until lately... Anyways


My comp froze up during the start of the burn on one of my CDR's, so the disk never got finalized... But now I can't burn on it. Is it possible to erase it or something?

yeah, i'm back.
protegechris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 21:35   #2
NJK
The Frisian
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,990
No, you just lost a cd.

cd-rw are re-writeable cd's
the cd-r stands for read only.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 21:46   #3
mysterious_w
Forum King
 
mysterious_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Good ol' Britain
Posts: 2,750
Is it possible to use up half a cd-r's capactcity, then at a later date finish filling it up?




mysterious_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 21:51   #4
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Only if you started off with the disc being a multisession cd...
http://searchstorage.techtarget.com/...510032,00.html
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 03:11   #5
Print
Forum King
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,206
If you mess up burning a CD-R, you get a nice new coaster.

Plus, there's no point in making a multi-session disc in my opinion, just burn it all at once when your ready.

Or you could just use CDRW's all the time, even though I feel CD-RW's should be used only if you plan on updating or changing what's on the disc, for example - an MP3 disc you use in a discman, or a program CD disc with free software, Eg. Ad-aware or Winamp etc.
Though CDR's are made to last, rarely lose it's data, and are usually never have read problems (like in a CD player, some players don't play CDRW's).
Print is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 03:57   #6
protegechris
Forum Queen
 
protegechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,635
Yeah, I'm just going to buy cdrs in bulk from now on and save some money..

For some reason when I burn CDs with cdburnerxp, SOME of the songs won't play in my car cd player Burning at 24x, wav... songs play fine on the computer though

yeah, i'm back.
protegechris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 04:11   #7
Print
Forum King
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,206
Couple of tips that seem to work for me, and might save you some $, even if it's just a few CD's.

One, use a popular and reliable software program, I use Nero, and i've never had a problem - but any good piece of software should do it. I only say this because unless your burning something other than VCD's, CD's or file CD's - name brand retail software is the best.

Also, if you have the time - burn all your CD's around 4x - 8x. I'm told there is a lesser chance of a problem occuring the slower you burn your CD's. Don't get me wrong, i've made alot of CD's at 52x, but depending on the drive you have, it could help just by lowering your burn speed a little.

You should also know that when you burn a multi-disc session CD, it uses like 50 extra MB of space.
Print is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 04:21   #8
protegechris
Forum Queen
 
protegechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,635
Good Idea. I wish I knew the max of my cd player, but I guess I'll burn the cd again tomorrow at 4x and see if it makes a difference.

yeah, i'm back.
protegechris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 05:15   #9
Cognition
Some Random Guy
(Major Dude)
 
Cognition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NZ
Posts: 1,244
Yeah slower speeds definitely burn better, and it helps for old stereos especially, since they used to have weaker lazers than today's ones. Although I know one really old stereo that won't read my CD-Rs at all.
Cognition is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 05:33   #10
Print
Forum King
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,206
Yeah, the newer the better when it comes to reading CDR/CDRW's.

But when I was talking about the speed in which you burn at, I just meant that the hardware is less likely to make an error on the material it is burning too.
Print is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 06:21   #11
Cognition
Some Random Guy
(Major Dude)
 
Cognition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NZ
Posts: 1,244
I think it burns deeper as well so the lazer has less trouble, and that's why it's easier on old systems, but I'm not sure.
Cognition is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 07:37   #12
c2R
Stereotype?
(Forum King)
 
c2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ware, England
Posts: 3,511
Get a new CD Writer with 'burn proof' - which can resume if the buffer runs out....
c2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 07:50   #13
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
Quote:
Originally posted by c2R
Get a new CD Writer with 'burn proof' - which can resume if the buffer runs out....
And ususally causes glitches on the disc if the buffer DOES run out, and burn proof kicks in.

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 07:58   #14
and1k
Senior Member
 
and1k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: 6" from my screen.
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally posted by c2R
Get a new CD Writer with 'burn proof' - which can resume if the buffer runs out....
Burnproof is crap.

According to this article, (link) JustLink is better, but I've read somewhere else that the Yamaha version is the best, because it gives a smaller gap between end of burn and start of burn.

I've got a CD that I burned on a BurnProof drive, and there's a big skip on it at the same place on the CD every time, because the computer had a fit and nearly crashed while it was writing. On the plus side, no coaster, on the downside, there's a huge skippy pop in the middle of track 3.

My 2 cents.

Andrew.

I would thank you kindly not to sniff my chicken
and1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 13:37   #15
protegechris
Forum Queen
 
protegechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,635
I've noticed when burning that my buffer on the program always runs out, but no problems on the cd from it..

My car stereo is only about a month old, but I figure I'll try burning slower anyways.

yeah, i'm back.
protegechris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 14:09   #16
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
More than you probably ever wanted to know

Here
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/...516#entry74070
and
http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread....threadid=69698

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 14:20   #17
Mattress
Forum King
 
Mattress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 4,577
Quote:
Originally posted by and1k
On the plus side, no coaster, on the downside, there's a huge skippy pop in the middle of track 3.
if that happened to me it'd be a coaster, seriously, with the price of a CD-R being, what? like 3 cents each or something? why not burn a new skip-free copy?
Mattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 19:34   #18
c2R
Stereotype?
(Forum King)
 
c2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ware, England
Posts: 3,511
Quote:
Originally posted by Mattress
if that happened to me it'd be a coaster, seriously, with the price of a CD-R being, what? like 3 cents each or something? why not burn a new skip-free copy?
Well indeed, but I wouldnt use it for music anyway - but it doesn't seem too bad a problem for data - It's kicked in a couple of times on mine (and bearing in mind I CDRW a couple of CDs a day to take condifdential information between sites) and given that time is the important thing, it's better than getting a coaster and starting the burn process all over again....
c2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 19:45   #19
Wolfgang
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,069
I do have a problem with Nero. For some reason I burned a whole bunch of films on CDR and they will only be read by my computer. I can't remember what mode it was, whether ASCII or ISO9008 (or whaterever it is) or Mode 2 (can't remember all the options) and I think I may have had Joliet enabled. But surely if it works in my computer with WinXP Pro is should work in another comp with WinXP Pro.

What's the best mode to burn in so it's compatible with everyone?
Wolfgang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump