Old 12th June 2006, 22:45   #161
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
on the 350d, you have the equivalent of 28.8-88 and 112-480. An impressive zoom indeed.
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2006, 23:13   #162
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
I thought that the EF-S 18-55mm kit lens was marked with numbers that already took the sensor size into account (full-freme equiv). So, will this kit lens give me the equivalent focal length range of 28.8-88mm, or will it be the 18-55mm that's on the box?
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2006, 23:16   #163
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
28.8-88
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2006, 23:19   #164
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
Got'cha. I misunderstood the specs on that lens, then.

[edit]
That's actually better than I thought it would be.
[/edit]
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2006, 00:41   #165
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
18 equiv is almost fisheye. lets see... 11.25, yep thats FUCKING WIDE.

I plan on buying the sigma 70-300 macro that philly has, and then a zenitar 16mm fisheye. (16 fisheye is like 12 rectilinear apparantly.)
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2006, 04:34   #166
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
The lens I REALLY wanted costs more than everything I bought this morning combined. Oh well. Maybe one day in the future.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2006, 08:07   #167
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
Quote:
Originally posted by mark
18 equiv is almost fisheye. lets see... 11.25, yep thats FUCKING WIDE.

I plan on buying the sigma 70-300 macro that philly has, and then a zenitar 16mm fisheye. (16 fisheye is like 12 rectilinear apparantly.)
I quite fancy a 10-20mm lens, but not a fish eye one. Will have to wait for that though.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2006, 09:54   #168
dlichterman
Forum King
 
dlichterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Where Hell Froze Over
Posts: 2,466
My mom has a 70-300 which pwns j00!!!!! And it fits her new Rebel XT

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free.-*-If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0-*-Guess the band from pics game
dlichterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2006, 10:19   #169
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
I quite fancy a 10-20mm lens, but not a fish eye one. Will have to wait for that though.
Wide lenses arent cheap. The zenitar is roughly $160
http://photonotes.org/reviews/zenitar-fisheye/

dlichterman: whats the lens?
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2006, 03:41   #170
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
Does anybody have any first-hand experience with Tamron and Quantaray lenses?


Quote:
dlichterman: whats the lens?
Aye. Which?


Quote:
I quite fancy a 10-20mm lens...
I could've used one of those when I took pictures of that C-5 back in Gulfport.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2006, 04:25   #171
dlichterman
Forum King
 
dlichterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Where Hell Froze Over
Posts: 2,466
Sorry its a EF 100-300mm "Ultrasonic"....really dont know more past that unless I'm supposed to see something on it

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free.-*-If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0-*-Guess the band from pics game
dlichterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2006, 11:46   #172
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
is it IS? If not, sarge pwninates j00.

is it L series? If so, you pwninate EVERYONE.
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2006, 02:30   #173
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
This one?
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2006, 03:01   #174
dlichterman
Forum King
 
dlichterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Where Hell Froze Over
Posts: 2,466
Yeah i think thats it

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free.-*-If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0-*-Guess the band from pics game
dlichterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 02:12   #175
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
That's a really nice lens as well. I've seen it first-hand. I was thinking about getting that one, but I decided to go for the IS. Still, it's great for the price.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 12:13   #176
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
i really dont see why companies like canon and nikon have stopped making lenses with aperture rings.

the pentax FA lenses are awesome, and the rings have an A position that allows the camera body to pick an aperture. Shame the new DA lenses are following c* and n* and going ringless...

edit:
I'd love a camera with aperture rings on all its lenses (with A position for auto apertu
re) and a shutter speed dial (again, with an A positon). If you want Av mode, set shutter to auto and set your aperture on the lens.
If you want Tv mode, set the shutter speed on the dial, and set the lens to A.
Want Program Line exposure? Set both to A!
so much handier than fiddling with the mode dial and command wheel, especially in manual mode, you can set one with each hand!
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 22:35   #177
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
I don't think I've ever seen a lens before that has an aperture ring. That actually sounds like a really cool feature.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 22:57   #178
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
How about an aperture and a shutter speed ring?
(ok the shutter ring isn't on the lens (unlike on medium/large format lenses with leaf shutter))
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2006, 00:30   #179
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
aperture rings and shutter speed dials were the only way to do it on old manual cameras, and pentax had them right into the 90's. the dual method i recall only ever being used by ONE digital camera, the epson R-D1.
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 17:56   #180
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
What's up with the thing next to the main dial? It looks like a gauge cluster or something.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 18:39   #181
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
The shutter is the one with the hole in it, and the black one is the top of the film advance lever. No auto-wind back then.
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 18:56   #182
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Except it has no film, the shutter seems to be mechanical and has to be wound using the lever.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 19:08   #183
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
yeah, those old cameras, if the battery died, all you'd lose was the exposure meter, if it even had one.
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 19:21   #184
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
I was talking about the R-D1 (thought you were as well).

About the OM-1, I often use mine with the meter switched off, even with slide film. The up side: it's 28 years old and still on the second battery.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 19:50   #185
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
oh right. the thing on the right (in the photo) shows settings like white balance and focus mode.
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 20:59   #186
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
I've been to a couple of outside gigs the past few days and am loving having bought the 70-300mm lens. It's awesome for pics of people on stage.

I am wishing there was a proper battery grip for the D50, not because I want more battery life (I've taken about 500 shots, had the camera on literally all day and transfered them all with still a full battery), but because I want the shutter release button for taking portrait shots. Alas there isn't one for the D50 and the one for the D70 is a bit dodgy. Sux.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 23:03   #187
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
Sounds like I made a good choice when I bought that EF 70-300mm IS USM, then. Can't wait to get it.

Quote:
the thing on the right (in the photo) shows settings like white balance and focus mode.
I couldn't find any decent pictures of it. It's really hard to see, so I had no clue what it was.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 23:27   #188
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
I've been to a couple of outside gigs the past few days and am loving having bought the 70-300mm lens. It's awesome for pics of people on stage.

I am wishing there was a proper battery grip for the D50, not because I want more battery life (I've taken about 500 shots, had the camera on literally all day and transfered them all with still a full battery), but because I want the shutter release button for taking portrait shots. Alas there isn't one for the D50 and the one for the D70 is a bit dodgy. Sux.
a company called hahel (hanel? hahell? something like that) makes one. Its about £70, WITHOUT a spare battery included.
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 23:37   #189
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Hähnel?
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 23:41   #190
dlichterman
Forum King
 
dlichterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Where Hell Froze Over
Posts: 2,466
http://www.hahnel.ie/index.cfm?actio...uctview&pid=25

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free.-*-If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0-*-Guess the band from pics game
dlichterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 23:58   #191
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
ooh, and thats WITH batteries. Not only am i misspelt, I'm flat out wrong! XD
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2006, 08:12   #192
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
Yup. I've looked before there aren't any with a shutter release for the D50.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2006, 09:56   #193
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
wired remote + battery grip + superglue = ghetto portrait grip with shutter. :P
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2006, 15:37   #194
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Quote:
Originally posted by mark
I'd love a camera with aperture rings on all its lenses (with A position for auto apertu
re) and a shutter speed dial (again, with an A positon). If you want Av mode, set shutter to auto and set your aperture on the lens.
If you want Tv mode, set the shutter speed on the dial, and set the lens to A.
Want Program Line exposure? Set both to A!
so much handier than fiddling with the mode dial and command wheel, especially in manual mode, you can set one with each hand!
http://www.dpreview.com/articles/pan...mcl1/page5.asp

(insanely expensive though: kit price $2300 iirc)
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2006, 09:55   #195
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
ewww, 4/3 system
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2006, 14:10   #196
cooky560
Major Dude
 
cooky560's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Around
Posts: 1,181
Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560 Send a message via Skype™ to cooky560
looks like quite a good camera to me

Cooky560 - Making Pointless Posts since 8/12/ 2002

WWW.
Victory Requires no explanation, defeat allows none.
All that Evil needs to triumph is for good men to do nothing
cooky560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2006, 22:58   #197
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
Since it uses the same imaging system as the Olympus E-330, I'm sure it's safe to assume that it'll have the same lackluster quality for the price. I really like Panasonic/Matsushita and Olympus, but the E-330 was a bit of a disappointment to me. If it were about the same price as a Canon 350D or Nikon D50, it'd be a serious competitor. And I think the 4/3 lens mount system needs to mature quite a bit more as well. I have to admit, though... the DMC-L1 is a pretty clean looking camera.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2006, 23:31   #198
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
The jpeg engine is different so it may not have Olympus jaggies, and noise reduction is adjustable (if it's anything like the one in most Panasonic cameras you'll have to turn it all the way down to keep any detail though).
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2006, 02:28   #199
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
When DPReview.com does a review on the DMC-L1, I'll check out the samples and see how it compares. It'll be interesting to see just how different it really is from the E-330.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2006, 23:59   #200
sandb937
Major Dude
 
sandb937's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 818
canon S2-IS or S3-IS would be my reccomendation

sandb937 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump