Old 24th September 2001, 12:32   #1
hagman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Östersund, Sweden
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to hagman
Skin Bugs!

Thease bugs have bugged me as long as i have used/skinned winamp.

1.) Minimize the playlist and click the close button, the min/max button 'jumps' one pixel to the right.
2.) Pause winamp and the '-' and ' ' in the timer jumps around.

hagman.trance.nu
hagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2001, 16:54   #2
NeoRenegade
Banned
 
NeoRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada, eh?
Posts: 4,083
Send a message via ICQ to NeoRenegade Send a message via AIM to NeoRenegade
Those would be problems with your skins, not Winamp.
NeoRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2001, 17:16   #3
hagman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Östersund, Sweden
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to hagman
no they aren't

I have been doing winamp skins for three years now. those bugs aren't skin bugs they are winamp bugs. see with every winamp skin you got (even base skin). got this unfixabe problem. IT'S A WINAMP BUG!
hagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2001, 20:13   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Can't reproduce either bug

Definitely not the 2nd one, ermm . . . what did you mean exactly?
By '' did you mean the actual pause sign on the left of the display?
And what is '-' supposed to represent?
I don't see anything like this in the timer display, and I certainly don't see anything jumping around, apart from the time itself flashing on and off, the way it's supposed to do when you click pause.

As for the 1st one, I've seen something similar reported before, but couldn't reproduce it then either.
For starters, I don't understand what you mean (again).
Minimize the playlist and click the close button?
Which close button exactly, and which min/max button jumps one pixel to the right? In the main window?

As I told the others who reported this, either there's a bug in your display/graphics drivers, or maybe it could be an incompatible setting in Prefs -> Display (eg. snap winamp windows at x pixels, etc). Either this or maybe it's some 3rd party plugin causing the problem, if you've installed any, knowingly or not!

Of course, relevant sys specs certainly wouldn't go amiss too.

I doubt if any regular winamper here will be able to reproduce these two.
If anyone can prove me wrong then please speak up.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2001, 19:13   #5
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
http://mursu.ton.tut.fi/~supa/winamp_bugs.html

the playlist bug is described on supa's site, the other thing is no bug (check with other skins and post screenshots if you still think it's a bug)

btw. there are more skin bugs in winamp than described on supa's site
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2001, 20:41   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Can't reproduce any of them either
On some of my skins, the maximize/windowshade button stays exactly the same, on others it changes to a different icon . . . I suppose it all depends on the skin design or the skinner's method and capabilities? Lord knows!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2001, 21:04   #7
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
Well, skin designers can work around these bugs...

the proof:
start in mormal playlist mode, click on the minimize button (->windowshade), now click on the x button on the playlist windowshade bar and keep the mousebutton pressed (don't close the window): you'll see the maximise button (of the pl windowshade bar) jump one pixel to the right
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2001, 21:08   #8
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
reproduced here
peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2001, 01:15   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Thankyou Lion King for finally explaining properly how to reproduce this.
Confirmed & reproduced!

Hey, there's always the possibility that it was designed to work like that
However, I don't really see the significance or the importance of this bug.
I mean, who actually holds the mouse button down on the x button anyway?
You either click windowshade mode on or off, or you click the close button.
This way you don't ever even see the bug

But, if you really want me to add this to the official bug list, then I'll update it over the weekend . . . unless PP beats me to it before then, hehe.

Whatever . . .
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2001, 01:36   #10
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
there are actually two bugs:

the second one is that the minimize and close buttons in normal playlist mode are one pixel nearer than the ones from the eq and main, you can get problems if you want the titlebars of every window look equal

maybe this bug is his problem

you have to start your paint program to confirm this bug djegg , i'll try to make a list with all skin bugs tomorrow if you want
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2001, 16:14   #11
Milmira
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to Milmira
Speaking of skinning bugs...
Are these "bugs" of some kind?

1.
-click the main menu button (upper left) so the menu opens
-click somewhere else but NOT the main skin or the menu
(desktop, playlist or eq do nicely)
-the menu closes...
-when you then move the cursor over the main skin the menu button
is suddenly displayed in "active titelbar mode" but the titelbar
is NOT active for you have not yet clicked the main skin.

2.
-WSWINBUT.CUR: (Windowshade Exit Windowshade Mode)
(taken from skin tutorial)
Ahem... I was not able to find out where this cursor is used...
I thought it might be shown when you are in windowshade and
above the button which returns to normal, but that is not so.

3.
-Another cursor problem, or better a suggestion:
It would be nice, when the sliders of the eq in windowshade mode
(volume bar, panning bar) get own cursor skins or at least these
they have on the main skin.
(now they use the titelbar cursor...)

4.
-Yet another cursor problem: The cursor shown when above the
windowshade button on the eq is the one for the titlebar.
(also true in windowshade mode)


1. and 2. are, well, not so very serious, but 3. and 4. are a bit ugly.

thanks.
Milmira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2001, 17:52   #12
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
i can reproduce 1.
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2001, 20:08   #13
hagman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Östersund, Sweden
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to hagman
the timer bug

a screenshot of the timer bug...

hagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2001, 20:33   #14
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
it is a bug!

usually skins have a solid backround colour in the time display so that it is difficult to reproduce the bug eg. with the baseskin

however i can reproduce it with your skin (because of the boxes around the numbers)

get hagman's skin here: http://www.deviantart.com/download.php?id=1991

btw. please confirm the other bugs listed here: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?&threadid=60951
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2001, 23:15   #15
Milmira
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to Milmira
Well, I knew of most of the bugs you put there and these I knew not I confirm but one.
The "flickering-playlist-inside" bug (7.). I have downloaded the skin and it worked well for me with no flickers but whole black lines.
If this info is of use to you I might mention that I use a German version of Win2k with service pack 2.

(meanwhile... Any ideas regarding my "cursor-problems"?) :-)

thanks.
Milmira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2001, 23:19   #16
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
DJEgg: i suggest that you just put a link to this thread on the buglist without any more exact info.
peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2001, 23:59   #17
Milmira
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to Milmira
I just downloaded hagman's skin and it behaves just as he put it.

thanks.
Milmira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2001, 00:11   #18
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
Milmira,

bugs 3+4: reproduced
bug 2: i'll look into it later
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2002, 00:53   #19
PICI
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2
What is The Skin Bug?
"Unfortunately, no one can be told what ..."
Oops, this is from another movie but ...
"You have to see it for yourself."
OK, here goes...
The way to reproduce the 1st skin bug reported by hangman:
1. The Winamp Playlist Editor Window must be in winshade (or, if you prefer, minimized) mode.
Click on it (the Winamp Playlist Editor Window in winshade made) or press Ctrl+Tab several times to make it the active window.
2. Hold down the left mouse button and hover the cursor over the Restore or Close button of the Winamp Playlist Editor Window in winshade mode (don't release the left mouse button!). You will see that the Restore button will be moved one pixel to the right.

The bad thing about this is that it is present even in Winamp 2.80.

This is what I call "The Skin Bug of Winamp 2" and I've found no way to fix it. As far as I can tell, you'll have to hack Winamp and redefine the areas of pledit.bmp that contain the images for the active and inactive mode of the Restore button of the Playlist Editor in winshade mode.

Last edited by PICI; 2nd August 2002 at 01:14.
PICI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2002, 04:13   #20
PICI
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2
Ignore everything after "As far as I can tell" in my last post! It's just wrong! The right thing to do is still to hack Winamp, but to decrease the x coordinate for the position of the Restore button of Restore button of the Playlist Editor in winshade mode.
Finally, I got it right.
PICI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump