Old 29th September 2006, 05:22   #1
whiplash_987
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Backup Radio Station Program

Just before I begin here is my setup

Computer 1 - Uses 2 winamps to play music, radio station jingles/sweepers, etc.
Computer 2 - Uses 1 winamp with sound solution DSP for processing the audio from computer 1.

so:
Computer 1 (Speaker Out) ---> Computer 2 (Line In) --- Winamp (Line in plugin ---> Sound solution DSP) ---> Computer 2 (Speker Out) ---> Transmitter

This setup works quite well until computer 1 crashes leaving 'dead' air.

What I am looking for I suppose is a modification to the plugins in the thread:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?postid=1783252

What I need the plugin/program to do is be installed on computer 2 and 'listen' to the audio coming through the line in plugin (from computer 1). As soon as this goes silent (variable threshhold) - indicating that computer 1 is down, the plugin/program will wait for a specified amount of time before going to the next song in the playlist. So I could have my playlist setup like so:
1. Line://etc
2. Backupprogram.mp3
If it is possible, could the plugin/program continue to monitor the line in and return back to the line in plugin when audio is restored.

I hope this all makes sense.
Thanks in advance!
Curtley
whiplash_987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2006, 08:39   #2
TazDevil
Senior Member
 
TazDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 359
Check this out:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....lence+detector

Has two plugins one by DrO and another by dllmain
I think its what you need.

NEW Multiple Output Plugin v1.5 | Download | outputs data to one or more audio/file output devices
Crystal Classic Skins v1.1 | Download | transparency effects for classic skins
TazDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2006, 11:27   #3
whiplash_987
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Yeah I tried those ones (same as the link in my previous post) The first one only 'hits play' while winamp is stopped, and the second one does nothing.
The first plugin is not correct for my situation as the winamp on computer 2 is playing all the time. the second Silence Detector v1.0 must not have a high enough threshold, because there is noise from the two sound cards so if somehow the threshhold could be made higher on it, it would be perfect.
Thanks
whiplash_987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2006, 12:19   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the threshold with the one i've done is 0 if i remember correctly. i'll try and send you a test build tonight/over the weekend to see if it'll work if i make that level configurable

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2006, 12:37   #5
whiplash_987
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Thankyou so much,
I really appreciate that, i've had a pretty bad week (my transmitter decided to blow up) so thanks for spending the time to help solve my problem
whiplash_987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2006, 12:42   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that all depends on whether it works or not but we'll see either way

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2006, 18:14   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i've made the threshold configureable between the upper and lower values that i believe a dsp will receive in it's sample data so you'll need to have to play around with the levels i think. if not i'll have to have a word with a few more knowledgeable people about such matters (since i'm not really that hot on signal processing stuff nowadays )

-daz

[edit]
uploaded a newer version that will correctly open/show the config dialog correctly
Attached Files
File Type: zip dsp_silence_detect.zip (2.8 KB, 289 views)
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2006, 11:28   #8
whiplash_987
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Mate, you are a legend. Thankyou so much.
I only had to set it to about 200 and it was right.
If you ever get a chance could you possibly add these two features?
1. Plugin does not have any effect when winamp is stopped (so that when station is legimately shutdown the 'emergency' music doesn't kick in)
2. Plugin sends a 'net send' message to Computer 1 to tell the user that they are off the air.

I won't be offended if you don't have time to do that stuff. Thanks Again


PS: I could possibly give you some code to do the second thing.
whiplash_987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 16:13   #9
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i'm in shock that it works (since i'm not at all up on signal processing/dsp plugins so this is an unknown for me, heh)

#1: i can add in a timer like how the one by dllmain's one works (only involves a few little tweaks to get it working i think but i've been wrong about that in the past, heh)

#2: that should work with just a simple OS api call and i'll try to check that out first (just need to try and boot my old machine up so i can test it out )

will be a few days possibly to do this since i've a few other things planned for the next few days but should be able to sort it all it

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2006, 13:30   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
hopefully this will do everything that's needed

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2007, 03:51   #11
whiplash_987
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Sorry it's been ages I have been exteremly busy.
Just like to say a big thankyou, does exactly what I want it to do!
whiplash_987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2007, 08:20   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that's alright and from responses elsewhere, it does what quite a few other people want so all is good

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > Winamp Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump